Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actor Pete Edochie Reiterates That Kneeling To Propose To A Woman Is Wrong

Friday, February 21, 2020

Actor Pete Edochie Reiterates That Kneeling To Propose To A Woman Is Wrong

Nollywood's veteran actor, Pete Edochie who spoke in an unofficial interview had this to say about emulating the culture of the White man in marriage proposal.

''Any young man who gets down on his knees to propose to a girl is not just an idiot, he's a compound buffoon.
Here's why I'm saying it, we try to copy white people, right? I believe in the essence and core of our culture.

The white man kneels down to propose to a girl, you know what it means?- the girl takes over the family, this is why whenever he disagrees with the wife, you are kicked out and the wife gets the house, don't you people know that?''

''A young man who should be in charge of his destiny now kneels in front of a woman, that makes you all fools''.

When the interviewer pointed out that men do so out of love, Pete retorted by saying he had lived with his wife for 51 years and nobody has come to say "please stop beating this woman", "is it hatred that united us?"

*Oga please times have changed,drop your olden days belief,nobody is a fool for kneeling down...

131 comments:

1. I watched this video and it was hilarious!!!

I hope he's just joking if not, that's his own opinion and belief!!

People are entitled to what they think and all that...... Still love you Pete❤️❤️

1. LOL. I just found it funny;this is his own mentality. In their time you carry drink and go and meet the girls father first if not they find it disrespectful you just proposed to their daughter just like that. However time has changed. But I still do agree to you going to ask for a girls hand first from her father before proposing to her. Then you can do the proposal. Kneel down if you feel like or seat down it doesn't matter to me. All these ppl battering their wives you think they didn't kneel to propose.

2. Kneeling to propose is man-made. It’s not even a culture anywhere in the world. I have never seen a white man going down in one knee.. it’s probably an African-American thing

2. See thinking.....yet he is speaking their English

1. See your own thinking... so hes speaking their "English" he should also emulate everything else about them?

2. Your comment is senseless.

3. One who eats a guineafowl, does not begin to look like a guineafowl...

4. @Macbeth, you mumu no be small. When you criticize a thing, you don't affiliate with it at all. If you do its called hypocrisy ok!!! Very foolish old man!!!

3. I am with him on this. It is actually a western tradition, not at all African. But you know we sabi copy copy.

1. I hope u don't wear any western clothes or speak any western language. I hope u don't.

2. Which kind brain Eka joy carry? So its ok to copy blindly

3. joy u dey mind am. pete na compound fool. all due respect sir. u are old and archaic

4. You de mind am, hope say Na banana leaves e tire round waist.

5. That still doesn't change the fact that it is a western traditionwhether you accept it or not. You can continue arguing with your keyboard madam angry bird.

6. Get off your phone or laptop it’s a western tradition!!! You can continue arguing with your village oracle!

7. Why we igbos don't emulate yorubas by kneeling down to greet our seniors ,we dont value it cus is a yoruba culture abi?but we can kneel down to propose to a girl because kneeling to propose to a is a western culture ,in India bride's family are the one that will pay the groom's family ,why dont our girls copy that,

4. Stella said "Times have changed".... has it changed for the better or worse?? The kneeling, does it have a positive outlook on the marriage?? Its totally insignificant if you ask me... Times have really changed, thats why Aboki perfumes lasts longer than matriages of this iGen.

1. Yeah "Times have changed"
      Africans need to start asking valid questions and seeking relevance to the gestures we've embraced as a norm.
      "Times have changed"... have we welcomed the LGBTQ with open arms?

2. Yes times have changed and Always will, it's not something we can control. Our parents find our ways repulsive, remember that our parents are only 30/40 years older than us. And see the mindset change between their generation and ours. Funny enough if someone who died in 1500s should wake up, he will find our parents ways repulsive as well and hate them for ever letting the white man in and causing the great corruption in Nigeria. We too will find our children's ways repulsive and they will call us outdated and laugh that we ever used flip phones. That's the effect of time, it's an ever moving engine. As for kneeling, I don't care, I don't think it matters or is an issue.

3. Stella, you say times have changed but we are not ready to accept gay marriage, right? We still criticize baby mamas, right? We still frown at skimpy dressed ladies, right? We accept some and denounce others, abi?

