Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: LASTMA Official Reportedly Commits Suicide .....

Sunday, February 02, 2020

LASTMA Official Reportedly Commits Suicide .....

An official of the Lagos State Traffic Management Agency, Tope Akinde has taken his own life by hanging himself on a billboard around Salvation bus stop in the Opebi area of Ikeja.

The tragic incident was reportedly triggered when he was redeployed from Alausa to Ikeja which he was displeased with.

The Lagos State Neighbourhood Safety Corps had to step into the situation to disperse the huge crowd who were spectating at his dangling lifeless body and causing heavy gridlock in the area.

The elder brother to the diseased revealed that Tope had mental health issues which the family had been managing before he took his life.

His corpse has since been deposited at IDH hospital, Yaba mortuary by the Lagos State Ambulance Service.
 from Sahara Reporters

20 comments:

1. Most of these uniform officials have mental issues that were never checked or attended to reason for mist if their irrational behaviour

2. So sad.
    I dont think thats the reason he killed himself though,when its not like they redeployed him to north east.
    Ill go for the latter,mental issues coupled with depression.May his soul rest in peace

1. Mummy A ????, if you read the article you will see where the deceased brother said he has a mental illness.

2. @Anonymous 11:43...English so difficult for your apprehension.

3. Na wa o,he had mental health issues and worked with Lastma,OK.Rip brother

1. That is enh. So the govt didn’t check him?? And that’s how he will be harassing commuters

4. God have mercy! May the Lord have mercy on his soul. But how did they employ such a person in the first place?

5. 90% of our security personnels have mental disorder and that is why they behave recklessly most esp NPF.

6. 90% of our security personnels have mental disorder and that is why they behave recklessly most esp NPF.

7. Sad. May his soul rest in peace

8. The majority of Nigerians are very ignorant on mental health matters.

The comments above is proof.

In developed countries, people with mental health diseases in varying degrees lead a very successful life.

The key is in how it is managed. Nigerians stigmatize anything due to ignorance which is why we still have poor management of mental health resulting in devastating yet avoidable cases like this story.

So sad...

9. I pray for great awareness of psychological counselling in Nigeria. Nigeria and Nigerians need psychological healing. simply truth!

10. Mental illnesses are different and not all who are mentally ill cause harm to people. Some have insight and others don't. A mentally Ill person can hold a job and can be stable for years without a relapse once he/she takes his or her medications and doesn't miss his/her appointments with the mental health team that comprises of psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, social workers etc. The ones who lose it are often times (not all the time) the ones who don't keep up with appointments and take their meds. You'd be surprised to know that with proper management, a person with mental health issues are saner and have more insight than those of us who think we are better off. Also, many of those people we see walking around and refer to as"mad" are only mentally Ill (schizophrenic??)and with one dose of the right monthly injection with drugs will get better.

Let's learn to enlighten ourselves and stop stigmatizing people who are mentally ill.

1. They you. Was going to share this information then saw this. 👍👏

2. *thank you.

11. Stella, I appreciate your work but would like you to please, in this case, not cause further harm to the reputation of the deceased or his grieving family.

The excerpt from Sahara reporters
    The brother of the deceased confirmed that he battled mental illness. Thus, I humbly suggest that the title should be that he took his life AFTER he was redeployed and not because.

This article is important in raising awareness about mental and maybe even occupational health and reporting this type of news should be done with sensitivity for the life lost and those left to grieve him. There is more to the article than the shock factor which is why it made your selection. If it can't be changed, please consider this in future posts- unfortunately, there would be more. Thank you and have a great Sunday.

1. Thank you Stella for the changes made to the earlier title. Even better than I suggested. I appreciate it.