Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mrs Dee's Corner - Big Feet Wahala

Friday, January 03, 2020

Mrs Dee's Corner - Big Feet Wahala

You'll never really understand the saying that 'beautiful things come in small sizes' unless you are big footed.

I can't recollect the number of times I went to the market with the mind to buy a particular pair of shoes but ended up buying an entirely different version because the one I had in mind didn't fit, and the one that fit wasn't what I had in mind.

Most times, I would scout the entire market trying out different shoes with no luck and the sellers would just be exclaiming 'ahh ahh, na only you get this kind big 'leg'? ' It was so frustrating.

When I got tired of of searching for my size in the markets, I decided to try out a shoe maker who made unisex shoes. The price was on the high side but I was willing to pay just to have a good pair.

Time to collect my shoes, and this shoe maker presented complete male shoes with the square heels and curved front design. I was furious, but he refused to refund my money and only managed to remove the heels, turning it to flats. It's still in the house, and I wear it like that.

Whenever I see tall women with small or average sized feet, I literally envy them because they are not faced with big feet 'wahala'. Even when I manage to get my size, the seller will hike the price knowing I have no choice.

Come to think of it, I wonder why the men folk get their shoe sizes easily while women don't. It's kind of hard to grasp.

*I know what you mean and i literally cry when i walk into shops that sells shoes that end in size 41 and I am a 42......

44 comments:

1. I can relate and it is frustrating. I wear size 42 and a times 43, getting nice footwear is always a struggle. Most of my heels are open toe.

1. Me am big 42, Large 43 It cant be so annoying..I hate going to the market looking for shoes cos I am always tired..And Okrika shoes no dey help, to see size 42 shoes na war..

2. I wear a perfect fit 41, but these China shoes in the market runs small

3. I wear size 41 and many times I see beautiful shoes in small sizes . I don't know why beautiful shoes comes in sizes 38and 39 ...sometimes I see fine shoes in OK at affordable prices but can't get it..I remember when I was in school, I saw one nice OK shoe In size 38, I didn't want to let go, so I bought it for a friend of mine that has small feet

1. How nice

My mum has big foot but she wears undersize shoes o, infact don't buy her size for her, she won't wear it.

4. Welcome to my world,i don't even own a cover shoe,i have just one high heel straps the rest Na male sneakers.
    It's a serious shit.

5. Honestly, shoes are the hardest things to buy in my wardrobe! When I set out to buy shoes, I get tired even before leaving the house! As if that’s not bad enough, it ‘seems’ to me that one foot is bigger than the other!
    I so envy people with size 39/40 feet.

6. I can totally relate πŸ˜ͺπŸ˜ͺπŸ˜ͺ...... Worst part is I am 6ft tall,so I have to deal with both the length of the heels and the size.

7. We are many here. very frustrating to be honest. I am managing my big feet .I can't kill myself.

8. I don't bother myself searching for a particular type of footwear anymore,once I see my size I buy at least 2 colors of same type,I wear size 12,last December I couldn't get size 12 to match a purse I had to settle for 11M,they say start wearing your children shoes early and always,my children are always on shoes,yet my 1st daughter has inherited all my sneakers,the last time I paid for a particular shoe to be made for me,chose the style from the shoe makers catalogue and when he was done I felt like crying and I left the shop didn't go back for the shoe,I'm used to madam you carry legoo..

1. I wear size 12 as well, it’s a nightmare. I used to wear size 11 and after my first child, my shoe size increased.

9. If mine is big feet sebi I would have managed it. I have curved fat at the back of my legs that have hindered me from wearing nice gowns and certain wears. I am always conscious of it as people aren't helping matters by always saying "see girl with yam legs like man own". This has killed my self esteem and I look forward to visiting a cosmetic surgeon one day to reduce the shaped calves. Even when I try to ignore people's comment, it gets to me badly. If money is readily available I will start the procedure today sef

1. Some people dig that so called "yam leg" shiii... don't alter yourself for public acceptance.. #ehugs...

2. Don't mind those losers

10. So fustrating. So many beautiful shoes but cannot buy them. Choiii... Mine is 41/42...

11. We are here. Size 42 people. It is so difficult to see our sizes.

12. My son is like that, I remember at age 14 I took him to market to get shoe for him and the Ibo man said, " I beg carry am go adult shop, I know he is a boy but his size is not here".

1. πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†LMAO

2. Same with my daughters at 11 and 10 they are both wearing 41 and 40.

13. Team size 38 in flats and 39 in heels

14. Beautiful things do come in small packages...So true!πŸ‘πŸ˜Ά

1. Lols kami hyping her compact self. Y'all firecrackers, I have a bestie who's tiny but big in every way.

2. Loolĺll. I wear size 38/39😁😁😁

15. Eeyah.

I now wear a size 40. It use to be 39, thanks to pregnancy.

1. Me too... my shoe size was 38-39 after giving birth it became 39-40..

16. I am very tall but I have small feet and I wear 38-40 depending on the type....😊

1. Same here. My aunt calls me "Tall girl with the small feet".

17. My measurements is 43/ 44 and Width is D or E for work shoes l,not that bad😁. I normally buy them from longtallsally or Clark's.

1. see our club member,team 43/44πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ.

2. @Nedi!πŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺπŸ’ͺ🀦‍♀️...πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

3. Your size is in few shops in Lagos market now😁
      There's a fashion slipper upto 45!

18. I'm size 41.
    Before I find fine size 41 shoes ehn? Everything be looking like what they use to cross the red sea in.
    It's like only pretty shoes come in size 38.
    The remaining leather dem use construct absolute lobbish. Ugly looking contraptions.
    Mtshewwww.
    Please who knows where I can buy fine shoes in Abuja?
    I don see the one way pass me...

1. I wear 41 and have absolutely no problem finding shoes. Most sizes end on 41 so... try gbemisoke shoes, they are beautiful, comfy and run to size 44 I think.

Ps stella no be advert oh abeg just helping a sis out.

19. Very easy for me to see my size, 37 and sometimes 38. When I was in school, my friends do buy shoes and later sell to me because it doesn't size them

20. I didn't know we are plenty like this,shoe shopping is one thing I hate most cos I hardly get my size on time..most times I end up buying what I don't like cos of d size ish! I wear 42/43 I envy babes with size 39/40 cos their size are every where with beautiful designs.. Unlike me that rock men slippers!

21. Chai! We plenty for here o. My shoe size is 43.

22. Ehya! I feel for you guys, I don't have such problems, as I can wear between 38-40 comfortably

23. Thank God for my Feet 🦢

I wear size 39/40... Sometimes 38

I feel you guys Pain....πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

24. I thought I was alone. Big foot runs in my family. Team 42/43