4. Anon 15:26 pls shut up. Stella is saying how things should be done appropriately. Peter has a mental problem obviously. How can you say kneeling to propose to a lady is selling out your destiny that hatred kept him and his wife together. Western world respect their women more that’s why they kneel down. You think it’s easy to birth babies etc. just an act of respect to the lady in proposing not that nonsense that man is speaking over there or you bringing up a stupid gay marriage issue.

5. 23.02 Peter has a mental problem? You obviously lack home training, no respect at all.

5. Oga edochie,this African mentality started from u o,so hw then are African men suppose to proposed biko.

1. Go and ask your grandfather.. 😂😂

2. By standing tall, one hand in their pocket, legs apart and one hand rubbing their belly.

3. Hahahahahaha 😆😆😆😆omg Eka Joy your comment really cracked me..

4. 🤣🤣🤣Eka Joy! I actually picture this

5. Eka🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

6. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

6. Daddy Pete. I love you but this one you talk today no follow.

1. That's because your sense of reasoning is shallow.

2. Anon pls shut up, do you even have sense?

7. Why should i kneel?
    Are you doing me a favour?
    Marriage is team work, do you kneel to partner with someone? If such gesture is exhibited before agreement, its perceived as one party having the upper hand.
    Africans just copy blindly, without knowing the real reason, as long as the white man does it, then it must be good

1. Why are my kneeling to feed u drink???? Is marriage not team work anymore????

Why's it OK traditionally for the woman to kneel and an abomination for the man? Because we are inferior?

2. Eka nobody asked your husband to mandate you to do so oh, ask him

3. The woman has always been under the man, even bible talk am, if you dont like it, quit

4. Eka, who forced u to kneel? You should have sat on his laps and him. That u knelt doesn't guarantee whatever

5. Don’t listen to eka joy oooooo! She is the type that will kneel to serve her hubby food in the house, wash his boxers without him asking. She sill come online forming feminist wife to derail you young wives. Listen to her and get booted out of your home . Shiorrrrr

6. Eka, ask the person ure kneeling for if you are a wife or slave?

7. No one forced me to kneel and no one forced him to kneel. See the point?

8. Hahaha you people are taking things too serious. Same men shouting cant kneel for a woman will still kneel this weekend to go down on their partners. For 30mins they will be on those kneels with all pleasure. Hahahahaha. You will even be begging them to stand dat it's okay.

9. Lol... are we talking about proposal or kneeling to pray, hmmmm.... it must be prayers on sunday.

10. Beds and Roses, just the same way some women on this blog today, today will go on their knees to suck prick tonight. I dey tell you.

8. Illiteracy, that is all I see here from his speech. Whatever you do in your relationship is nobody's fucking business provided that it makes both of you happy and healthy.

1. Professor Chidimma,I salute you oo

2. Illiteracy?????
      Can you stand where Pete will stand in terms of education? Some of you just open your mouth a spit out trash, thats his opinion, its ok if you dont agree with him

3. Anon 12:03, so cos you went to school mean you are not an illiterate? You mumu no be small!!!

4. Tinalexy, do you even know the meaning of illetracy? You dont have sense at all.

5. You can call him anything, old school, archaic, a man set in his ways, rigid but an Illiterate? Mba!!

6. Tinalexy are you sure you know the meaning of illiterate?
      An illiterate is someone who can't read or write. I am very sure Pete Edochie can do both and then some. Some people didn't go to University,but you can't still call them illiterate.

7. Anonymous 12:03, go and get the meaning of illiteracy, oh I forgot you will still check the meaning in a western dictionary, so you are also an illiterate.

8. Bed n roses...Yes i know the meaning of an illiterate. You studied radiography as a course and i studied Law as a course. You know nothing about my field n i know nothing about yours. What does that make us? Meaning; everyone is an illiterate one way or the other. But for that buffoon to ask if the other one can stand where that old fool is, based on his education is a stupid choice of words from an idiot!!!

9. Tinalexy you are insufferably rude!
      Couldn't you disagree without being insolent? Jeez!

Would you call your dad stupid and an idiot, even in your mind?

Why are some people of this generation so uncouth, hurling insults at others without restraint?

