Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ghanaian Domestic Worker In Lebanon Found Dead After Crying Out For Help And Begging To Return Home..

Thursday, March 26, 2020

Ghanaian Domestic Worker In Lebanon Found Dead After Crying Out For Help And Begging To Return Home..

On the morning of March 13, Faustina Tay sent a final desperate message to an activist group she had contacted about the abuse she was suffering at the hands of her Lebanese employers.

"God please help me," the 23-year-old Ghanaian domestic worker wrote.

About 18 hours later, she was found dead.

Tay's body was discovered in a car park under her employers' fourth-storey home in Beirut's southern suburbs, between 3 and 4am on March 14.

A forensic doctor who examined her body found that her death was caused by a head injury "as a result of falling from a high place and crashing into a solid body".

The doctor found "no marks of physical assault". A search of Tay's employers' home found no signs of a struggle, and the death was being investigated as a suicide, according to a police report.

Tay sent dozens of texts to her brother in Ghana, pleading for help [Courtesy of Demanya family]

Hussein Dia, whose home Tay had lived and worked in for 10 months at the time of her death, told Al Jazeera he and his family had been sleeping when she died.

Dia said he did not know what had driven the 23-year-old to take her own life, and denied he ever physically assaulted her - "I never laid a hand on her."

But in the week before her death, Tay sent dozens of texts and more than 40 minutes of voice messages to Canada-based activist group, This Is Lebanon, and her brother in Ghana, providing detailed accounts of recurrent physical abuse.

This Is Lebanon names and shames employers accused of maid abuse online in an attempt to resolve issues facing domestic workers on a case-by-case basis.

Human Rights Watch found in a 2010 report that Lebanon's judiciary fails to hold employers accountable for abuses, while security agencies often do not "adequately investigate claims of violence or abuse".

Tay told the group that Dia and Ali Kamal, the owner of the domestic worker's agency that had brought her to Lebanon, had each beaten her twice between January 16 and March 6.

Kamal had beaten her along with one of his employees, Hussein, she said.

In the messages, Tay repeatedly expressed concerns that speaking about her ordeal could lead to more abuse, and the confiscation of her phone, which she said had taken place once before.

She also feared much worse.

"I'm scared. I'm scared; they might kill me," she said, in a chilling voice note to activists.

'Modern-day slavery'

The manner of Tay's death is not uncommon in Lebanon, a country with about 250,000 domestic workers. Two die each week, according to the country's General Security intelligence agency, with many falling from high buildings during botched escape attempts, or in cases that are ruled suicides.

Domestic workers like Tay are employed under the country's notorious kafala system, which ties their legal residence to their employer, making it very difficult for them to end their contracts.

This sponsorship system, which is in place in several Middle Eastern countries, has facilitated a range of abuse, such as non-payment of wages, a lack of rest time and days off, and physical and sexual assault.

Lebanon's former Labour Minister Camille Abousleiman likened the system to "modern-day slavery," and began a process of reform that is still in its early stages.

Women who come to Lebanon for domestic work from a host of Southeast Asian and African countries such as the Philippines, Nepal and Ethiopia are usually looking to support their families back home and eventually return.

Tay's case sheds light on the type of abuse that ends with many returning to their families in coffins.

From Accra to Beirut

A little more than 10 months before her death, Tay had been running a small noodle business in Ghana's capital Accra, with financial help from her brother Joshua Demanya, who works as a driver.

Demanya told Al Jazeera that he had advised his sister against going to Lebanon "because there have been stories of people who go there and suffer so much they run away".

Tay ignored her brother's advice and arrived in Beirut on May 5 to begin working at Dia's apartment, where he lives with his wife, Mona, and their three children.

There, she did not have her own room, instead, she slept on a sofa in the kitchen. She complained that she was overworked, had no days off and was usually only able to get to sleep at 2am and was woken up at 8am.

'I should have stayed'

She quickly regretted her decision to leave Ghana. In November 2019, she texted her brother: "I should have stayed [and] continued with my business."

In January, she told her employers that she could not work for them any more, and asked to be sent back home. They refused - "I paid $2,000, and I said, 'Take it easy on us, we'll let you travel after Ramadan,'" Dia recalled telling her.

That was when Tay said Dia beat her for the first time, on January 16, before taking her to Kamal's agency, where she said Kamal and Hussein beat her.

Both denied the claims when contacted by Al Jazeera. Kamal said his agency, established in 1992, brings roughly 1,000 domestic workers into Lebanon every year. "The state would have closed us a long time ago," if they mistreated domestic workers, he said.

