Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Wife Of Pastor Who Died With His 2 Kids At Resort In Spain Recounts What Happened...

Saturday, December 28, 2019

Wife Of Pastor Who Died With His 2 Kids At Resort In Spain Recounts What Happened...

This is a Press Statement by Pastor (Mrs) Olubunmi Diya on the sequence of events and circumstances leading to the tragic deaths of her husband Pastor Gabriel Diya, 9-year-old daughter Comfort Diya and 16-year-old son Praise-Emmanuel Diya on Tuesday 24th December 2019 at the CLC World Resorts andHotels in Costa del Sol,Spain.

Statement to the Media – re: Tragic death of Mr Gabriel Diya and children
27th December 2019
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I would like to thank all those who have sent their condolences and supported our family during this extremely difficult time following the tragic deaths of Gabriel, Comfort and Praise-Emmanuel.

Our family are utterly heartbroken by the events last Tuesday, but we are comforted and strengthen by our strong faith in our Lord Jesus Christ.
We are deeply shocked, saddened and struggling to come to terms with their passing. They all brought a joy and love to the world and to everyone that crossed their path. We love them all dearly, will always remember them in our hearts and miss them greatly.

We are disturbed by some inaccurate information being put out by the media that claim to be from various sources. In this respect, we would like to clarify a few points:

1. The three of them knew how to swim. We never informed the police or anyone that the family members could not swim.

2. The whole family, all five of us went to the pool together and were all present when the incident occurred. The children were not left unattended.

3. We followed the instructions displayed by the poolside at all times.

4. The children went into the pool using the steps but found themselves dragged into the middle, which was deeper and called for help when they could not get out.

5. My daughter did not fall into the water.

6. My husband went in via the steps trying to help the two struggling while I ran to the nearby apartments shouting for help to assist my husband.

7. By the time assistance came, the three of them were under the water.

8. My eldest daughter was not medically examined as claimed by some news media.

I believe something was wrong with the pool that must have made swimming difficult for them at that point in time.

Investigations are still ongoing by the Spanish Police to determine what happened, and no information has been passed to the family about their conclusions.
As we come to terms with our loss, we ask for privacy in order for our family to be able to grieve privately.

Signed

Mrs Olubunmi Diya

I hope when she is strong enough,she can sue the resort for this tragedy!!

85 comments:

1. There's more to this....
    The spiritual controls the physical.
    Ma'am may the greatest comforter comforts you.

1. It definitely sounds unbelievable. Something went seriously wrong. My deepest condolence to the family.

2. I thought every swimming pool suppose to have life guard, where were they when all this was happening. The family needs to sue the hotel and I pray the police do proper investigation.

3. I said it yesterday and one anon wan tell me wetin I no know. It's a demonic attack

4. Not every swimming people. You hardly see them abroad.

5. To think I’ll never see this man and his daughter in my children’s school again is shocking

6. Anonymous 18:39 are you for real? What abroad swimming pool doesn't have a lifeguard on duty and what part of the abroad do you live please.
      Life guards might not be seated at hotel swimming pools but they always have someone on duty let alone talk of a resort 🤔😏.
      I'm sure those children must have been attending swimming lessons either in school or outside school activities because it is compulsory and free for primary school pupils in the UK to be able to swim at least 25 metres before they leave Year 6.
      So there definitely must have been something wrong, spiritual or physical.
      May the Almighty God comfort that lady and my their lives rest in perfect peace. Amen

7. 22.43 we should be the one asking you if you are for real. The laws vary from country to country, and in some countries the requirement to have lifeguards applies only to public pools or beaches. Enlighten yourself before coming to form ITK.

8. 23:16, shild of anger 😏😏 dont bring your inherited ibinu on here jare. Ki la gbe, ki le ju 🤷🏾‍♀️?
      O ni binu aiye raiye, e nlee oooo hanty to Jo gun ITK.
      Shioooooooooor 😏😏😏

9. See razzness on display, rather than accepting you were wrong. Nonsense.

2. OMG. Comfort to you again Mrs Diya. Just that the devil set a trap by making sure families are in mourning.

May God give you reason to see this as part of trials and temptation that will make you stronger in Him. It is a cross everyone under the earth will carry.

