Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Turkey Set To Introduce 'Marry Your Rapist' Bill

Friday, January 24, 2020

Turkey Set To Introduce 'Marry Your Rapist' Bill

The Turkish parliament is set to introduce the "marry your rapist" bill by the end of January.

The bill which outraged women's rights campaigners said the bill would allow men to marry underaged girls who they raped in order to avoid being prosecuted.

The bill if approved will encourage underaged marriage and statutory rape.

A similar bill failed in 2016 following international outrage.
The law would have pardoned men if they had s#x "without force or threat".

According to UN statistics, 38% of women in Turkey have suffered physical or s#xual violence from a partner.

Violence against Turkish women does not end there, with 409 believed to have been murdered by a partner of family members in 2017.

Daily Mirror (UK).

46 comments:

1. That is a very dangerous law to make.

1. Exactly
      This is very dangerous .
      What a mess.

2. This is the wrongest thing that can ever happen. Like this is so wrong.

3. Nigerians that go to trade over there should be very careful, can you imagine such rubbish... Muslims enh

2. This is a bad thing, I believe!

1. Its boldly written in the bible, did you call it a bad thing? Or bad part of the bible.

2. Before you start condemning the law of Moses in the Bible, remember that it was established at a time when prostitution was seen as "holy" among the pagans around them, children were offered as burnt offerings and women literally had no voice. Compared to the nations around them, God's law was superior and to a large extent protected the Israelite and even foreign women among them.

With respect to a rapist marrying the victim, the rapist could only marry the victim IF the father accepted (which a loving father would most likely reject) and if he marries the victim, the man can never divorce the woman till he died. Also note that if the victim was engaged or married, the rapist was to be killed. He cannot feign ignorance of the girl's status. The law was intended to protect women, not encourage the practice of rape.

3. Anon 16:07. Turkey is an Islamic nation. How can you believe that this law was inspired by the Bible?

3. A Dude asks a girl to marry him, the girl refuses.
    The dude waylays her and rapes her
    and voom, they are married?
    😮😮😮😮😮😮😮

4. Disgusting!!! A man rapes a woman and instead of being punished he is rewarded with the choice of marrying her. So this already abused woman will spend her life with the monster who violated her.

5. I'm confused as to why this smiley face emoji is being used here.

This is awful and will encourage pedophiles and molesters. Gosh. I pray the bill is not approved.

Hurtful.

1. Is this a smiley face emoji, are you OK laidis? Did you get scared from a nightmare?

2. Mystique, u dnt know much about emojis right? That emoji is for shock and disappointment. Now u know.

3. Sparkle,Stella has changed the emoji she first use. That's the emoji mystique is talking about.

4. Sparkle, SDK changed it. Now you know.

5. Mr and Mrs sparkle, next time you don't just jump into conclusions on someone's comment. The first emoji was a smiley face, it was changed!!!

6. Oh dears, my bad. Apologies.

6. Replies
    1. You're kidding right ?
      Have you thought about how this would affect the victim?

7. I don't support this law, why should a woman marry her rapist please mshewwww

1. So you dont support some parts of the bible then.

2. Madame koinkoin aka the 'peace maker'24 January 2020 at 17:04

Anonymous 16:08 you must be very cra*y to say such

8. This is a very useless bill🤮🤮🤮🤮

This is one of the reasons I think I am not yet fully into my calling in this world.

Children are the most vulnerable and they always pay the price of many parents/people stupidity.
    How can a sick man who sexually molested a child be allowed to marry that child, thereby having a full rights to continue his inhumane acts on the child.

Whether a man rapes an adult woman or a little child, he should never be allowed to have any other access to the victim. He should be sent to where he belongs, which is the dirtiest part of prison.

This is a very senseless bill.

9. Throw that evil bill away!!!

👎👎👎👎👎 To the people that came up with this rubbish.

Rapists must rot in jail. Life imprisonment for all rapists.

Though hand join in hand, the wicked shall not go unpunished.

10. As if the rape is not bad enough, you have to see your rapist each day, all in the name of being married! Sad!sad!sad!!

11. The must be following the bible.

1. THE BIBLE DOES NOT CONDONE RAPE!!!

Deuteronomy 22 vs 25 “But if the man meets the woman out in the country, and he rapes her, then only the man must die. 26 Do nothing to the young woman; she has committed no crime worthy of death. She is as innocent as a murder victim.

