Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Africa's Low Coronavirus Spread Puzzles Health Experts

Tuesday, March 03, 2020

Africa's Low Coronavirus Spread Puzzles Health Experts

You remember when it was reported that Chinese doctors confirmed African blood genetic composition resist coronavirus?

Well, whether the rumor is true, or it's a matter of faulty detection, climatic factors or simple fluke, the remarkably low rate of coronavirus infection in African countries, with their fragile health systems continues to puzzle and worry global health experts.

To date, only three cases of infection have been officially recorded in Africa, one in Egypt, one in Algeria and one in Nigeria, with no deaths.

This is a remarkably small number for a continent with nearly 1.3 billion inhabitants, and barely a drop in the ocean of more than 86,000 cases and nearly 3,000 deaths recorded in some 60 countries worldwide

62 comments:

1. But God has chosen the foolish things of the world, that he may put to shame the wise; and God has chosen the weak things of the world, that he may put to shame the strong things

2. May it continue to baffle them. Abeg they should leave Africa alone for now, we already have enough battles to fight.

1. You can say that again.. God understands our limitations oooo

2. May Nigerian never take first in this Corona virus thing in Jesus's name.

3. SDK's biggest fan3 March 2020 at 23:12

Anon 10:03 Amen 🙏🏻

3. Even the one in Nigeria is not a black man. It has to do with how God created our metabolism.

1. Yea, the ones in the other two countries I believe are not blacks too. God knows we have too many problems to tackle with to add more for us.

4. God make it so o. Coronavirus is not our portion in Jesus name.

5. So with our bad leadership and poor healthcare system this people still wish Corona on our continent? So sad. Did Ebola and lassa fever affect them?

Anyway, I personally believe that our immune system is resistant to the virus just the same way malaria rarely kills a black man.

1. Malaria rarely kills a black man?? Are you in this same continent I am?? I'm shook.

2. Ebola didn't come from thin air. It was created in a lab to wipe out africans. Even the hot sun in nigeria won't let corona thrive

3. FYI rarely in this sense means in comparison to a white man. Doesn't the number of people that survive it surpass those that die of malaria? So what are you 'shook' about? The malaria you personally survived would most likely kill a white man because of the immune system.

4. Malaria kills the black man in large numbers more than HIV/AIDS

5. Anon is right, malaria rarely kills a black man unlike the whites. We can get the infection but our systems is built to resist it, that is why we can survive it. It's not the same case with people of other races

6. I believe you people should stop with your fake analysis of malaria rarely killing black people.
      If you dnt know or have the right facts, it's better you shut up than say things online that confirms your ignorance.

thecable.ng published a fact check research on nigeria's case of malaria and with records from W.H.O published in 2019, in the year 2018 alone 266 people died daily from Malaria in nigeria.
      So how does this correlate you claim of "black people rarely die from malaria"?

While I haven't been able to check for that of year 2019, pls let's stop the nonsense talk of malaria rarely kills black people...It is laughable and doesn't make any sense abeg.

LEP😛

6. They should better not come and intentionally infect us with this thing ooo this one they’re wondering

1. They are wondering and worried too... Hain which one is their business Biko

2. Anon I was about to type same. The influx into Africa should just be contained, please.

7. All these white people wish this was a black man’s disease so they can continue to mock us but mbanu, their blood attracts this virus like flies around corpses.
    US that downplayed th woes have recorded 6 deaths and Trump wants to rush the scientists to develop the vaccine in a very short time? Guy man has been told they will follow due process.

We may have the worst health care but when it comes to some kain sickness, our type of bodies and blood truly helps to fight some foreign bodies. If not for Ebola wey finish Liberia due to poverty of their land, I am sure most of them would have survived it with good health care.

Africa and Africans should take this as a challenge and better their lives and styles.

8. Why are they puzzled though.. our biological composition has always been superior. They think it’s easy to suffer and smile..

