Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Labour Room Drama 276

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

Labour Room Drama 276

WOW....

I had been on the pill since 2016 but the last batch finished in January 2019 and I kept putting off going to my GP to get a new prescription. A week before my period was due I told my cousin that I had a feeling I was pregnant, she laughed and convinced me to wait till my period was due before checking. As I was preparing to go to the gym on the 6th of April, I tested positive. I called my cousin, sister in law and husband

I had an easy pregnancy. I even worked out till my due date and worked till the very end. I even kept telling my midwife and health visitor that I was so sure my baby would arrive on my due date

My due date came and went nothing. 

The next day I went for a membrane sweep, went shopping then went home. By 10pm I noticed my pant was a little bit wet but I didn't read meaning to it. The following day at about 6am (2 days after my due date) I decided to call the hospital as I was told to call when I notice anything unusual, I was told to come in as I was talking to the midwife and she was trying to get a swab she said she couldn't feel any leakage but she will test the swab to confirm if it was my water lo and behold the swab tested positive, my water had indeed broken but labour had not started. 

I was advised to go home and call by 4pm to find out the next step as the hospital was going to be busy because it was a full moon and most women go into labour during a full moon. The did a quick scan to confirm baby's position. I left called my husband to update him.

I came home slept, went last minute shopping by 4pm still no sign of labour I was advised to return by 10pm as the hospital was busy.

We return something was inserted into my lady part to ripen my cervix, I was given a ward and DH was sent home. The nurses kept coming to check on me through the night, still nothing. The following morning at about 9am I was told that I had to be induced went to the room, called DH told him to take his time and get me KFC and coffee on his way . About 6 hours later I was still gisting with the midwife assigned to my room when the pain went from 0 to 100 by then DH had arrived unfortunately i was not allowed to est or drink anything apart from water or lucozade

The only pain relief I requested for was gas and air. The pain I experienced was on another level. I literally told my husband I wanted to die. I held his trousers, squeezed his hands as the pain intensified, my eyes rolled to the back of my head. I was checked and I was just 3/4cm dilated. DH told me to get an epidural that he can't stand seeing me like that.

By 9pm the epidural was administered as I was starting to "relax" baby's heart started to drop a button was pressed and doctors and other medical personnel rushed into the room. I was told that my baby wasn't happy and I would have to have a C-section. My husband said sure go ahead he would sign whatever but they said I had to. At first he wasn't allowed into the theatre because of the urgency in which the baby had to brought out and by the time I was ready for the operation it wasn't a code red anymore so I requested for DH to be there to see his child being born.

Within minutes of DH changing she was born. I was too tired and numb and insisted on DH having the first skin to skin. After she was handed to me I didn't feel the rush of joy that I hear people talk about. DH sent a message to our family members that baby had arrived. 

I was discharged after 2 days and the midwife and health visitors were carrying out home visits to check on me and baby. My scar healed within 7 days. By day 5 of her birth my mother and I were going for walks with her.

So far motherhood has been easy going....

Nice one...You sound like you are not in Nigeria cos women stay indoors for three months in Nigeria after they birth their babies.......

25 comments:

1. Congrats to you.....the part baby was not happy sounds like a "spiritual Nigerian" lol.

1. Madame koinkoin aka the 'peace maker'21 January 2020 at 13:12

Congratulations , I laughed hard where she said the pain went from 0-100 and where her eyes rolled to the back of her head lol. Motherhood is bae. thank God Almighty for safe delivery madame!

2. Lol, Stella who told you that one? Nice story. Jolly happy mama.
      That statement about full moon and child birth is interesting. The full moon is really mystical. So many things about a full moon and the moon in general.

2. yes stella she is in UK as we call doctors GP( general practioner). congrats and enjoy motherhood from a fellow mum of 2

1. Aunty UK, Australian also use GP for doctors.

3. You are such a cultured queen.
    Speaking "lady parts",GP is definitely an european something.
    Your fitness level may have contributed to your good experience.
    welldone mummy

4. Stella that was before. If you have someone staying with you it is possible to stay 3 months at home. I had my baby through CS,came back the third day,was already walking about. By the second week I had started going to nearby shops to get things for myself.
    I can't even sit in one place and you say 3 months? I will fall sick.

5. Congratulations on your bundle of joy... 😘

6. Enter your comment...
    Home visits in Nigeria ke; I'm sure she isn't in Nigeria
    Congratulations and continue to enjoy motherhood.

1. Definitely. My Naija wee get there one day..........

7. Stella me i did not stay o, though i wasn't going to church, stay where? I was busy gallivanting, my mum was tired of me, i refused to drink mmiri oku ji🤣🤣. i was like how can someone stay indoor for 3 whole month? When people see me outside, they be like omugwo woman what are you doing outside?😂😂😂😂😂, didn't your mum come?😏🙄☺
    Poster thank God for you jare, hope you have bonded with baby? God bless you

1. Ya'll that can enjoy your moms are so lucky.

8. Congratulations
    Both through induction is not something I pray for my enemy to experience. The pain no be here o

9. Congratulations to you. God bless baby and parents.
    Please is post-CS delivery pain thesame as Post-myomectomie pain. I need answers from people who have experienced both. Cos i couldn't walk well for a week after the Myomectomie surgery. Infact the pain was too much. Although i began to feel much better in week 3. Kudos to mothers who are already caring for baby and planning naming lol.
    Adun omo rere a kari gbogbo wa o.

1. Hello, i've done both, Myomectomy recovery was more painful for me. In fact after a week, i was still bending a bit while walking. Nothing like that post CS.

2. Well done mama, but please still take things easy, as you know people heal at different rates. But if symptoms persist consult your doctor. Congratulations mama!

10. Stella even in Europe some Nigerian mothers are now doing 3months stay home and not moving an inch. One met me after 3 days my baby was born and she said..isn't It too early for you to be outside, I thought mothers are to stay home for 3 months?. I was like🤔 in this Europe again🙈

11. She's most likely on Europe, the gas, air, midwife all points to UK.
    Congratulation on the arrival of your baby poster.

12. Congratulations on your baby, we shall have more of these stories on this blog this year 2020 in Jesus name.

13. Congratulations on the safe arrival of your bundle of joy