Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Prayer Is Not Everything!!!!

Tuesday, December 31, 2019

Prayer Is Not Everything!!!!

*This is the most powerful article I have seen on the social media*

I don't know who authored this fantastic piece: it's powerful, full of knowledge, wisdom and educative! Please take time to read it over and over again....

YOU CANNOT GET BY PRAYER WHAT YOU SHOULD GET BY CHARACTER AND OBEDIENCE

A man’s character is his fate. Heraclitus Thomas Jefferson, the third President of the United States (US), said: “Nothing can stop the man with the right mental attitude from achieving his goal; nothing on earth can help the man with the wrong mental attitude.”

As a clergyman, I have watched pitiably how people self-sabotage themselves by seeking spiritual solutions to character-deficit issues. They look around at everybody as suspects for their predicaments when their greatest demons lurks within them - their character.

What we often call our destiny is truly our character, and since that character can change, then destiny can be altered. Character is destiny.

Is prayer actually EVERYTHING? Many would begin to argue back and forth on this intriguing question, but my main purpose of writing this piece is not to get involved in arguments. _Arguments don’t improve the validity of a ‘truth;’ they only determine how long it would take before you realise it._

Most people believe that we can pray ourselves to success and get away with virtually anything if we become a stickler to some prayer routines. There is no amount of spiritual penance that can substitute for character. Sometimes, you need character, not prayer.

Dutch Sheets said: “Prayer is not a check request asking for things from God; it is a deposit slip- a way of depositing God’s character into our bankrupt souls.”

British writer and politician, Thomas Macaulay (1800-1859), said: “The measure of a man’s character is what he would do if he knew he never would be found out.” I have often said that what would ultimately destroy a man going to high places in life is not really the enemies that are waiting for him there, but the character that followed him there.

I want to emphatically underline the fact that this write-up is not meant to trivialise prayers in any way. I have observed that many people take character for granted, while overzealously tuning on into their spiritual mode.

We have become so spiritually in tune through prayers that we neglect the place of character and our relationship with people. Many are actually ‘heavenly’ bound, but with no earthly relevance. You can speak with spiritual eloquence, pray in public and maintain a holy appearance, but it is your behavior and character that will actually trigger the manifestation of all that God has for you.

You Must Learn To Treat People With Courtesy

The Shunammite woman must have been praying for a child all through her life. By being hospitable to a man of God, she eventually got her much-awaited miracle. *It wasn’t prayer that opened the door for her; it was her character.* Assuming she wasn’t hospitable, she would have missed a critical miracle.

Many times, we pray, fast and bind demons that don’t exist when our real demons are just our greatly flawed character. _Many have insulted people that were divinely placed and orchestrated to help them fulfil their destiny._ Some people are keeping malice with their destiny helpers.

Treat people with respect.
Treat strangers with courtesy.
Never look down on anybody. God can use anyone to change your story.

Abigail Van Buren said: “The best index to a person’s character is _how he treats people who can’t do him any good, and how he treats people who can’t fight back.”_

You can easily judge the character of a man by how he treats those who can do nothing for him. The way we treat people we think can’t help or hurt us, like housekeepers, waiters, and secretaries, tells more about our character than how we treat people we think are important. _How do you treat people?_

One of the most impressive architectural feats and the greatest military defence project in history is the Great Wall of China. In 1987, UNESCO designated the Great Wall a World Heritage site, and a popular controversial claim that emerged in the 20th century holds that it is the only man-made structure that is visible from space.

Originally conceived by Emperor Qin Shi Huang (c. 259-210 B.C.) in the 3rd Century B.C. as a means of preventing incursions from Mongolians and barbarian nomads into the Chinese Empire, the wall is one of the most extensive construction projects ever completed.

History has it that when the ancient Chinese decided to live in peace, they made the Great Wall of China; they thought no one could climb it due to its height. During the first 100 years of its existence, the Chinese were invaded thrice and every time, the hordes of enemy infantry had no need of penetrating or climbing over the wall, because each time, they bribed the guards and came through the doors.

The Chinese built the wall, but forgot the character - building of the wall-guards. Though the Great Wall has over the years become a powerful symbol of the country’s enduring strength and spirit, but it has actually been a good reminder to the Chinese of the superiority of human character.

The Chinese realised much later that the best defence against the enemy is not a fortified wall, but a fortified character. Thus, the building of human character comes before building of anything else.

Prayer is not EVERYTHING! 

Build relationships, and don’t ever forget that God will always use man. Be mindful of your words and how you speak to people. Work seriously on your character and attitude towards life.

I want to say emphatically that character is not optional; it is sacrosanct to the future that God has planned for you. No matter where you place prayers, character matters. The greatest fraud in life is religion without character. A man without character is recklessly alive.

William Shakespeare captured it succinctly when he said: “The fault is not in our stars, but in ourselves.”

Peter Schutz, the former chief executive officer of Porsche said: “HIRE CHARACTER; TRAIN SKILLS.”

