Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lai Muhammed Says There Is No Cause For Alarm Despite $84bn Debt

Tuesday, December 31, 2019

Lai Muhammed Says There Is No Cause For Alarm Despite $84bn Debt

Minister of Information Alhaji Lai Mohammed, has said that there is no cause for alarm over Nigeria’s rising debt.

According to The Cable, Muhammed said this while Speaking on Monday at a press conference to highlight the administration’s major achievements in the year, the minister said the country’s total debt is $84 billion.

He said the public debt stock is a cumulative figure of borrowings by successive governments over many years.

There is currently a nationwide outrage over a $29.6 billion loan request the president sent to the national assembly.

In the letter where he conveyed his request, Buhari asked the lawmakers to approve the loan which he said is “critical to the delivery of the government’s policies and programmes”.

Ex-President Olusegun Obasanjo and Atiku Abubakar, his former deputy, have asked the national assembly to reject the request but Mohammed defended the president, saying the government is borrowing more to address “massive infrastructural decay with roads, bridges, railways, waterways and power”.

11 comments:

1. It’s a pity that Nigerians have not realized that Bihari regime has taken the country decades back. We are still living in delusion. What can an 88 uneducated man offer the largest country in Africa?

2. Borrow and share
    Why should there be alarm when you get your cut from the sharing.

3. The day this man will say the truth, just know he is about to die. Lies have been keeping him alive.

Lai continue with your lies

4. Na 2020 Nigerians go hear am,Na den our eyes go clear,when all the vat increment and other tight financial policies begin to bite ehn,Na den we go know say Detty December don end and the beginning of jonzing January start.

1. Jonzing January?

Feeling February
      Make gbese no kill person March

5. The day we realize that we as citizens have the power to stop all this rubbish is d day Nigeria would become better,for now,all we do is comment(I inclusive)

6. lol this country is even funny, like really??

7. till the pple we are powing start coming for their money, then he will know theres cause for shouting

8. Please what minister is he for again. Oga Lair.