10. Thanks Anon 22.12, she's simply repugnant and I commented that already but can't seem to find my comment.
      Stella, where's my comment please? I can't understand why her spewing insults is ok and my chiding her is not...

11. This comment has been removed by the author.

9. My husband didn't kneel down to propose. I didn't mind. Been married 6years now and there's not been any issues at all .

1. Thank you jare! Just give me an expensive ring and I'm good. Don't give a flipping fuck if he kneels or not

2. you are too local. reason he did not kneel

3. 13.29 wow, see reasoning, na wa ooo. All kinds of people on this blog, as in what is the correlation between the two things you mentioned?

4. Anonymous 13:29 how many of those who knee have we seen the marriage scatter? Kneeling or not doesn't tell any thing about what the future of the marriage would be.

5. Only 6 years? Wasn’t that like 2014? Just yesterday lmfao! Abeg go and sit down. Your first child is probably in primary one or below. You sef dey talk. When you’ve been married 20 years and more then you can come back.

6. 15.53 you are simply just jealous. I am not the anon but the bile in your comment speaks volumes.

7. Do you know the meaning of jealous? You anon 15.53? Do you know how many years I’ve been married?

8. Celebrate the eons of years you've been married and let another person celebrate her 6 years, instead of you trying to belittle her!!

10. You're right Stella, times have changed. Now is the time to question why we copy the white man. Generally speaking, the white woman doesn't like the white ma , in keeping with 'times have changed'...hehe

11. It's not olden days belief, it's foreign.

12. I love what Chidimma Grace said. Much ado abt nothing!

13. Hmm That's why you shouldn't place anyone especially celebrities you don't know on a pedestal. Cos when you look closely, you may not have the same mindset or values as them. Love them from afar. It was the 'no one has said stop beating this woman' that got to me. What does that mean..is he supporting domestic violence?

1. I think he meant that he's never beaten his wife so no one had any reason to tell him that.

2. He means he has been living in peace and love with his wife for 51years

3. Oh ok, I got that wrong. Was scared for a bit. Thanks for explaining guys😚

4. Beating*
      Eka joy aka English teacher, it is "Beating"

5. Ok Eka was right about the "Beaten"... stella ignore

6. Olodo. You wanted to mock me na. Even if I was wrong, u could have corrected and moved on. See how you've disgraced urself

7. Anon 12:33,so a marriage is only peaceful and full of love when there’s no physical torture? I hope you’re being sarcastic. How about emotional torture? What if her self esteem is crumbled and she has stayed all these years because she feels like she can’t live without him?

14. Pete is right. Very right. You guys with misplaced priorities can continue to play yourself. I'm not surprised with the backlash from a generation where I heard some girls arguing about how she can't date some guy, cos he doesn't have up to 2000 followers on Instagram. Lol.. so "someone I know" that doesn't have his photos on any social media handles except Facebook that he has just 3 old photos no go get babe nah😃😃😃.. I'm not the smartest person but really this generation makes me feel like I'm Aristotle 😊

1. oga u are out of ine. pls take ur drug next time

2. Not the smartest you say??? You’re not far from the truth, because omo! You are dumb. You made no sense at all. Like anon 13:30 said, please take your drug next time.

15. When will women catch a break in this country???? Ehn when?

A woman that loves her men will still accept the ring whether he kneels or not.

Let the one who chooses to show 'more' humility by kneeling, kneel without having to be judged.

The world has really moved far from all these nonsense condemnation. If u didn't want to accept the white man's things, why are u wearing clothes and not tying what not around ur bodies.

I'm just weak abeg. How's the kneeling affecting anybody?????

1. Eka stop concerning yourself with the happenings of the zoo. Face front na

2. Which country? Abeg leave the zoo matter na.

3. In which country? Pls leave Nigeria alone abeg. We don't need your defence. Tankiu.

4. Eka don enter am with anons, loool. That is why one needs to watch what one says sometimes and apply wisdom.

16. Western, African oh! Kindly do what suits u cos it's not d yardstick for a happy marriage

17. Kneeling, standing, lying down to propose are all irrelevant. The fact of the matter is that the question was asked and if it was asked and received with love and sincerity. Gosh...that is the last thing I was thinking of when my hubby proposed..we were seated at a dinner table when he did and we have been married for 16 years now.....how does that even relate to the success of a marriage. It is the heart that matters.

