Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The Adventures Of Oko Ashawo The Uber Driver - 9

Tuesday, March 24, 2020

The Adventures Of Oko Ashawo The Uber Driver - 9

Working at nights comes with special benefits and risks ........

The roads are generally freer and there are lesser drivers to contend with. These risks are not only limited to the cab drivers. The runs girls are also highly susceptible to these dangers as well.

When I started this cab business years ago, I preferred working at nights because I made more money then. Residences, hotels and clubs were the major places I picked my clients from.

One night, I had just dropped a client off at a hotel and was on my way to reposition at a club nearby for more trips. It was past midnight already and the roads were clear and quiet. I put off my AC to enjoy the fresh air while I listened to music as I drove.

On the way, I heard faint screams from a lady and as I kept driving, I could tell the direction it was coming from. I put off the music and drove towards where the screaming was emanating from. Alas, it was a lady that was being dragged into an uncompleted building by 2 guys. I slowed down, turned the car to face them directly and put the headlights on full beam. Those guys quickly took to their heels and I also noticed that one of them was naked with only his shirt on.

With the car still on and the full beam of light stationed on the guys as they were running away, I asked the girl to quickly get into the car so that I could drive her away to safety. She was visible shaken and ruffled. Her dress was torn and she had no shoes on. As she came in, I drove quickly from there into the main road and the girl thanked me profusely for coming to her aid. She then told me that I should help her pursue those guys to recover her snatched bag and phone. I told her straight away that wasn't going to happen as I had taken enough risks already by coming to her rescue.

She cried in the car and continued begging me to help her. She said all her contacts were in the phone and couldn't afford to lose it. I got angry and told her that if she continued asking me for that kind of favour, I'll just drop her on the road and drive off since her phone seemed to be more important than her life. I told her also that she should be grateful to God that help came her way very timely.

She calmed a bit but still sulked over her stolen phone. I then asked her to tell me what really happened and how she was in that vulnerable place so late all alone.

She now narrated how a guy picked her up from the club after bargaining to go with him for the night. Unfortunately, an argument ensued along the way and the guy angrily asked her to come down from his car. The guy had said they'll be going to the hotel where he lodged only to tell her later as they were on the way that it's actually his residence they'll go to. She said she didn't feel comfortable or safe about it and the guy angrily dragged her out of his car. She then called her cab man to come pick her from that point. It was in the process of waiting for her cab man that the hoodlums attacked her.

I felt for her as she narrated her ordeal. We got to the club shortly afterwards and I dropped her there. She asked for my number and I wrote it on a piece of paper. She promised to keep in touch and thanked me for my help. That was how Juliet became my regular client.

Juliet needed my services especially Friday and Saturday nights. She called me regularly and we got a bit close. We talked from time to time and she often invited me over to her place for lunch or dinner. I kept declining until I finally gave in one day.

She told me she had gone shopping and made a special meal and wanted me to join her for dinner. I just wanted to please her and promised to make it. When I got to her apartment that evening, she was so excited and said she didn't know I would make it since I had always failed in the past. She jumped on me, gave me a tight hug and asked me to make myself comfortable in her sparsely furnished apartment.

She put on the TV, brought out some movies and told me to select the one I wanted. I chose a musical video instead because all I thought about was leaving there on time to continue with my work. She served me white rice and chicken stew. It was quite delicious and I commended her cooking prowess.

As I made to leave after the meal, she begged me to stay a with her a little bit so that we could gist. She sat beside me and placed her hand on my chest, caressing it and telling me how I'm a nice guy, how she likes me and how I've been good to her. She reminded me of the night I saved her and said she would never forget that gesture.

I knew where all these were headed but I couldn't find myself dating he; not even any of my clients. I was tempted that night and before I knew it, I held her and touched her gently on her boobs. We smooched each other for a little bit and I was already in the mood to get laid. At the back of my mind, I knew I was falling and just couldn't help myself.

All of a sudden, there was a loud knock on the door. I quickly adjusted myself, sat on the couch while she went for the door. Lo and behold, a guy barged in. He looked at me sternly, asked who I was and what I was doing in Juliet's apartment.

