The lawyers said the prosecutors only stated in the indictment that Mr Okeke swindled Unatrac, a subsidiary of American equipment manufacturer, Caterpillar, of $11 million dollars and that the F.B.I. should not have gotten involved.
His lawyers further stated that his fundamental human rights were violated when he was forced to open up his mobile devices and the evidences used to indict him were retrieved from there without reading him his Miranda rights to remain silent or get a lawyer before being interrogated.
The lawyers argued citing multiple previous authorities to back their argument.
In their response, the prosecutors asked the judge to dismiss the defence lawyers’ argument, saying Mr Okeke had travelled to the U.S. in the course of the fraud
The prosecutors also said Mr Okeke’s lawyers were wrong to argue that no American companies or individuals were scammed on the basis of the indictment, saying the indictment was only to show probable cause to secure an arrest warrant for Mr Okeke.
They said additional evidence would be introduced in the course of the trial, which may include more victims of American citizenship and residency.
Premium Times
Just imagine the defense an attorney came up with. Pasisi. Eweriso..
ReplyDeleteLike defendant like Lawyer, crooks!!!!
ReplyDeleteHahahahaha nawa o.
ReplyDeleteHis lawyer will help him fast track his jail term with the nonsense up there.
ReplyDeleteIt's like he doesn't know the gravity of is offence. He will be going for a very long time.
Well I like their judiciary system. When I watch judge Judy some cases I think are ridiculous actually win. These people respect fundamental human rights. He may not win but have a lighter sentence if Human Rights violation is established.
ReplyDeleteNice one. An attempt to repatriate him to Naija so he can come and be doing VIP in Nigerian prison
ReplyDeleteIf at all he will even go to prison in Nigeria.
DeleteI guess that’s the plan, but I think if they eventually allow him be repatriated there’ll be agreements to a minimum time he must spend in jail.
DeleteNdi lawyers🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