18. Is kneeling down to propose a must? No. When the love of my life and God's ordained one for me says "marry me" I will say "yes". Doesn't matter whether he's kneeling or sitting or standing. Doesn't matter if there's a ring or not. What matters is that the marriage is a good marriage.

19. Ebubedike, (Naija) girls will soon send you on exile again
    this time not to your mother's kindred but to the lion's den
    for breakfast. Wetin them dey understand from this ya yarns be
    say make (abroad) dudes no propose to them again o 😮😮😮

The man has aired his vies and he is entitled to that.
    The one I know that is foolish is public proposal. I many
    cases, the girl is put under pressure to accept what she ordinarily
    should reject. The only thing that should be public is a wedding.
    But even at that, moderation is the key in wisdom. 😊😊😊

1. Well, some people also think private proposals are foolish so 🤷‍♀️🤷‍♀️🤷‍♀️🤷‍♀️

Dunno who made u people directors of how a relationship should go, I dunno.

Live and let live abeg. Some people got proposed to privately and are either enjoying their marriages or not and some publicly and are also either enjoying it or not.

It's not ur fucking business!

2. You guys need to zip it.
      There is no formula to these things. That you didn't kneel doesn't mean your marriage will work. If a man has no issues with kneeling to propose, what is the noise for? Was he forced? My husband didn't kneel and we are good, doesn't mean if he knelt we still won't be good.

God is not going to send any man to hell for kneeling or not kneeling. Do what works for you, period. It is called preferences.

20. It has nothing to do with love but has everything to do with the pride of life and
    borrow the white mentality. How many of those same men beat their wives to pulp anytime
    there is the slightest quarrel.
    Ever wondered why our divorce rate in Nigeria is beginning to equal that of the whites?

1. He will still beat the woman to a pulp if he didn't kneel, a violent person is a violent person. Kneeling is not the reason for the breakdown in marriages.

21. Kneeling has nothing to do with westernization. Africans/Nigerians have been proposing to women for a very long time, for instance, presenting beads, flowers etc after much cajole. Stella African men act like it is a favour that they're doing you by marrying you... What nonsense!!! Stella a guy will marry a girl, take her away from her home, promise her heaven and earth, takes her away from everything she knows (friends, religion, tradition,family).Men don't even kneel, they postrate (you put your two knees on the ground to kneel) you that as form of presenting your allegiance that this person you're coming for you love her, you're ready to take care of her to protect and defend her.Its the first step of marriage promise that in as much you are her authority, you respect her decisions.
    I respect Pete edochie a lot no matter what but that his statement no follow at all. Thee nonsense causing men to carry shoulder and peacock about is this nonsense called bride price, they now feel they have purchased and own you in all entirety and you have no life without them.
    Dear mean proposing on one knee for less than 5 minutes will not kill you. Yes, it doesn't necessarily mean you love her but show her by that singular action. IT WILL NOT KILL YOU, IT WILL NOT CHANGE YOUR SURNAME. the way you shake, hail and bro hug your guys when you see them after a long time, do that for this girl you claim you love but feminise it by prostrating to ask her permission to marry you. The only thing that makes you special at that moment is the fact that she accepted your ring otherwise you're like any other random guy

1. Abeg shift with your speech.
      Men shouldnt kneel anything, its bullshit.

2. Na still you go still kneel down dey beg woman for s**

22. I'd rather he propose while we are lying down...n it must be on d bed.

1. Commisioner of bed related matters.

2. Commisioner of bed related matters.

23. I honestly think most women do not really care if a man gets down on his knees or not. After all, that doesn't determine the strength of the marriage.They are more important things to be more concerned about.

Hubs didn't have to kneel because we both went ring shopping together. He knew I wasn't a sucker for surprises and I am really picky so he carried me along through the process. We went through different stores till I saw the one I loved and he helped slip it in while standing then he asked "are you sure you like this ring the best?" and since then the ring never came off. Did he kneel? No! Still he is the best thing to ever happen to me that I wonder what good deeds I did to deserve him. Nobody cares if a man knelt down or was in a lying down position as long as he is a good man. So this is a non-issue .

