Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Shaggy Reveals Why He Turned Down An Invitation To Feature In Rihanna's New Album

Monday, January 13, 2020

Shaggy Reveals Why He Turned Down An Invitation To Feature In Rihanna's New Album

Dance hall legend Shaggy has revealed why he turned down the chance to work with Rihanna.

RiRi’s long awaited R9 album is reportedly a full blown reggae collection featuring the genre’s biggest producers.
Kingston local Shaggy admits he was almost in the running too.

According to the DailyStar.co.uk, the two-time Grammy Award-winner admitted in a recent interview to losing a chance to collaborate with Rihanna on her upcoming album, because she asked him to “audition.”

“They approached me for the Rihanna project, yeah,” he admitted.
“There’s a lot of great people involved, but for me, I didn’t need to audition to be on the record. I’ll leave that to younger guys. But from what I hear, the album should be good.”

45 comments:

1. What an insult. It's like Naija shaggi asking 2face or psquare for auditions

1. THAT WAS THE FIRST THING I SAID BEFORE SEEING YOUR COMMENT. WHAT AN INSULT!

2. Rihanna is VERY, VERY STUPID can you imagine the insult!? A whole Shaggy!?! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ ๐Ÿ˜ฎ ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

3. A very big insult how can rihanna ask shaggy for auditions.

2. WTH!

๐ŸŽธ#singing# Girl, you're my angel, you're my darling angel

Closer than my peeps you are to me, baby
    Shorty, you're my angel, you're my darling angel...

3. Audition kwa! ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

4. Shaggy was really good those days, but now, I can't say.

1. He's into reggae/dancehall which is VERY huge in Jamaica and Trinidad which i'm sure you are not checking for and Rihanna's new album is reggae. Get it now?

2. "Good those days" girl you tripping? Nah? Shaggy is a legend a forever legend. Rihanna really got nerves very disrespectful I tell you!

3. It's even huge in Barbados where Rihanna comes from. That was very disrespectful on Rihanna's part.

5. Abeg dont drop your crown to lace anyones shoes, you were rocking the streets when she was in diapers.

1. I mean.. Shaggy was an icon everyone knew before there was a Rihanna. He should be offended

2. Macbeth oh ! Macbeth the mind speaker.
      Riri must have been high on some expired Caribbean Rum, when she first thought of it let alone saying it out.

3. @Keke I dey tell you. Na her team now. They are not alright.

4. You don’t have to be high on anything to make a silly decision though.

6. I can understand why Shaggy may regard it as insulting to be asked for an audition. His previous work is good enough to decide if he should be used or not. It's a pity there's little or no respect for older artists especially when they're not minting money like before. Would she had asked Jay Z or PDiddy for an audition?

On the other hand, if he had gone for an audition and was successful, he would have had the opportunity to make a comeback which would translate to more money for him.

7. I don't know for music but for movies ie Hollywood, you are never too old or too big to audition. For Scandal, Kerry Washington and Gabrielle Union had to audition for the Olivia Pope character. They act out full episodes and the producers watch and debate on who will be the best for the show. They spend millions on production, so cast is carefully chosen. That is why most blockbusters have a perfect cast..Prisonbreak, 24, Breaking Bad etc

1. Acting and singing are two different things my dear,for every role in a movie thier must be auditioning to select the right cast.in this case its music. And Shaggy is a big artist...auditioning is for upcoming artists you are not sure of not an icon like Shaggy...it's disrespectful!

2. NiB that's not entirley true. Celebrity get levels o. A listers don't audition for roles. The likes of Meryl Streep and Julia Roberts, Leo Di Caprio, Brad Pitt do they audition for roles? I bet not. Shaggy is a music icon and should not need to audition for any freaking album.

3. NiB that's not entirley true. Celebrity get levels o. A listers don't audition for roles. The likes of Meryl Streep and Julia Roberts, Leo Di Caprio, Brad Pitt do they audition for roles? These actors get roles written for them specifically. I bet not. Shaggy is a music icon and should not need to audition for any freaking album. These

4. Wow! How demeaning. Do these new generation artists have any respect at all? A whole Shaggy ka-isi bia mee audition?? Mkpali!

5. @ Dre if you know how my feelings is hurt ehen ! you think l am the Shaggy

6. Right. She would have listened to his past albums/YOUtube videos to know if his voice will fit hers. But their voices will blend perfectly - Rih has a unique voice just like him. Also possible her team/managers were making the decisions without her.

8. Riri asking a whole Shaggy to audition how ?
    What an insult.
    When Shaggy was Shaggy where was Riri ?
    Possibly running along the Caribbean beaches in briefs.

1. Briefs ,abi round the neighborhood in pants only.She must have been high on really cheap stuffs.Omo alaileko!

9. Replies
    1. KW a kW am wake am wake a๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚
      @one trillion I just zoomed in on this end time doggy on you DP, reminds me of Stella's end time dogs

10. Chaaaaaai!
    Rhianna oh, you fall hand shaa.
    Shaggy my shaggy, glad he knows his worth.

11. If Shaggy was to be 50 cents, Riri would have been having her servings of trolls, for the rest of this world.
    Fif doesn't play with see finish.

12. If Shaggy was to be 50 cents, Riri would have been having her servings of beefs,for the rest of this world.

13. If Shaggy was to be 50 cents, Riri would have been having her servings of beefs,for the rest of this world.

1. ๐Ÿ˜ณ
      50 cent is ready to drag her to the ends of the earth and back. 50 that spits fire when the matter no too concern am sef๐Ÿคจ

14. Taking pride in yourself is a beautiful thing. He may not have anywhere close to the money she has, but he knows his value and is not hungry for anything. Kudos to him.

15. U no say Rihanna Dey smoke some kina ting...maybe she Dey high dat day. Bombaclat

16. The way we use words like legends and icon ehn.Shaggy was a big artist but in terms of awards,he’s not up to Rihanna.Both of them will be alright.

1. Bibire, are you ok at all? Shaggy is not up to Rihanna?!? You are the one who will be ok, las las. Social media was almost unknown during Shaggy's time but Rihanna has that to her advantage, that's all.

2. Did you read where I said in terms of award?whatever I said is my opinion!

3. Which award are you talking about ? You think it's a walk in the park to be a Grammy Award winner or two occasions.
      Ehobbe Rhianna for shaggy level?

17. See me so angry like say na me be shaggy