Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Interesting 'Must Read' Facts..

Saturday, February 01, 2020

Interesting 'Must Read' Facts..

These are Some Interesting Facts You May Not Have Come Across....

1. There is a town in Jamaica called ABEOKUTA. It was founded by former slaves from present-day Ogun State who were brought to a plantation in that part of Jamaica.

2· The letter 'i' that Apple use (in their products iPhone, iPad, iMac, iPod) stands for "Interactive".

3· Edward James Roye, the fifth President of Liberia, was of Igbo(Nigeria) descent.

4· President Robert Mugabe was Africa’s oldest Head of State and the world’s second oldest Head of State before his death. He was born in 1924.

5· The name, "Nigeria" was coined by Flora Shaw, the wife of Lord Lugard, Nigeria's Governor-General from 1914 to 1919. Nigeria means "Niger Areas."

6· There is a high school in Kingston, Jamaica named "CALABAR" High School, the capital of Cross River State.

7· Queen Elizabeth II is the only person who travels to any country in the world without any visa!

8· Ebun House, located at 85 Odunfa Street, Lagos, )was the first three-story building built in Lagos. It was constructed in 1914.

9· The city of Port Harcourt (capital of Rivers State) was named after Lewis Vernon Harcourt in 1913 by Sir Lord Frederick Lugard. It was originally known as Iguocha.

10· There are 3 things the Human Brain cannot resist noticing – Food, Attractive People and Danger.

11· The CMS Grammar School in Lagos, Nigeria's oldest secondary school in Nigeria. It was founded on June 6, 1859.

12· The first book written in the Igbo language (Isoama-Ibo :A Primer) was written by Bishop Samuel Ajayi Crowther, the renowned Yoruba/Creole bishop and the First Anglican Bishop in Africa.

13· Gatwick Airport in London, which is not that far from Heathrow Airport also in London, England is owned by a Nigerian businessman of Yoruba extraction named Adebayo Ogunlesi.

14· The Naira, Nigeria’s currency, was named by Late Chief Obafemi Jeremiah Awolowo(1909 ~ 1987).

15· Nigerian staple food cassava was brought to West Africa from Brazil by the Portuguese.

16. The first African to graduate from Harvard University in 1956 @ age 21, is Prof. (Amb.) Lawrence Ekpebu(an Ijaw man from Okpoloba, Balyesa State, Nigeria). Through the scholarship he organised with Harvard University, over 200 Nigeria professors including 12 Vice Chancellors had been produced! The 83-year old trail blazer is still alive kicking!

17. The first Nigerian engineer was Late Engineer Herbert Macaulay. Again, he was the first Nigerian to form a political party in 1922. The great Nigerian nationalist died in 1946 as the leader of NCNC.

18. The Official Residence of the President of Barbados, a Caribbean country, very close to Jamaica and Bahamas is called Oronna Court. The name Oronna was used by two Barbadorian Citizens close to a decade in tracing their origin to Ilaro in the present day Ogun state, Nigeria. One was named Odewale and the other was named Aramide Oronna( the German Shepherd man) was one of the heroes/founders of Ilaro town alongside Iya Ala. Oronna is just like the likes of Lisabi and Shodeke in Egba land, Ogedengbe in Ijesa land, Obanta in Ijebu land, Ajagunnla in Ila-Orangun(Igbomina, Oranmiyan in Benin, Oyo and Ile-Ife.

Surprised? Dig Deep into the past more! History will not be kind to us if we fail to transfer these kind of information to this and next generations.

