Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EFCC Confiscates N45m Fake Notes From Currency Counterfeiters

Saturday, January 11, 2020

EFCC Confiscates N45m Fake Notes From Currency Counterfeiters

Operatives of the Abuja Zonal Office of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission have arrested suspected money doublers Badamasi Sule and Muhammad Muhammad for being in possession of counterfeit Naira notes totalling about N45million.

They were arrested in December 2019, following actionable intelligence report which exposed a syndicate of fraudsters who specialize in printing fake N1,000 notes. They were also found to be in possession of fake $100 bills.

Investigations further revealed that two “Ghana-must-go bags” in their possession containing the N1,000 notes were shortly to be put into circulation. Their primary targets are bureaux de change operators, and unsuspecting members of the public.

The syndicate is believed to be operating from Gashua, Yobe State, with its dispatch lodge being a hotel located in Abacha Estate, close to the Sheraton Hotel and Towers, Abuja.

They will soon be arraigned in court.

7 comments:

1. See their face. Money look like note books

2. Oh my God

I don't want to say "Hausa people and fake money business"

3. If you a seller, just make sure you have that neon light that detects fake currency or the Marker pen please. This is horrible. I pray nobody fall into their hands in this Buhari new year.

4. Good work EFCC. ...and money is invested into this

5. This fake note can pain person o.

Sometimes ago, a customer paid me 10k in 1,000 notes and two notes were fake. I didnt check. Just collected, counted and ...
    I went to the bank same day to deposit and decided to pay in the money the customer gave me. Teller told me 2k was fake and he perforated them. As he was perforating, my heart was shredding. Wetin I sell? Wetin be my gain? On top gain of 500, I don lose 2k.

The most painful part is that the person who gave me the notes knew they were fake. When I went back to her, she was blaming me for going to pay in the Bank. She said ' shebi you dey go market, why you no spend am there?'
    I changed it for her o and she eventually gave me 1k back.
    That's how I made a loss of 500 naira.

These days especially during festivities, I shine my eyes well... I even borrow eyes to shine sef.