Lastly, back in the days when Germany was divided, a huge wall separated East and West Berlin.

One day, some people in East Berlin took a truck load of garbage and dumped it on the West Berlin side.

The people of West Berlin could have done the same thing, but they didn't.

Instead they took a truck load of canned goods, bread, milk and other provisions, and neatly stacked it on the East Berlin side.

On top of this stack they placed the sign:

“EACH GIVES WHAT HE HAS"

How very true! You can only give what you have.

What do you have inside of you?
Is it hate or love?
Violence or peace?
Death or life?
Capacity to build or capacity to destroy?

What have you acquired over the years?
Team spirit or pull down architecture ?

"EACH GIVES WHAT HE HAS"

Think about it!
Please give out the good in you always.
Copied*

I hope you read through this?If not,please scroll back up and read!!!

41 comments:

1. Well written article but lacks the right spirituality. Quoted many philosophers, past American president, talked about the great wall of China but nothing about the savior of mankind. Where is character built. How is character built. if a person does not know Christ as his or her savior, on whose foundation is he or she going to build that character? A person can be praying to the wrong "god" and demons which this writer says "does not exist" will still finish him up.
    The Shunamite woman helped Elisha because he was a man of God. And Jesus said that if you give a cup of water to any person because he belong to me, you will never lose your reward. Note the motive. God judges motives and motives are due to character built upon the foundation of God's Word. A person can be helpful to people, treat them with respect, but he does not have the fear of God which is the beginning of wisdom. The first time he has an offer from his neighbor's wife, he succumbs because he feels no one sees him. The fear of the Lord is what keeps a person from perpetrating evil deeds...that is what builds character.

1. @Anonymous, you do realize that not everyone is a Christian on this blog right? Why can't we have a conversation without you religious folks trying to force your beliefs on others...Kai..

2. The Bible said that it is not those who call him Father Father that would see the kingdom of God but those who do the will of God. That He didn't mention Jesus Christ doesn't mean he is not a child of God and mind you that some people who claim to be believers are not truly with the right characters. If one can treat his or her fellow well without knowing Christ, the person has done the right thing which the character the writer is talking about. If a person can preach Jesus Christ and sees or look down on others as unbeliever because they don't believe in Christ that alone is an example of bad image and character. What the writer has written is nothing but bitter truth and has nothing to do with mentioning the name of Jesus or accepting Jesus Christ

3. I am a Hindu. How does this your saviour concern me? Nigerians are too myopic. Nigeria is the main evidence that prayers alone dont work--too much prayers; too much evils.

4. pleasant suprises31 December 2019 at 14:02

Anon 12:12 well said, the writer also made some points, though foundation on Christ comes first.Keep it up.God pls help me with my character wherever I am failing you,mould me to Your perfection in Jesus name.

5. Anonymous 12:12 also wrote a beautiful piece.. I love the two and will take way a lot from the first piece stella shared and Anonymous 12:12 comment..

6. I was just about to hotly reply the first anonymous and found out the good intelligent people this blog is so blessed with has replied her even better that I would have.

Empty religious bigot!

7. Anon12:12,you said the shunamite woman helped Elisha cos he was a child of God.So if he wasn't a child of God,she wont help him abi.I bet you dont read well wat the poster was saying.She said CHARACTER.If you have a good character,you can help anyone even if the person is evil.Not many people are Christians remember.Everything is religion in this country whereas there is a difference between being religious and spiritual(also includes having good character)

8. This was a simple honest message. Leave christianity out of it!!!!!!

9. Obviously not everyone on this blog is a Christian but those that are understand 12:12's point. You are also free to share your Hindu or Islamic perspective.

10. This is a beautiful piece. Coincidentally I'm presently listening to a sermon titled "The Gift of Men" by Apostle Joshua Selman. Thisnis almost the same contained therein. Men are important. Make no mistake about that. God uses men, both believers and unbelievers alike. More so, you never know who is carrying you answers to your prayers. Be wise.

11. This is a beautiful piece. Coincidentally I'm presently listening to a sermon titled "The Gift of Men" by Apostle Joshua Selman. Thisnis almost the same contained therein. Men are important. Make no mistake about that. God uses men, both believers and unbelievers alike. More so, you never know who is carrying you answers to your prayers. Be wise.

12. Saphire, but why is the comment peppering you? Is there not freedom of speech and expression? In actual fact, you are the one acting like a bigot.

13. The Jesus of the Christians is the same one who said he did not find as much faith in Israel as he didn in the Roman soldier- a man who worships what you call demons. Your false moral superiority is part of the bad character wrecking Nigeria and the black world in general. You condemn and talk down another's system of belief then queue behind those exported by people tired of theirs. The imported religion prepares you for and keeps you in psychological and systemic bondage and when you are tired of it, you start seeking residency in countries that have long abandoned these same beliefs and are getting better for it.