Deuteronomy 22:28-29 “If a man meets a virgin who is not betrothed, and seizes her and lies with her, and they are found, then the man who lay with her shall give to the father of the young woman fifty shekels of silver, and she shall be his wife, because he has violated her. He may not divorce her all his days.“

Exodus 22:16-17 “If a man seduces a virgin who is not betrothed and lies with her, he shall give the bride price for her and make her his wife. If her father utterly refuses to give her to him, he shall pay money equal to the bride price for virgins.”

Together, these passages clearly state that if a man has sex with a virgin who is not betrothed (regardless of whether or not it was rape or consensual) he is obliged to marry her. He should have sought her father’s permission first, negotiated a bride-price, and taken her as his wife. Because he did not, he is punished for this—he now must pay up (he can’t opt out any more) and marry her (which could be a major punishment in itself if this was a foolish, spur-of-the-moment act and she really wasn’t the right woman for him!).

Also note that “he may not divorce her all his days” – this initially doesn’t seem significant but is actually a major punishment. Deuteronomy 24:1-4 (restated more clearly in Matthew 5:32 and 19:9) allowed for divorce, but only in the case of sexual immorality This man now may not divorce his wife even for this reason, but is obliged to continue to support her all his life whatever she does.

But her father is ultimately in authority over her, as her head, until he hands this authority over to her husband. If the man is unsuitable, the father can refuse to give his daughter to him. How many fathers would give their daughter to a rapist? Not many. So, in general, a rapist would actually have to pay a 50 silver shekel fine to her father, and not get a wife at all.

The answer to the question is in Exodus 22:17 - the woman does NOT have to marry a rapist, she must only do what her father says.

Note that throughout the Old Testament no rape victim is ever recorded as being forced to marry a rapist. However it is plausible that there could be circumstances in which a father would choose to have his daughter marry a rapist. In 2 Samuel 13, Amnon, a son of David, rapes his half-sister, Tamar. Tamar was not forced to marry Amnon. Interestingly, though, Tamar seemed to have wanted to marry Amnon after the rape (2 Samuel 13:13-16). Why would she desire such a thing? In that culture, virginity was highly prized. It would have been very difficult for a woman who was not a virgin, and especially a woman who had been raped, to find a man to marry her. It seems that Tamar would have rather married Amnon than live desolate and single the rest of her life, which is what happened to her (2 Samuel 13:20). So Deuteronomy 22:28-29 could be viewed as merciful to the woman, who, because of the rape, would be considered unmarriageable. In that culture, a woman without a husband would have a very difficult time providing for herself. Unmarried women often had no choice but to sell themselves into slavery or prostitution just to survive. This is why the passage leaves marriage to the discretion of the father, because every situation is different, and it is better to be flexible than have a blanket rule.

Also note that the penalty for having sex with an unbetrothed virgin is completely different from the penalty for sex with a married or betrothed woman. Sex with a married or betrothed woman is adultery and was to be punished by the death of both if consensual, or the death of the man if it was rape.

(copied)

2. Thank you so much, Mystique. It irks me when i see people make snide remarks about the law of Moses as recorded in the Bible. They forget that things were way different compared to today. Compared to the pagan nations around them, the Law protected women to a very large extent. I usually tell those who make such snide remarks to go back and research on the practices of the other nations around Israel and compare their laws and practices with that of the nation of Israel.

12. Na wa o! So if a woman turns down a man’s proposal, he will stalk her and rape her. Then be free to marry her at the end. Not good!!

13. This is not making sense at all

14. This must be a joke...what's that

15. Islam is erratic

16. What sort of evil bill is this? How would a rapist ending up marrying d girl? This is sad and disgusting,opening d door wide for pedophiles and molesters
    God forbids

17. This is so awkward. Most Turkish men who are sex starved have been handed a big boost to point and attack. In this modern age?

18. if you check very well you will discover that its the men pushing for this bill so justify their evil acts.

1. Of course, it's the men. Who do you think shot down the Equality Bill that came up in Nigerian some years ago?

19. That will be one terrible of a Law, that means they should expect more rape in that country.

20. This is not good at all what about if the victim does not want to marry the evil rapist... Him mm they have given the rapist men chance to start rapisting underage girls seems it will end in marriage.

21. I doubt the bill would pass. The international outcry that shot down the last one will shoot down this one.

22. This is wickedness to the victim - no plan for a victim to turn to a survivor! This is the highest abuse to womanhood.