Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Italian Man Who Entered Lagos With Coronavirus Attempts To Escape Quarantine

Saturday, February 29, 2020

Italian Man Who Entered Lagos With Coronavirus Attempts To Escape Quarantine

The coronavirus patient quarantined at the Infectious Disease Hospital in Yaba, Lagos, attempted to escape from the facility on Friday.

he patient, an Italian, was confirmed to have the virus on Friday morning, three days after he arrived in the country. He flew in from Milan, Italy, into Lagos before heading to Ogun state where he first showed symptoms of the disease.

According to Punchng.com, a health worker at the hospital told the Newspaper that the patient threatened to escape quarantine over the alleged poor state of the medical facility.

“The patient complained about excessive heat and presence of mosquitoes at the hospital,” the health official reportedly said.

“The patient wanted to run away yesterday (Friday). The Italian man, who seems to be an engineer, was very angry that the room where he was kept was very hot. The only thing demarcating the room from other rooms in the ward is a red and white barricade tape. That is where the Italian man that tested positive to coronavirus is kept.

“There is no single equipment inside that place. It is just like any other regular hospital room with a bed. That building you see that is being repainted is the original place meant to quarantine coronavirus patients.

“As you can see, the place is not ready. The state government is just renovating it, despite the fact that the virus started spreading since December 2019. It is really sad that a country like Nigeria is never ready to medically contain infectious disease outbreak.”

51 comments:

1. When I read it I was annoyed. Now I am not. What the man described is police cell not hospital.

Shame on our government

2. Why won't the man attempt to escape when they kept him in a very poor room. Tueeeh on this govt. Shame on the minister of health. He has been singing we're ready since December now the virus is here they're not even prepared for it. May God save the poor Masses.

3. May God help us in Nigeria, we are never proactive.
    How can they put him in such poor living conditions?
    How long does it take to fix or renovate?
    We need to buckle up and do better.

4. Deep down my heart I really wish our politicians would contract this virus and die!!

1. Me six

Seven.

Eight

Nine. and

Ten

2. Me 10, 11 to 100..Our politicians who are so myopic, have refused to learn or ask for guardiance if they don't know what to do but enriching themselves....abeg lemme goan and do laundry b4 I begin to weep again for my country

3. Me 200...facilities to combat the outbreak not ready. Chai!..and the politicians are ordering imported cars for which job?
      Nigeria is too backward and I weep profusely 🙆‍♀️

4. If I had super powers, this is exactly what I would do!
      Starting from Buhari, all of them will hav this Corona virus

5. Politicians are not our problem. We are our own problem until we begin to hold them accountable. No be only to curse and complain. That will never change anything.

5. Nigeria my country.. This is the best time to japa if you have the means.

1. Run to where?
      Naija is blessed,forget that thing!

2. Japa to where? Other countries are have more cases just that they are not in the news. Check the global level now. WHO has increased the level to high risk. Anywhere you are, just stay put.

3. Yes, other countries do have more cases but, are trying to manage this outbreak. Nigeria is not ready since last year.
      Just look at how they are dealing with ONLY one case oooooo,putting the man in a poor situation......

6. The man even has mouth to complain after contact with about 28persons.That man is evil,he deliberately brought this into overpopulated Lagos

1. How would one deliberately say, "corona virus come o I am available" knowing fully well the risk involved. I don't about Italy but if he were from USA, their govt would have sent down plane to take him back.

An APC senator said when he came into the country few days ago he was not checked. You can imagine how many people that might be infected but were not screened at the airport because of bribe.

2. Bribe will not let them see road at the point of entry.

7. I also heard that the Uber driver that carried him to ogun, was tested and the results is positive. Heard, he ran away and requesting a ridiculous amount of money (100 million) else he will spread it.. Imagine, such height of wickedness

8. I don't believe this.....
    Meanwhile,there's no Corona virus here in naija!!!!
    The only deadly virus we have is in Aso.....

1. I'm sorry for you people saying it's a lie. Till it does like Ebola in your face. If you like, dont take precautions to protect you and your children be there talking rubbish

2. Very true @ side chick There's no Corona virus in Naija.
      Maybe Wuhan but not Naija.

9. Meanwhile the budgeted N650m for this

10. Fucked up country! What about his driver and the other people he came in contact with? Nobody is talking about them.

11. Stupid man, who even invited him to Nigeria? You don't want mosquito bite but you brought corona. The country is not ready yet but this idiot is very selfish, so he's running away in order to infect innocent people. As if his life matters more than all the people he will be putting at risk. Idiot, he's not even thankful he's not giving an injection to die by now. We all remember how they protected themselves and even cancelled flights when it was Ebola but they are free to come here now. I'm extremely pissed even though I'm not a Nigerian and not in Nigeria.