24. I don't care about kneeling down to propose... In short, if I know we're going to get married, we will go to the goldsmith shop together, so I can handpicked the ring that I like.

My ex proposed to me through the phone, who cares about proposal 🤔🤔🤨

Whether they kneel down to propose or not, a marriage that will stand the test of time will be the only one that will survive.

What I don't like is public proposal. Its not my thing at all.

25. LOL this man sef. So when my husband kneels down to give me head, is he bowing to me? Please, if you truly love a man, even if he proposes to you whiles twerking, you will accept. Even if he is doing a handstand sef, you will accept. Please and please. It's just symbolism. Who cares if he kneels or not? Come to think of it, why are these old men so concerned with trivial issues? First it was Adeboye and his cooking, now it is Edochie and his kneeling. Abeg!

1. I'm really tired honestly. So many issues to deal with in the country but it's trivial matter that affects no one that some people are worried about. Smh

26. This just struck something in me..
    I wouldnt kneel down

27. very stupid comment...hate when elders cannot respect other peoples way and talk trash...the Nigerian men that dont kneel are marriages not crashing everyday? all these igbo men and very domineering mentalities be forming tradition. bloody chauvinist. pa edochie pls go and loose weight...

1. Anon 13:47. You have a good head on your shoulders,Jare. Intelligent and witty at the same time.

2. Anon ya wicked 🤣😂🤣😂🤣🤣😂🤣 at Goan lose weight

28. so what right do you have to call them fools and idiots? i hate when elders think they can talk anyhow to younger people. state your opinion and let them decide. nothing wrong with kneeling in my opinion and i dont see how that will make a good woman disrespect her man. talk like this is why some men feel they are doing a woman the ultimate favour marrying her. kneeling is just an act of begging the woman to marry you, after all you are doing the proposing and she is the one to leave her former name and come take up your name. some men kneel and still treat the woman like trash so its just a symbolic ceremony and does not in any way determine how the marriage will be. how can he even insinuate that its because oyibo men kneel that the women can have the guts to ask the man to leave the house when they have issues? its a whole lot of issues that has to do with society now becoming more individualistic and moreso in developed countries laws favour women to protect them from abuse...cant deal with this mindset abeg

1. Yes. That leaving the house analogy has nothing to do with kneeling. The culture/law in the U.S. protects the vulnerable. If a man and his wife has issues, the law protects the woman because sending her out puts her in danger. If a child calls the cops on his parents, the law protects the child. If a car owner and pedestrian have a court case, the law protects the pedestrian. An able-bodied vs disabled, the law will protect the disabled. Unlike Nigeria where the opposite is the case, has nothing to do with kneeling. The only place where America has failed is in protecting racial minorities.

29. There is endurance marriage and there is true love king of marriage.
    Which does the wife fall into

1. God bless you. For all you care Mrs Edochie may be miserable in that marriage.

How many of our parents, grandparents and great grandparents were happy in their marriages? The only difference between then and now is that the women stayed and endured the suffering.They stayed for their children.

Instead of giving men tips how to be better husbands we are talking thrash.

Domestic violence didn't start today. Some of the men you see today saw their fathers beat their mothers.

30. is this man still talking about this matter again.

31. See them;because it is Pete edochie now,they see nothing wrong with it,When adeboye talked about women cooking for their husbands,they wanted to finish him with talk on this blog.Hypocrites
    I love you Stella, u are hardly biased.I love u eka joy.

1. Ode, are you reading up side down? How many bvs supported him ? Hian.

32. Sincerely, I dont see anything wrong in kneeling down with one leg to propose to your woman. People should be allowed to express themselves anyway they like. We have foreigners dressing in the African atire, whose telling them to mind their business.

33. But don't women kneel to their husband to feed him palm wine on their wedding day? So what if the man proposes on one knee?

34. I’m totally in support of Pete on this. It’s totally western and not African. A Russian would not kneel down to propose, neither would an Asian. It’s a copied act. I’ll like to hear Prof. Wole Soyinka’s opinion on this.

1. As your personal Lord and saviour that he is.

2. If you’re educated you’ll understand the reason why I would want to know his perspective on this.

3. He’s a Nobel laureate and an African playwright. It’s an intellectual discourse, so you wouldn’t understand..