Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gospel Singer Tope Alabi Reacts To 'Worldly Dance' Video Uproar

Thursday, February 20, 2020

Gospel Singer Tope Alabi Reacts To 'Worldly Dance' Video Uproar

Nigerian Gospel Singer Tope Alabi has reacted to a recent viral video of her in which she was seen dancing a "worldly dance".

The video left a bitter taste in the mouths of many people and they took to social media to criticise her saying that a gospel singer should never be caught dancing such worldly dance.

Reacting to the video in an Interview on TVC, the gospel singer said she did the dance at her father’s burial and that she needed that dance. 

She said: "l needed that dance. It was at my father's burial. The praise was organized by my gospel artist friends to just worship God after the wake keep and l needed to worship God. I just needed to. It's not easy to bury your father. Some people died before their father died. So If you are spiritual or are a spiritual person, you know you needed that dance"

44 comments:

1. Is there anything like spiritual dance.

You really need to let your hair down and you did it.

No need justifying it spiritual. Sorry about the loss of your dad

1. Good questing @your first line

2. The truth is the dance was razz......how can someone like her be dancing in such manner?That dance does not befit her.

3. 13;51Go to ur Bible. Do u know King David's wife was so ashamed of his dance? To d point he went almost Naked!
      Something never hold u, u never praise God from inside b4! With praise ehen nwanne , u know go differentiate jazz from Ballet o

4. Tope Alabi. Anywhere belle face, a favorite of controversial pastors and now hot stepper... I'm on to you

5. Gospel artist that bleaches, what do you expect?

6. Help me ask o, which one is now spiritual dance.

7. I actually felt bad watching her dance that way

8. Ano 14:35 you should be the one to go to your bible... david danced with all his might not naked please 2samuel 6:14

2. I watched the video and nothing wrong in the dance abeg. The PAs to Jesus on moral matters are the ones judging.

1. Was that a worldly song??

I tire for world people oooh

2. Asin serious p.as to Jesus o . David danced till he was naked !!!! Abeg let the woman be!

3. Real PAs to Jesus. Judginas and assistant Jesus, they should let her be please.

3. Ok so those of you that criticize this woman, you do dance like this. Or you mean she has access to God than you all.. so she should do less of what you non gospel Christian do?

Life is free do what makes you happy

4. Excuse me , what's worldly in a dance, is there a spiritual dance ??

1. Yes Don , spiritual dance na that type wey dwm dey fly half way on d air.
      Stupid pple na so them carry God for head but inside them dey r devils

5. nothing is wrong with her dancing, she should dance and allow free air. Why do people make it as a point of their duties to drink Poland on top person headache.

1. excited courtesy,

you shall drink a whole country (poland) ijn.

6. So, the woman should not dance again because she's a gospel artist and who termed the dance "Wordly" Dance is dance.

7. Why defending it,just let it go.
    I once walk into a pastor's house and the kids were watching trace with naked girls.
    This man will tell me such is very bad.
    As soon as I and hubby walked in the unexpectedly then,the pastor ise style to change the station,and he was there when the were watching trace,so why the pretence.
    Christianity is not religion
    Christianity does not mean cage or pretence.
    Christianity is a way of life .

8. I don’t understand the term worldly dance,is it that there is a way Christians can dance? I don’t just get

9. I dance more than that in Church, the song is a gospel tungba, if you see me in church, you self go join me, I don't see anything wrong with her dancing that dance.

10. Abeg people rest. Do you and let another live. That's how that pastor said moaning during sex is not godly. There's no point explaining anything. Live and let live!

11. As far she danced well coverd , don't see anything wrong in her dancing steps.

12. I can't just stop wondering how David must have danced
    Remember the song "When the spirit of the lord is upon my soul I will dance like David danced!!!

1. I was just going to type same song....
      David danced like a drunkard/mad man,she didn't even need to pay them critics any mind!!!

2. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣lagos shopper kill me. The truth is wen u worship from ur innermost,God shows up Asap

3. Ano 14:13 David danced with all his might not like a drunk please

13. U can dance mapouka for all I care.

14. I dont know for the dane, but some people said she used to critise the wearing of trousers.

15. People will always talk. They just look for an excuse to start their criticism. She is free to express herself in any way that she wants.

She is still my favorite gospel artist.

16. Yes! There is "worldly" dance. Those seductive ones that give people of the opposite sex wahala. Not necessarily the types found in music videos or clubs. There are some traditional twerking dance steps sef that make me wonder. Dance moves like that "soapy" dance shouldn't have a place in church because its about masturbation. Asides that, I guess general dance moves are okay *shrugs*

17. I don't even know who calls these kind of ladies gospel singers. Gospel singing to who exactly?
    Definitely not to Jesus the Christ. I don't bother myself listening to those. I don't even know
    the title of any song she ever sang.😏😏

1. Singing to Amadioha, Sango and Baphomet.

2. 14:24🤣🤣🤣🤣 nice answer

3. If you understand Yoruba, pls try to listen to her 'Spirit of light album' with TY Bello . Then decide if she is gospel singer or not.

4. @15:09
      We can see her dancing spirit of night in that video.

18. I love that dance pleaseee. I wish I could dance like her.

19. I think the problem with a lot of Nigerians is trying to belong to the latest fad, especially Lagosians.
    Sometimes, it's just for fun and harmless.

I guess why people criticized her is that the gospel artistes often copy the pop culture and rarely set the pace themselves (e.g.create their own fun dance steps).

For the Christian, everything should be done in moderation and not after the world's trend or pop culture.

Yes, there are worldly dance steps and not all contemporary dance steps are bad because some are merely from workout sessions infused into choreography.

I know some gospel artistes do get carried away, chasing fame and fortune. It's the temptation that comes with the limelight. They have to be sober and prayerful.

Tope Alabi, a city on a hill cannot be hidden so, take the criticism in good faith and do everything in moderation.

20. Dear Tope, please just be strong. Do not listen to anyone criticizing you. They are just like Micah was I n the time of David. 2nd Samuel 6:14 David danced till he was naked! Imagine what world people would have said if it were today. As far as your heart is right with God that is all you need. When I lost my dad who is my best friend and my lookalike, I was broken and cried my heart out on the day he was laid to rest. The next day I was dancing in Church like you wouldn’t believe. I needed that dance! My father’s brother who never even liked my dad or cared about us wanted to use it against me, by the time he saw the look in my eyes that I was not going to tolerate that rubbish from him he just left me and went his way. I still gave his wife and kids money after that before I travelled back to yankee.

Yankee Voltron