1. God bless you Anonymous 11:07. Your comment is the only sensible comment here.

This wicked man shouldn't be allowed to leave that facility. He brought that deadly virus into Nigeria just like that.

I blame our government for not putting the necessary things in place at the airport. No screening whatsoever.

What about the other passengers that were on the plane with him.

Why are there no information about the plane he took, the numbers of people that have come in contact with him...

2. Ms A how is that comment sensible? If the government were that serious, that man won't have gone past the airport checkpoints but instead the securities there are all about the money and even If the man had brought the virus doesn't he deserve good treatments, is that how a quarantine facility should look like or even be

3. Ms A, you live abroad, this your comment and the anonymous own is highly ignorant.

You do know this virus stays in the body for many days without manifesting?

You do know this virus just got to Italy?

Finally, has It even occurred to you for a second this man had no clue he had the virus. Google symptoms of the virus, It is just like having a flu. Pray tell, why he would deliberately want to come and spread it in Nigeria where he himself will not get any decent treatment. Why will he run from Italy that is better equipped and choose Nigeria?

Let us engage our brains, put sentiments aside and be objective when we make comments.

Any government that knows what it is doing now should be prepared and not fold their arms. We already heard about the virus so measures should have been put in place to combat it.

4. Anon 15.06, I join you weak...
      As if the man tested positive to the virus in his country then bought ticket straight to Naija to come and spread it,doesn't make sense.
      Nigeria and blame games is 5 and 6.

5. You all forming informed while you sound really lame and lack compression. With your kind of mentality, need we look further as to why Africa is where it is? That man has no justification what so ever trying to escape. He should have put the many people his actions could put in harms way 1st. He is selfish and wicked and that is totally wrong and annoying.

12. But Minister of health Osagie or what has been singing on NTA that Nigeria is well prepared for the virus. OH Chimoooh....

13. We don't need more virus in nigeria o. We already have the biggest virus, 'coropoliticians' virus! Biko o, Chinko o, come and carry ur virus o😲😢😭😡😫😩

14. Nigeria, my country. We just run our mouth anyhow without doing the needful. God help us.

15. God is in control if you believe.

16. This is beyond annoying. I can imagine the nonsense food they will be feeding the man and will be treating him as if he has Aids.
    Anyways, I blame him for coming to Nigeria in the first place to do business during this critical time.
    I never see the kind life threatening business that will make me travel to a third world country during a worldwide virus outbreak.
    If na office work, make them sack me.

17. UK, Italy and co are already overwhelmed, na naija go come get ready?
    y

18. The man has every right to complain! Do you know how state of the art the hospital facilities in his home country is? His embassy should help move him out else he may die

1. Yes the man will die,if not taken away.
      Poor management will kill him and not the virus.

19. Hmm. I
    And I thought it would be a Chinese that would bring Corona to this country. It is well

20. Nigerians sha, we need to deal with our self-deprecatory attitude. Yes, our government is very reactive and not proactive but read global news and see how much flack even the US is getting for managing coronavirus. Trump still hosted diamond and silk at the White house this week, and stated at his rally that coronovirus is a hoax of the Democrats. Imagine the irresponsibility. They just found two novel cases in Claifornia with unknown origin i.e. no evidence of contact with evacuees from Wuhan or the Diamond cruise ship.
    Many countries are not prepared to contain this virus. Na God go help us o!

Go and watch 93 days on Netflix, maybe you'll appreciate Nigeria better on how they managed the ebola crisis impressively.

Concerning the state of the facility, it is not a 3 star hotel, when you watch 93 days, you'll understand better. It is simply a room with beds. It is not the standard of a first world facility so what was Mr. Italian expecting? This Italian man should have stayed put in his Italy. I want to believe he knew how bad coronavirus has infested Italy, even the Pope had to cancel events due to sickness. So he should not have flown in to Nigeria.
    Did the Liberian man who brought in Ebola know he had ebola? Yet, he wanted to leave the hospital by all means and ended up infecting those doctors and nurses at First Consultants. God bless Dr. Adadevoh, may her soul continue to RIP.

Eveybody should stay put in their country, biko!