Kamal informed Tay that the only way she would get back home was if she worked two more months with the Dia family, to pay for her ticket back to Ghana.

She agreed.

But when the agreement came due in March, she contacted This Is Lebanon and said Dia was refusing to let her leave. A few days later, on March 10, she said Dia, Kamal and Hussein beat her again.

"My boss beat me mercilessly yesterday [and] dis (sic) morning he took me to the office [and] I was beaten again, this is the second time they beat me up in the office."

Dia said he had taken Tay to the agency with the intent of letting her travel, but received a call two hours later from the agency: "We've worked it out, she'll travel in July."

Demanya said his sister had agreed "out of fear".

'I don't want to die here'

Al Jazeera informed Lebanon's Labour Ministry of Tay's case. An adviser to Labour Minister Lamia Yammine said that the names of Tay's employers had been noted and the ministry would be informed if they applied to be allowed to employ another domestic worker.

She said they would be permanently blacklisted "if it is proven later on that the suicide was caused by abuse".

On March 12, Tay sent a series of pictures to her brother, appearing to show an inflamed hand, a bruise on her forearm and a scratch underneath her eye that she said were caused by the beatings.

She also shared a picture of a bloody tissue that she said was the result of a nosebleed.

Despite the abuse, she described, Tay expressed a strong will to live.

"I'm very, very weak," she said in a voice message, describing pain in her wrist, legs and neck.

"Please, help me. Help me to go back to my country for treatment. Please, I don't want to die here."

from aljazeera news

48 comments:

1. Very sad.
    Meanwhile Africans will be worshipping Lebanese in their own country. Anyone with non-black skin is treated like a god.

1. Very sad indeed........
      Worse still, they are still going there.

2. It's obvious they pushed her down, claiming its suicide. They must have worn gloves, they killed the poor girl.
      Shame on them.

3. This will change. God bless her soul, her death will not be in vain. It will be a wake up call to all Africans worldwide. I hope Africans are alert. Share this comment to every African. Never again see a ghost looking "white" person as superior to you purely because of their appearance. You are more than equal with excellent potentials. Do blame your leaders for making Africa fall short economically but never ever blame your skin color or appearance. Treat these people like the animals they are. Whether you are within Africa or in their country. Never ever ever be submissive to them at the failing of your life and health. And never let them take over your country or communities.

4. Never liked Lebanese. Very shady people pretending to be real and doing genuine business meanwhilly, underneath raw evil crawls. In Nigeria here, they 'own' us and know it. They settle upfront and face their 'business' and they are very shrewd. I don't know why blacks WORSHIP other skin colours, I can't decipher? I only blame African leaders who have refused to do the needful for Africa and Africans to rise up indeed without 'traveling abroad' just to be slaves and fourth class citizens in other people's country.

2. So 😥 😥
    Hope Naija girls are reading this. Once they hear abroad, they will be trembling like akwukwu😒😒😒

1. Lolzzz...

But it's true our ladies no dey hear word.

3. Elizabeth Bathory26 March 2020 at 16:36

It's unfortunate she was unable to get help. She should have stayed in Ghana.

1. LEBANON FOLLOW FOR ABROAD??? ...mtcheeeeeew

2. One of my ex friends marriage a Lebanese. I wonder d attraction, Nigerian Xtian to a White Muslim, worst of she relocated to join him and family. I pray she is well because those guys r Racist

3. @ImageScale💞 Lenanese are not white people AT ALL AT ALL

5. I think she was pushed down from the storey building...

6. Even with this sad news, many are still planning to go there. Too bad

7. @anonymous 16:33 ,I wonder why it is like that. Why do blacks stoop so low. Why do people still go to such places after hearing other people's ordeal. One thing is cerytain, lebaneese people are wicked. May her soul rest in peace.....amen.

8. Lebanese are the worst to have as employers, especially if you're from Africa.
    Lebanese are not only physically abusive, they will abuse you verbally, emotionally, sexually and otherwise... they overwork their domestic staff, lie on them (accuse them of stealing) and all manner of injustice.
    Lebanese are very dirty and wicked people and i do not wish to have anything to do do with them, not after a very unpleasant first encounter.

9. It's still happening,had a cousin who just came back from Egypt,her mother had to go into fasting and prayers before her passport could be released, she came back with nothing, she was taken to the hospital from the airport.its real.

10. And someone somewhere will still see this and continue their plans of going over there. Believing their case would be different. Smh...

1. That's the stupid talk, " it can't happen to me, my case will be different"
      Later, they start ending voice mail and video.
      Stay here, you can make it here too.

