Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Omugwo Chronicles 61

Thursday, March 19, 2020

Omugwo Chronicles 61

The best Omugwo is the one you do by yourself........

Hi Stella,

After 13 hours of labor pains, I gave birth to a beautiful baby girl in August. As soon as I saw her face, all the pain subsided. On to my omugwo. We had planned for my mom to come two weeks after I had given birth to help me for about two weeks.

I wanted time for hubby and I to bond with our baby before visitors showed up to our house. I delivered at 42 weeks and by then my mom needed to go in for a minor but serious surgery. She still wanted to come and help out, but how? I also gave my husband’s mother an open invitation to come and help during the postpartum period. She refused for reasons that she knows best. So, it was just hubby and I taking care of our new baby.

Thankfully I am one of four girls, and I have taken care of my nieces, nephews, and cousins before I got married. I wasn’t worried. I had prepped a couple weeks’ worth of food and put it in the freezer once I found out that my mother wouldn’t be able to come. I had so much food ready. Also, my husband was a real MVP. After I gave birth, I didn’t have to lift a finger in the house. He served me all of my meals, cleaned, and made sure that my water bottle stayed full (super important for a breastfeeding mom). 

I was able to bathe my baby from the very beginning and take really good care of her. I was really proud of us as first-time parents. My friends couldn’t believe how well we were doing with no help. I would have loved to have my mom there for sentimental reasons, but hubby and I managed well. It did get really lonely when hubby went back to work less than a week after I delivered, but bills must be paid. My mother and hubby’s mom came to visit when the baby was 3 months old and by then I was a pro with my baby lol.

I had the same fears of any first-time mom, wondering if I was doing things “right”, but God dey. Motherhood is an amazing experience. Children are truly a blessing. Baby dust to all those waiting for a miracle.

*In essence ,you did your own Omugwo like i did...beautiful experience and the one that scared me most was bathing the baby,it was horror for me everyday...Tiny baby oh and in each bath i put small Olive oil and milk......it was slippery cos i always put too much....na wah

Congrats 

30 comments:

1. Congratulations to you and your hubby.baby dust to all in the waiting room

2. Why did you use olive oil and milk? What does it do to the baby?

3. Congratulations Dear.

4. Stella why put olive oil and milk to bath? Please explain..Congratulations Momma!!

5. Congrats. Strong mama. Im happy for you. Its not easy

6. hehehe who send you to put too much Stella..poster you tried. Didn't women around come to help you out? with their numerous methodologies do like this do like that. I have to start learning how to bath a baby now o

7. I pray God gives my sister a baby o,after almost 13years of marriage and how many failed iVfs,most times I see tiredness in her eyes,but she tries to be strong so we don’t notice,God do this one for us pls my mum is tired of praying and fasting

1. A resounding Amen to your prayer. Please as a family don;t get tired oh! fast and pray so much on your sister's case like a relay race. Keep passing the baton until God answers. Your sister does not even have to know. You will come back and testify.

2. Chai,God please answer this player pls as you did for my sister last month so they can testify the goodness of the Lord,amen

3. May God grant her the desires of her heart in JESUS mighty name.

4. Dear God as you did it for me after six years of waiting and weeping and two failed ivf, please my miracle working God do it for vahleree's sister and other women waiting for your blessings in Jesus name Amen.

5. God will do it for her. I understand her pain.

8. Stella, can you kindly tell us why you added olive oil and milk to the bath water then

9. Congratulations dear, you really try

10. your omugwi story sounds sweet, i like it congratulations poster.

11. Congratulations to you. God bless the new born..

12. I'm the poster. It was a really special time. I like calm around me and I like to be prepared as much as possible. If no one can come for omugwo prepare yourself. Cook meals in advance if possible. Get advice on how to bathe the baby. I really don't know why ppl make a big deal about bathing a baby. Just take your time, ensure water temp isn't too hot or cold, and enjoy the experience.

1. Your advice is good but remember, you can't compare your experience with others.

2. Well its a big deal to those who birth via CS. None

3. You ladies are right. Everyone has a different experience and needs different support. Because I found it easy doesn't mean others will.

4. I'm sure most people abroad can relate with you. I thank God 🙌🏾

13. I did my omugwo myself even though I had my son via CS. People kept hailing me but deep inside, I needed help cos I was so stressed out and oga was not helping financially, so I had to think of money and also think of the baby. It was a trying time for us but here we are today, he's all grown and has everything money can buy and I'm all healed up and forming omoge everywhere. Baby dust to everyone waiting to have this beautiful experience.