Our youths must know these facts. Unfortunately, History was thrown out of Nigeria school curricular since 1986 ........
#copied

51 comments:

1. No 9 confirms PH as an Igbo city.
    Iguocha = white palm frond

1. Number 16 is a useful human being

He got a way and made way for others

2. Let me dig deep and check my descent, I could be of royal blood

3. These facts are so interesting Stella...........

2. Please those of you in Nigeria, does it mean that Nigerian students do not take history in WAEC exams anymore?
    ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

1. Yes. The non ambitious and myopic northern rulers removed it for flimsy rrasons known to them

2. History has been re-introduced back into secondary school curriculum.

3. I did history in 94/95 when I passed out of secondary school,I think it was phased out in the early 20s and now majority of naija students don't even know what history is all about.such an interesting subject then๐Ÿ˜

4. You will not be taught some of these things in history class. Like the Gatwick one is shocking to me.

3. #7 isn't quite true. The Queen of England is one of (last I checked) three people in the world who don't need a visa to travel anywhere. The other two are the Pope, and the president of the United States.

1. And how about the UK prime minister, does he need a visa to visit Nigeria?

2. It's not true that history was wiped out in 1986, I studied history in the mid nineties in secondary school and was one of the best then.

4. Very interesting facts,I love current affairs,history too
    Studied d Jukun,Nupe and so many other kingdoms in history those days
    I was shocked some years ago when I heard history is no longer in our educational system..Honestly I weep for this country

1. Deliberate dumbing down and keeping ignorant policy

2. #13 is incorrect. Gatwick Airport was purchased by a publicly listed American company whose CEO at the time was Ogunlesi.

3. Fortunately, it's been re-introduced back into the secondary school curricular.

5. Insightful, esp that relating to Gatwick ownership.
    Will read up more on that.

1. I think he bought it in 2015/15. I remb that news

2. He bought it in 2009. The majority stake was bought by another group in 2018.

6. The human brain of this generation is different o. Them forget to add Money join o. I fit dey somewhere all day and I fit no remember say I no chop. I can't not notice I dont have money o. Lol there is any english like that o. Every of my enemy that dont want me to have money this year,God press them down like agege bread.

7. Brilliant! But According to Steve Jobs, the "i" word in "iMac" (and therefore "iPod", "iPhone" and "iPad") stands for internet, individual, instruct, inform, and inspire.

1. Ok ooo, jus add Stella own join.

8. thanks stella for bringing this to one's notice

9. Number 13 is not quite right. Gatwick was bought by GIP in 2009 and the VINCI group then bought a majority stake in 2018.

1. Yinmu.
      What you read up there is a fact.

2. Don, you are showing your ignorance again. Google is your friend.

10. Quite interesting, cassava was brought from Brazil, I know it is more of a staple food in Nigeria than any other country

1. I'm left wondering what our ancestors used to eat when there was no cassava. I find that fact very hard to believe. Do you know all the varieties of food igbos make from cassava? Garri, fufu, Abacha, etc. What were they eating before then?

2. Yam and yam family like cocoyam, water yam etc.

11. AMOTEKUN๐Ÿ‘€1 February 2020 at 14:04

sdk.do u know that the first bv to ever comment on SDK is me.
    find out.

12. Interesting but Lugards own don too much na,why the naming ceremony? We beg you?

1. Hmmmm, the guy was just going upandan naming things.

13. Oh wow! Really interesting facts here

14. History returned to the Nigerian Primary School Curriculum in 2019.

15. Thanks Stella
    It was an interesting read .
    I'm not sure history is still taught in schools .

16. History has been reintroduced into the Nigerian curriculum since last year (if i remember correctly) and I was also taught History in my Primary Education between 1993 - 1998.

17. I thought 5"Flora Shaw" na Lugard's side chic

18. Quiet real money doesn't shout
    Ogunlesi twale

19. Thanks for this Stella... Learnt some new stuff, was reminded of others.

20. Thanks stellalabi for dis info

21. So basically, all my "watagwan, bombomclaut mi no vex ya, cos jah inna mi minda" brothers are actually my bros from the south-west side of Naija. Hmmm.....

1. Okay........ You finally decided to get an id

22. I think history is back to our schools

23. The 'I' in apple products means Internet not Interactive.

24. Stella๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿฝ๐Ÿ‘๐ŸฝLoved this. Good job and thanks for sharing