11. Stay in your country they will not listen. Arab are the worst racist in the world. No human right in their dictionary. They treat black like animals. May God rest her soul and punish her murderer.

1. My Muslim room mate in USA had contact with Arab Muslim and was dazed at how he was treated badly by the Arab "brother". He now looks for mosques to worship where there are predominantly black Americans . I laugh am tire as him eye open. Brother indeed

12. And the stupid boss claimed it's suicide? I'm so sad reading this, why didn't they help her out all these while before it got to this stage? Wicked people everywhere

13. All these Arabian Countries are the worst nations one would go to serve as a house help or any other low jobs..They have no value for a black man's life..they will treat you like some piece of shit..They are so wicked and dangerous..Trust me that girl didn't commit any Suicide. They threw her from that building..They'd rather kill her than set her free..How wicked can one be?Rather remain a maid in Africa than serve as a maid to all these wild animals in human form.Rip to you..So sad a life was cut short this way.

14. Depression which lead to suicide. Many of these Lebanese employers are inhuman though.

1. Nah, this isn't suicide. They killed the poor girl.

15. This is a sad story, so many Nigerians are in this situation out there and so many more want to go and join them there.
    Most of these Arab countries and barbaric and those going there to work know about this before leaving here.
    Stop going to Arab world to work please. This is going to those that are planning to embark on this dangerous journey.

16. She even had a business in Ghana. I wish they had released her from that prison they call home. Rest In Peace Tay. If spirits torment people, could you please torment all three of them that beat and killed you?? Could you add the wife too?? That way, your death will not be in vain and they will never treat anyone else that way.

1. I would prefer eat dust and drink my spit in my own country than go to one of these places for anything. Their hearts are too black for my liking. Satan's own tribe on Earth those ppl.

17. They don't even treat their fellow country men well. Is it the blacks they will treat well?

18. How can someone who feared foher life and despite series of tortured struggled to stay alive. In her message she said " i dont want to die here...Suddenly she commits suicide???? I smell a very big rat

19. You can’t do housegirl in your own country but go abroad to become a slave. African countries are shit hole abi! With the daily chants of leave and never return to the shit hole countries. African countries are one of the best places to live. We are generally kind hearted people. But you see those ones from North Africa up. Shithole people living in a mirage. RIP to her!

1. Anon 19.44 na real wa oooo. A woman that was selling akara in my area hit hard times and was always asking my hubby for money. One day my hubby connected her hubby to a neighbour that needed gardening for a fee over time and she got angry telling people we got a demeaning job for her hubby. Na so we face our front since then leave them and stopped giving them money. I am sure her hubby will be a gardener happily in Lebanon instead.

20. How many Ghanaian/Nigerian Billionaires Are made from Lebanon ? None how many Lebanese Billionaires made from Ghana/NIGERIA? Hundreds of not thousands

1. If you deport them back to Lebanon from Naija dem go die oooo

2. Like the Chigouri Brothers (may not have gotten the spelling right ) who made billions when Abacha was Head of State. Obasanjo came in and gave them the boot back to Lebanon. Those mofos hung out in Ghanan till Yar Adua was elected and sealed themselves back to naija with their selfish northern connections . ...and I wonder why they cant LIVE in Lebanon as Lebanese

3. @ Anon 21:48

That was why Obj had that issue with Tinubu. Tinubu was working with the Lebanese and protecting them so obj froze the funds for Lagos state.

4. Who owns Eko Atlantic project??? No be those Lebanese 'C' brothers? in partnership with ??? These people come here, thrive and build generational businesses on our own soil while local business struggle to survive and hardly makes 50 years in business.

21. Oh dear, we always think the grass is always greener on the other side.
    What a horrible way to die, they obviously killed her.
    What a pity.
    Rest in peace Tay,such much bad news around.

22. I can't feel sad for her. Repeated warnings about Middle East goats and they keep going. Someone will read this news and say "not my portion" and sell herself to sexual and physical slavery to the Arabians of all people. Not my cup of tea anymore. If you waka, anything u see, no come disturn our peace.

23. These ppl can never tell me anything. They all act morally superior, but they are the devils in disguise with their hairy backs and women with hairy chests. Looking down on black ppl when they are covered in hair like a wild beast. All African nations should band together and stop allowing their citizens to go to these places to do domestic work.

24. Clearly they killed her,read the whole story and i had chills may her soul rest in peace so painful.

1. And will Get Away With The Murder as always.

25. They will never know peace for killing her. RIP

26. all this middle east country did not have human right such are lebanon, iran, syria, oman, iraq, even dubai and many others like Indonesia, thailand and some other ones