As they argued, I excused myself and left. Juliet promised to call me later to explain things to me. A lot of things ran through my mind as I left her place. I couldn't imagine myself in a position where I'd have to fight with another man over a girl...

She called me later and said the guy is her ex boyfriend who has been trying to come back to her life but she's not interested because of his abusive tendencies. She also later discovered that her neighbour tipped her ex boyfriend about the presence of another guy in her apartment.

I avoided entering Juliet's apartment since then even though I still picked her up when she went out from time to time. She assured me everything was fine but I wouldn't add that to one of the risks that I encounter in the course of my job.

42 comments:

1. Yaah... One of my favourite columns is out. Let me go and read 😌

2. i am waiting for the day you will sleep with one of your regular client #shinesteeth

1. Me too 😝

Very interesting write-up. I was picturing the whole scenarios. When is the next episode? Saturday? I hope it'll be about how you finally gbenshed😁😁😁😁

2. Bad children like us.. You are not alone.
      Come oga driver, you cannot tell me you have never done the do with any of them before.

3. thank God for ur life cuz its so risky at that point of u trying to rescue her from those idiot cuz if they had guns on them,,oga,,na gone so soon be that ooo

4. Oko Ashawo you are very creative. I like your column.

5. which dey you go enter express? e no get when you dey fall finish 🙄.

1. Hehehehe the guy an correct guy aswear....

2. 🙆‍♂️🙆‍♂️ you want make him enter Express,this oko ashawo is very careful and I like it.
      I love this column Stella.

3. @ Ned If he enter express and motor jam am, he no go fit write for us again nah. Make he dey careful for express abeg😝

4. 😄😄😄😄😄😄😄,motor no go jam him inside express,because the express na VIP standard,only him and the nwa baby,Oko Ashawo keep dodging,one day e go be.

6. There's no job that does not come with its own risks but there are some that are avoidable like fighting over a girl 😷

7. This isn't the time for this. We have more pressing issues to deal with other than ashawo stories

1. You for jump am pass nah. Na by force to read every story you see for blog? 🙄

2. This isn't time for this but you took your time to read mstchewww

3. 😂😂but you read it !!!
      Well we need the humor ,
      We cannot live in panic forever.

4. Are you minding him?😅

8. These stories are beginning to follow the same trend...

9. Most Naija girls value their phones more than their lives
    and even that of everybody in the families o 😮😮😮
    That is where all the people that buy their forks have their phone numbers stored.
    That is what they do all nights and day pressing and displaying.
    And this Oko ashawo is always putting himself inside temptation.
    When you visited Juilet's house, were you hoping to do a prayer vigil?
    Okwa ajuju o. 🤷🏻‍♀️🤷🏻‍♀️

10. Lolzz you be real Oko Ashewo!! Thank God you no sleep with her..Your case for be egungun..

11. When will you tell us the one you gbensh? Your stories are beginning to sound fabricated.

1. So, his stories will not sound fabricated if he tells the one in which he gbenshed?
      Why not say you want gbenshi gbenshi stories 😁😁😁😁😁

12. In this era when everything is backed up is when someone wants to risk two lives for a phone that can be replaced .
    Be careful so you don't fall into temptation cos you're just an inch away from it that's if you haven't fallen o lol.
    I've one that tells me about all his sexcapades with his clients, i was marvelled .

1. Please, share🤭

2. 😂😂you want my anon to scold me that I've an experience for everything?😂😂😂😂

13. I'm at work. How I love Oko Ashewo's chronicles. I have this surge of excitement when I it on Stella's topics..

14. Waiting for the day you go surely do the do. I dey wait

15. am also eager to read from oko asewo

16. Na real oko asewo you be😀😀😀😀😀 I hope you won't fall yakata ond of these days.

17. Now my favorite column on SDK

18. Your stories are always so interesting

19. You for wait make them beat you 😜

20. I think this type of column was inside hint magazine back in the days

21. If you don't like this column or feel it's fabricated, or feel it's beginning to follow a particular direction, pls jejely carry yourself and jump am pass. Oko ashawo, we love your column and I believe you because I know a close friend who is a cab driver. Night time is the best to work for the reasons you gave up there and who are the people that go out most at night if not club people and ashi?