If this article and the quotes therein contain wisdom, why not believe that it is only God that God gives wisdom and praise Him for giving it to these people and thank him for the author who put them together and shared it? Nigeria and Christian history is a proof that no Christian or Muslim can boast about being better than another person. Do you know that the saying "do unto others as you want done to you" was first said by Confucius some centuries before Jesus Christ? Is it demons that inspired Jesus to copy Confusius or did demons read the mind of God and do expo for their followers?

Your way is not the only way and even Jesus acknowledged other ways. The author is a Christian preacher as the article states but thankfully, is wise enough not to dismiss the wisdom in these words just because the people who said them believe differently from him. Please don't bring sanctimony into 2020. It is in this same poverty capital of the world that the hypocrite cult leaders heading churches threaten the poor with hell fire if they don't give 10percent Roger meanwhile those who worship demons are giving quotes that impact wisdom. Nigerians are in bondage with Bible and Quran while the Chinese, Japanese and others following indigenous faiths have navigated their way to success.

14. Well said @anon 17.00 very educated and brilliant person you are . Sending e -Cristal to you have a fabulous new yr 💋💋💋👋

2. Brilliant write up, this is deep and the truth. Prayer is not everything, character comes first. At times What we need to change is our characters not prayer points.
    God bless the writer for oppening our eyes to see the truth....

3. The best article I've read all year!

4. This is vital as we enter the new year! Pressing control s immediately!

5. If one person, reads and comprehends. Stella, you have done your part. Character over everything else, may I add attitude too. On this blog, many have insulted their destiny helpers.

6. Maka ndi I cant keep a relationship.
    Any man I meet leaves, I cant keep a job, I dont have friends.
    They'll be doing fasting ontop bad attitude. And everyone knows how hungry people are. The bad attitude go just multiply by 100x.
    Virgins also need to realise they are on this table.
    Ain't nobody gonna marry you or be with you just cos you're a V.
    I'm sorry to say, some people just dont give a fxck.
    Your virginity ain't gonna give your partner peace, provide for the home or raise wholesome bright kids.
    Try and improve your selves.
    I say this just cos I met one yesterday.
    Wanting a medal just cos you never gbensh. Puhlease, wake up and smell the Rose's. The world doesn't revolve around you.
    Sorry for the digress. I dey vexxx

7. Replies
    1. Yes, d world doesn't revolve around her, but what she has done is noble and she should carry herself well.....Kill yourself

She is doing d right thing

8. End of!

Some of us will come on this post to piss some more when in actual fact, we are not any different from those we are pissing on. It shows in our words , actions and inactions.

Like I once shared with a very special lady, their actions shows their values, your actions depicts yours.

Read the east and west Berlin part of the post again if you need more clarity.

Good post Stella. Thank you for bringing it here. Permission to copy and share?

9. So true... One might attain higher heights but your character will keep you there and even open more doors for you. People often help most people simply because they like their character or you feel the happiness or peaceful nature they emit when around them. You also can't give out what you don't have, there are people that are so toxic and negative that it robs off on you and untill you distance yourself from such people you might not really go far or achieve anything.

10. Stella, tacha is an example of this character we'll taking here babe was on a reality TV that people are wishing to be there, after all the no leave no transfer bla bla bla always exchanging words with people everyday she was the only one disqualified.

1. Best article of the year! Note to self: take note of this for the year ahead...and to others on this blog especially our friend ANG, a word is enough for the wise!

2. Not an Ass Licker 👅31 December 2019 at 13:36

Gosh! Take the dirt out of your eyes, before pointing at another! Any person that reads this article,thinking its for some one else, whom they perceive have " horrible attitude", Is only a hypocrite. Read this article for your self and have a deep self reflection.Because nobody is totally devoid of flaws. Nobody holy pass. Because even YOU, have an attitude flaw!

We can only strive to get better....

11. The timing of this post is perfect! I was speaking with my brother & sister about something really important and needed to leave them with something to drive home my points - something they could ponder on - and i stumbled on this post! Thanks for sharing with us Stella, and May God bless the writer with increased wisdom, amen.

12. This is all I need for 2020... Thank you Stella

13. This piece is true. It speaks to me and i have a lot to work on mostly relationship with people. God crowns our efforts

1. Exthar, you have taken the first step in the right direction, because you have acknowledged and accepted that you need to work on YOU. A lot of people blame everyone else but themselves. Well done Exthar.

14. Hmmmm this is really deep.Everyone of us slacks in this aspect.i hope we have all learnt from this write up.let us try to work on ourself more and our character.

15. Thank you ,Stella, for posting. This is thought provoking. Come 2020, it's positive vibes all the way. By His grace, I'll try to avoid every form of negativity and be a better version of myself.

16. SCAM. Trump is President of the most powerful country today and he has no ounce of good character.

17. "God who gives us MIND for thinking and bodies for working, would defeat his own purpose if he permits us to obtain through prayer what can come through work and intelligence."
    ~ Marthin Luther king (Jnr)