Heavenly comfort once again. To all affected including me heavenly comfort to us all Amen

3. So sad! Hope the truth will be out someday.

4. Madam may God console you. Make sure you sue them for damages and for dissemination wrong information to the public.

1. She should sue. Ok. So she gets $10 million in damages , does that eliminate the image of her 2 kids and husband drowning? Stop speaking rubbish

2. As if not suing will bring them back

3. Anon17:39whats your painment over my comment? Why can't you drop yours and keep your miserable ass moving? You're very stpid and daft for that rubbish comment you dropped under mine. Wicked soul.

4. Anon17:39whats your painment over my comment? Why can't you drop yours and keep your miserable ass moving? You're very stpid and daft for that rubbish comment you dropped under mine. Wicked soul.
      Black diamond.

5. This is so heartbreaking, i pray the almighty console .

6. During December period pls treat it like a normal day just cook and stay in your house during festive period , the amount of death I have heard so far during this December is so heart breaking pls take home and eat with ur family .

1. It has nothing to do with charismas period, there as negative news, Its by the grace of God will live to see next minutes. Yoruba adage says (Oku n sin Ku oku)

2. The devil is roaring to make many families unhappy.

7. Oh lord!! You alone knows what happen.it is well.

8. May God comfort the family at this time. So painful losing three family members at a go.

9. And that useless DailyMail UK paper had it in the headlines that the entire family couldn’t swim. I’m so sorry for her loss. May they Rest In Peace.

1. Daily mail is a trash paper and racist as hell.

2. Daily mail is a very very racist publication

10. This is so heart breaking. May the good Lord comfort you and your family

11. This is so sad, May the Holy Spirit comforts her.

What kind of pool is this without a lifeguard. Lifeguards are always stationed in every swimming pool, it’s not the responsibility of the father to help the drowning kids.

😭

1. 17.30, please just say a prayer and move on. What type of analysis is this?. So the father should stare while his kids are in distress?! You are clearly not a parent.

2. It is untrue that lifeguards are stationed at every swimming pool. Where are you people getting such false info.

3. Na wa for this comment.

12. I know the Spanish press is trying so hard to cover up something on behalf of that resort.

May God console this family

13. It is well. Forget why it happened, she will have to just accept this as her destiny and leave it all to God. Isn’t that what pastors preach to us? They tell us to just accept and trust that God doesn’t make mistakes and that things happen for a reason.

14. What😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

May God console them.

15. To be honest, even people who can swim drown. I've seen my 'good swimmer' friend struggle at 6ft. Myself have struggled before, That's when I realized how fast&dangerous water is and now I don't go past 4ft of water. Whites swim much better than blacks cos when they learn, they learn it very well. Also, that you can swim does not mean you can rescue. Life guards are trained for such emergencies. If you are not trained for that, there's a high chance you will struggle with the body and drown too. So sad.

1. Whites swim much better than blacks

What a ridiculous statement!! Fyi, that girl must have learnt swimming right from an early age in school as she was born and bred in the UK.

2. Yes, you're 100% correct. That you can swim doesn't mean you can rescue once you're not trained for it..
      A drowning man can even kill a lifeguard if care is not taken..

3. Perfect comment NiB

4. I support NiB again. Please do your research: whites do swim better than blacks in general. Just google that statement and you will find a lot of stats and articles to back that up.

5. Such stupid statement, blacks are experts and world champion swimmers! Please don't generalise your inferiority complex to the black race.

6. NiB is not far from the truth actually!

The fact that you can swim doesn't mean you can rescue someone drowning.

The fact that those kids were born in the UK doesn't mean they can swim. Many blacks do not bother registering their kids for swimming lessons. They'd rather they play football or basketball.

I take my son to swimming lessons twice a week and I also go for lessons, not because I can't swim but because I want a professional to teach me the proper swimming tactics.

7. It is not a ridiculous statement. It is a statement that has been statistically proven. Not a stereotype, but a real life disparity. It doesn't even annoy me, it is what it is. There are some things we do better than them as well.

8. Ms A,
      *Swimming is a compulsory part of the current National Curriculum for PE and will remain a compulsory part of the new curriculum.
      * The measures announced today follow a government-backed review of swimming and water safety in primary schools, which found that swimming standards vary in schools, despite being compulsory on the national curriculum. (Source:gov.uk)

NIB,
      Whites drown as well. Again, it's such a ridiculous statement. Very.

9. If they can swim better because they learn it very well as you claim, where does statistically proven come in since it's not innate? Such an insensitive statement.

