Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Wole Soyinka Says Buhari Has No Right To Lock Down Abuja, Lagos And Ogun States

Tuesday, March 31, 2020

Wole Soyinka Says Buhari Has No Right To Lock Down Abuja, Lagos And Ogun States

Nobel laureate, Wole Soyinka has taken on the Federal Government over the lockdown on Lagos, Ogun and Abuja, describing the action as illegal.

President Muhammadu Buhari during a broadcast on Sunday, announced the measure to contain the spread of the Coronavirus but Soyinka, who is a professor of literature, in a statement said that the president lacks the power to unilaterally lockdown a state since there was no war or emergency that could warrant that curfew be placed on the affected states.

In a statement titled: Between COVID and Constitutional Encroachment,” Soyinka argued that what the president and his aide should have done was to device measures that can further assist in containment of the virus in Nigeria.
Soyinka urged constitutional lawyers and members of the legislative houses to step into the issue, educate everyone and prevent any lockdown in the three cities.

“The worst development I can conceive of us is to have a situation where rational measures for the containment of the Corona pandemic are rejected on account of their questionable genesis.

This is a time for Unity of Purpose, not nitpicking dissensions. So, before this becomes a habit, a question: does President Buhari have the powers to close down state borders? We want clear answers. We are not in a war emergency.
“Appropriately focussed on measures for the saving lives, and committed to making sacrifices for the preservation of our communities, we should nonetheless remain alert to any encroachment on constitutionally demarcated powers. We need to exercise collective vigilance, and not compromise the future by submitting to interventions that are not backed by law and constitution,” he said.

From Business Day

*What is this one saying?Please Sir go and write Literature books and leave this matter.you must not have a say in every issue....

28 comments:

1. You should go and sleep sit because you do not know what you are saying.

1. Why do you not understand creative criticism,
      Prof is only contributing, ....

2. daddy yoo,,pls step aside sir cuz,this is politocs and not literature

3. What is he saying nitori olorun? Is it that he is deaf or blind to all that is happening around the world. Baba pls take Stella's several seats abeg

4. The national assembly must accept before it's enforcement though

5. I don't get it, so until papa Soyinka start seeing figures like " 1000 dead in Lagos alone" before he realise that govt need to be proactive.

Abeg, stick to reviewing literature sir, I mean no disrespect. 🙄

6. Without total lockdown this Wuhan Coronavirus can't be contained!
    The more people move around and gather in large groups, the more the virus will spread.

Nigeria is not prepared. Even western countries are not prepared either.
    Lockdown is the best step the government can take to contain this deadly apocalyptic virus.

Ms.A

7. The lock down became so necessary and I won't fault the government over it. My only worries is that, what are the measures put in place to alleviate the sufferings this lock down will create? I heard electricity tartifs increased in Abuja with over 75%. This is so wrong and wicked at this time of crisis.

8. A president in times of serious situation is expected to take critical decision . So what is this issue of the President not having right.

9. Stella this one ke to my prof?? Take your time o or I will change it for you.

1. Are you minding Stella? Someone I would give something precious to have a one on one with.

On this one my darling Prof. you got it wrong. This is about the only way. Yes no necessary measure to alleviate people's suffering before the lockdown but it is needed at this point. Week 1 we will be fine, I don't know about week two but we won't die at least not from the virus.

10. "This is a time for Unity of Purpose, not nitpicking dissensions"...Really Prof, really, not sure you read you own article, who is doing the "nitpicking here". Does it matter who orders the closure of the cities now and by what mwans. These are unprecedented times, where quick action is the ONLY way to contain this deadly and unprovoked war and you are arguing "consitutional rights".

Sir, you are completely wrong here. Not you have read about what is happening in Italy, New York and Spain on a daily basis. You know, COVID-19 affects the elderly a little more differently, my advice Prof, be smart, isolate yourself and be safe. When this is contained and eradicated, then argue the legality of the constutional power of the President later.

11. Anything goes in this country. So because you’re prof in literature means u know werin u they talk abi? U better go and sidon somewhere before I transfer the anger of postponement of my wedding on ur head. Old fools we have as leaders. They don’t know the right time to yarn their rubbish. Mtchww.

1. 😘😘just be safe
      It's all for a better good , don't feel so bad

Cheer up .

2. You are a young fool for calling him an old fool.

3. You will have a wedding, have children. One day if your child calls a man this old fool, what would you say to that child? Smh.

4. Anonymous 14:36 sense is far from u. Is this the right time to challenge a lockdown order? You’re part of the problem we have in this country. U all and the prof should be quarantined. Ode like u. People with myopic brain

5. Chocolat Noir. Thanks jare. Stay safe, God bless.

6. You still came back here to show case your stupidity.
      FYI, I do not agree with him but how dare you call him a fool? Can you open your mouth and call your father a fool? You lack home training and you are pathetic.

12. You dont understand sir . This is a matter of life and death

13. Prof, this matter pass you. Just leave it.

14. The message is lost on most of you. He didn't imply not to lockdown.

The President should have passed it through the NASS for approval within the time it took him to shut down the international borders and address Nigerians on Covid-19.

NASS would have quickly approved because they know the pandemic is ravaging the world.

The President have advisers and should know not to breach the constitution and set a bad precedent.

Nigeria is a country that likes to copy. COPY WELL.

1. Please which NASS, that has shutdown even weeks before the numbers became 5. They are scared of their properties, you feel they care. Let's be realist in our conversation on you no they this country since February

15. he is quite right. we are not a banana republic. if we let him do this today,tomorrow he ll do it again for a rubbish reason.
    He has since done the right thing,stella how market?

16. Huh? What is this wan saying?

17. Prof please this is not a make belief story going on sir. The president has taken a step in the right direction. We are trusting God for the rest. Even literature will not help you if covid comes knocking