1. hahahahahaha....your last line made me laugh out loud

9. Na God win for Us o💪👍

10. It is a miracle from God. Heaven knows Africa will not be able to handle it with very fragile health care.

11. This is supposed to be a good news, which one is puzzle again

1. Dont mind them. Wicked people

2. Lol. Puzzle because they are scientists and will want to go to the lab to determine the reasons for the difference in incidence of the coronavirus amongst the racial groups. It's not just good news vs bad news for them. It's a hypothesis that needs to be tested to build evidence. That is how knowledge is discovered, that is what we go to school for..

12. Na God dey do am for us, Jehovah God, thank you Sir!

World pipo remain confused and perplexed.

13. Why are they not puzzled about how we do bot enjoy the same privileges like them or certain basic amenities as well?

with the amount of heat and other bad stuffs happening here, am sure corona virus is not interested in us and so shall it be for every other disease in jesus name amen

14. I dey suspect all these Oyibo people. The big pharma may have a hand in it. I won't be surprised at all if this is all about economic gains. After all, those who manufacture bullets create war situations so that their markets can sell 😕

15. Thank God ooo...this Corona ish should better not affect us. Like how would we even cope?

16. They are all angry that the intended targets for the virus are not highly infected. It will remain with them oh.
    They are waiting anxiously for death records in Africa but they will not see it.
    They should try and visit Africa once in their lives to at least build up their immunities 😂😂😂
    They should also promote inter-racial marriages to get some of our strong blood in them.

17. Can they question God?

1. Lol...They can never can..😁

18. Replies
    1. Preach on mama..😆😆😊

19. I don't know why I still feel this virus was scientifically engineered,..maybe for depopulation or whatever weird reason they have

1. If it were for depopulation they would have made something more virulent and with higher fatality rate. This corona just spreads easily but fatality rate is about 2.3%. Compare that with Ebola or even SARS that belongs in the same family as it.

20. The thing just they pain dem say Africans are not dropping dead like flies.The west generally have a believe that epidemics and strife belongs to Africa so that's y they are puzzled...I wont be surprised they gonna try to export it to us ;just to see..God is great.

21. with all this heat you expect corona to stay anywhere near Africa?. mbanu,.ko le work. And lowkey I think these people are pained that it is not affecting Africa the way they thought. Pride has entered the chat. Small Africa that they used to look down has not been ravaged by the disease yet their advanced healthcare could not match up .

22. I feel the reason we are least affected is because we practice good hygiene. We baff well well. Finally, we are covered with the precious blood of the Jesus.

1. So, all those aboki wey never brush their teeth for the past one week too dey practice good hygiene?

2. Bad as e bad, about go perform ablation five times a day. Even if soap no enter the equation, it still counts

3. Bad as e bad, aboki go perform ablution five times a day. Even if soap no enter the equation, it still counts

23. Coronavirus dey fear us joor.

24. Coronavirus cannot survive in climate weather above 27°c hence they hoping for reduced cases when summer hits off

25. How can we have Corona virus when we already have Bubu virus, Shekau virus, Herdsmen Virus, Fulani virus and co. Coupled with our hot sun,no food, no light, no water, no job, no safety. Our God knows we have more than enough on our plate. Besides, i bet oyibo formed the virus to make money, since they practiced on thier body, our own just waka pass.

1. Na true o. We have so many things we are contending with at the moment. We go dey alright last last

26. God knows we have enough to deal with. You neva see poor women wey no go hospital one day born fine pikin for house without any stress? Na God's grace o.

27. Their worry may be valid though. They may be worried Africa is under reporting the cases. How are we sure it's not spreading within the rural areas and it's being treated as malaria? The symptoms are similar to malaria and the common cold

1. So the rural area people that cannot afford phones, television and radio to know what the virus is about, will have money to buy tickets and fly to China to bring in the virus and starts treating it as malaria? If I say make you go for checkup now nko?

28. I thought a Nigerian footballer already caught the virus in Italy?? Calabar man to be presise but l forgot his name.
    I think it has to do with God, luck and the weather.