10. Very soon, you will be telling us whites are more intelligent than blacks. Tufiakwa.

11. NIB is struggling with deep inferiority complex and bouts of mental slavery.

12. Nib's, please share the statistic that says whites swim better than blacks?
      Which blacks?
      What of the blacks who live by the river and fishing is there livelihood? Those ones can swim die. Which whites swim better than them?
      Three people drowned in a swimming pool that is very unusual. This is not the sea or a river. 6ft is not deep for adults, but the dad died too. All 3 would not have died if there was not a problem with that pool.
      Stop stereotyping and generalising on facts you havent produced. In the UK swimming lessons are compulsory in primary school, so these children would have known the basics of floating, even if they were not advanced swimmers. The hotel is to blame!

13. i would rather say whites put their intelligence to good use than blacks

14. This is how you people allow inferiority complex becloud you abroad in dealing with whites. Mtchhhheeeew. NIB what ridiculous statement !!!! Swimming is Skill.....has nothing to do with colour..OMG!! Can't actually believe you uttered such a statement.

15. Everyother thing @ Nib said made sense except the whites swim better than black...that's a wrong assertion.
      I would rather you say, you have more whites that can swim compared to blacks reasons been that more whites send their kids for swimming lessons compared to blacks because who can swim can swim irrespective of the skin colour and the only differentiating factor may be the speed and maybe style.

16. **Many blacks do not bother registering their kids for swimming lessons.

In an environment where swimming classes are compulsory, pray tell which registration again is required?!! This blog sef.

17. This is what happens when people run with a single story. I bet you haven't heard of Ijaw and people that live in riverine areas in Nigeria being expert swimmers. Have you heard of babies being thrown inside water as part of getting them used to water? Regardless of the race, if you don't learn how to swim especially how to tread in water, you simply can't claim to know how to because you splash around in the shallow end.

18. @anonymous 20:04, I don't disagree with you. Swimming is a continuous process.

@anonymous 23:34, I wasn't speaking about the UK system. I don't live in the UK.

Even with a compulsory swimming classes, some kids still do not go for the lessons.

My lady friend sister that have lived in the UK for years, she came visiting with her young kids this past summer, I took them to the beach, to my greatest surprise, they were scare of entering the sea. They cannot swim to save their lives. I even took them to a sandy beach; it wasn't deep.

Stella do a swimming census of let's see how many of them BV can swim.

19. This story is about a UK based family, if you don't live in the UK then stop making statements you do not know to be true. It's not compulsory to talk.

20. Anonymous, your self hatred will not make you see beyond your nose!

A UK based family who drowned in a resort in Spain

Now run along....

21. Ms A, your statement was that kids BORN in the UK might not know how to swim. Stop trying to twist your words. Nonsense.

**The fact that those kids were born in the UK doesn't mean they can swim. 

22. Stop attacking NIB people and spewing emotionally riddled response. A google search would verify her claim. Everything isn’t about white supremacy or black inferiority. Somethings are physiologic facts. Eg Athletes have larger hearts due to well conditioned pumping chambers. Kenyans dominate long distance running due to a more efficient oxygen carrying capacity of their red blood cells, blacks dominate short distance running due to stronger muscle mass and denser bones which ironically is the reason we do better at basket ball and don’t swim too well because caucasians have a more stocky build (a fact you were told in secondary school inter science) that gives them greater buoyancy. Doesn’t mean they can’t run fast or long or play basketball, or we can’t swim well etc. It just means that they have a physiologic and or anatomical advantage such as melanin in our skin. But you have caucasians living in Nigeria for years. Let’s try to be less vitriolic in our responses.

Prince Ali

23. Prince Ali, join the queue and take a seat. Nonsense.

16. Somebody warn that COZA guy. Karma/ consequences of one's goid or bad actions always catches up if there is no genuine and sincere restitution. Human laws may exornorate one, but nemesis is very accurate and accountable to no mortal man.

1. What exactly are you saying? Hope you know slander is a sin before God.

2. Eleribu ni e at 18.11. Very stupid and insensitive comment. Witches everywhere!!!

17. Nothing just happens. Foundation is at the bottom of this as far as I am concerned. I am well-educated and informed but don't joke with my dream life because there is always a warning sign. Both husband and wife cannot truely be serving God and this happens without a revealation to one of them, no. Even if it is rapture, a sign must show somehow unless there is an insensitivity to the HG. That being said, a thorough investigation must be carried out. The way this attack happens to RCCG Pastors and their families, makes one wonder about their past. I recall the Canada incident involving a pastor's son. I also recalled the incident of the minister and his wife whose daughter was raped to death at Ikotun area years ago. People may repent and start 'serving' God, but if they do not address their past before it comes calling, it will damage many things. Nothing, nothing just happens, particularly of this kind. So tearful at this.

1. Before you go all ballistic remember Job in the Bible, He lost everything except his life and God blessed him after the duration of his travails, are you insinuating he wasn't serving God truly for that to happen to him too? I don't remember Job having a sign either, it was one after the other in quick succession.

All I know is things happen in this life, don't use the battles people face to judge if they are in right standing with God or if their past came calling ,truth is you will never know what their past is like, what their present is with God and the future is pregnant in regards to us all.
      Continually pray that God only allows that which you can handle to be your lot. The bible didn't state that tribulations will never happen but what was stated is, those who believe will surely overcome.

May the souls of the dead rest in peace .Amen

2. Anonymous 18:12,clap for yourself for spewing this nonsense 👏🏾. Some of you are so insensitive, unintelligent, full of anger and hatred that you will just write whatever crap comes out of your dirty minds.
      Olodo ni e ooooo and I hope you remain without sin for the rest of your life 🤷🏾‍♀️😏

3. Foundation builder and Joseph the dreamer. Gods secretary . If u were God we all would be dead.
      Bad things happen to good people. That makes us human .

4. Did Abel have a bad past or secret sin? Was Job not the most righteous man? Did Mordecai offend Hamman? Was Jesus not persecuted by the very people whose eyes and tongues he healed?? Please EDUCATE yourself in ALL things. Academia is not education.

5. Well said, Orela.

6. so many ignorant people here. you read but cant comprehend...the anonymous did not say bad things cannot happen, he is implying that God will always reveal something...they did not take a warning serious most likely.

18. @ I hope when she is strong enough,she can sue the resort for this tragedy.

Just from reading her statement? Get real you live abroad.

Why did the surviving daughter say they all could not swim? You know that’s what these Spanish people will run with.

On her side, lawyers and advisers would have now told her what to say. If they couldn’t swim, no insurance payout. If they were swimmers easy to get an insurance payout.

This is extremely sad. Not one family member but three members. How will his wife and surviving daughter cope? God help them.

19. I know the family so well. I'm still surprised the way the aunty handled the horrible situation, I think she's still in shock, yet to come into term with what happened.

1. Still surprised how?

2. @DON, how do you mean? How is she handling the situation?

3. Meaning she’s a strong woman to be able to hold herself together. That’s what Don meant

4. Don is surprised the wife is well composed despite the horrible incident,you know that the normal naija way of griefing is to be scattered,crying loudly and hysterical,i think that's what Don expects.People grief in different ways,it's a tragic loss.

20. Is there no life guard there?

21. May condolences to the family.May God comfort them during this trying times.

22. My heart is heavy! Please Lord comfort your daughters and all families that are mourning

23. My man is a pastor who is right now resting in heaven. Why is the wife mourning? She should be jubilating. Are Nigerian christians hypocrites? They get American visa, they do Thanksgiving and be jubilating. Someone gets a free ticket to heaven(which is paradise) and they are mourning. Who is fooling who? Everyone wan go heaven but nobody wan die.

1. With all due respect, you are very every stupid! So because they are in heaven, they shouldn't be missed? She lost a husband and children and she should jubilate because she's a christian? No, you are not just stupid, you are mentally unstable. This is not an insult but a description of what you are.

2. You are foolish. When u lose ur loved one and cry /mourn may u run mad. Insensitive humans everywhere

24. Three people who can swim, drowning in a swimming pool (not a sea) is NOT normal. One of the first things you're taught is that when you're trying to rescue a drowning person, you get behind them. Cos drowning people panic and grab at anything they see - which will endanger both you and the drowner if you come at them from the front. The man might have momentarily forgotten that when he saw his daughter in distress, but a 9yo did NOT pull down a grown man and a teenager - causing all three to drown in a swimming pool, that has reportedly now been reopened.

1. It is easier to drown in a swimming pool than in sea. The sea has salt (the pool have chlorine)

If you're drowning in a sea and you're on the opposite side of the sea waves, you can still be saved by the sea waves. The waves will lift you to the surface of the sea and throw you out. But, same can't be said of the pool.

If there's any form of blockade in the pool even the best swimmer can drown in the pool.

There's a reason why people in this part of the world that I live in prefer the sea than the pool apart from the so many health benefits of the sea water.

2. A swimmer can drawn in bathtub 🛀 people drawn in ordinary shower . So what are you talking about ?