Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: In Defence Of Mallam Abba Kyari Now That He Is Dead...

Monday, April 20, 2020

In Defence Of Mallam Abba Kyari Now That He Is Dead...

This is a must read....

''They said he was Nigeria’s biggest problem. He was to blame for everything that was not going well in the country. Now that Kyari is dead, I am anxiously waiting for all Nigeria’s problems to be solved finally. It would be a thing of joy.''

NOW THAT ABBA KYARI IS DEAD

On January 18, 2020, when I first read of the new coronavirus on the BBC website, my heart missed a beat because of what China means to the world. The headline was: “New virus in China ‘will have infected hundreds’.” And these were the opening paragraphs: “The number of people already infected by the mystery virus emerging in China is far greater than official figures suggest, scientists have told the BBC. There have been more than 60 confirmed cases of the new coronavirus, but UK experts estimate a figure nearer 1,700. Two people are known to have died from the respiratory illness, which appeared in Wuhan city in December.” I feared for Nigeria in particular.

After reading the story, I immediately sent a link to Mallam Abba Kyari, chief of staff to President Muhammadu Buhari, with the note: “Good afternoon Mallam. We need to watch it.” How on earth would I have known that exactly three months later, Kyari would be gone, consumed by the same virus? At the time, as the BBC reported, there were only two deaths from the coronavirus disease in the world — and both were in Wuhan. It had not been declared a pandemic by WHO. No other country had recorded any case. It looked so distant that I was even asking myself: “What do you want the chief of staff to do about it?” The whole experience now looks surreal to me.

We regularly exchanged chats and compared notes as the virus began to cause more concern across the world. Shortly after Nigeria recorded its index case — an Italian — on February 27, he finally began to express his worries to me. Let me reproduce his chat in whole: “How many intensive care units do we have ready to admit acute cases? How quickly can we increase the numbers if the virus spreads? How many nurses do we have to deploy immediately and how quickly can we increase the numbers? How many ventilators do we have and how many should we ideally have and how quickly can we increase the numbers?” He said these were his own concerns.

Along the line, Buhari directed Kyari to lead a government delegation to Germany to discuss with Siemens about power infrastructure in Nigeria. The discussions were on how to improve the national grid, which is one of the biggest problems of the power sector. They also discussed building additional plants to improve generation. After the discussions in Germany, he travelled back to Nigeria via the UK. On the weekend of March 21, he was involved in a series of meetings on measures to manage the COVID-19 outbreak.

He was said to have coughed frequently, leading to suggestions that he should run a test since he just returned from Europe.

For the record, the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) had not officially classified Germany and UK as red zones requiring self-isolation as at the time he returned to the country. He was in Germany and the UK from March 8 to 12, and arrived Abuja on March 13. NCDC designated Germany as “high risk” on March 16 and added the UK to the list on March 17. When the result of his test came out on Monday, March 23, he sent me a message that he had tested positive and was going on self-isolation immediately. I was shattered, shattered because I knew he had an underlying medical condition, but hopeful because his symptoms looked mild: just the cough.

While he was on self-isolation, we had regular phone calls. I normally would call him on WhatsApp voice but he would switch to video and I knew why: he wanted to prove to me that his life was not in danger. He knew I was really worried for him. Rumour was all over the internet that he was on a ventilator, that he was at Gwagwalada Hospital, that he had been flown to the UK or Cuba. Ironically, he was not bothered about the rumours. He did not sound bitter. He was even forwarding them to me and we would share a laugh. He said he was more interested in the goodwill messages he was getting. We still don’t know if he caught the virus in Germany, UK, on a flight or in Nigeria.

On March 29, something happened that got me worried again: he was not picking his calls. I later understood that the cough had worsened and he could not use the regular syrups because they contain sugar. That made his treatment more complicated. He later sent me a message that he was coming to Lagos for further checks and observation, and that the cough was not getting better. That was the last time we exchanged messages or made contact. As soon as he got to Lagos, all messages to his phone went unread. I had to rely on family members and friends to get updates and the impression I got was that he was getting better but the recovery was slow.

In the meantime, he was getting bashed all over the internet. His “death” or “removal” was regularly announced on Twitter or Instagram. But I was assured that, indeed, he was getting better with “encouraging signs”. As of 5pm on Friday, the message I got was that he was “much better” but the doctors were being “cautious”. A few hours later, Femi Adesina, presidential spokesman, tweeted that Kyari had passed away. It was most devastating. What began with mild to moderate symptoms had gone out of hand. I understand that COVID-19 kills many patients that way: when you think it is all over, like it’s one step away from the worst, there comes a sudden lethal blow.

Some people have been rejoicing since Kyari tested positive for the virus. The gloating has been massive. Some are not even satisfied that he is dead. They wish they could kill the dead body as well and desecrate his grave. They are all over the social media denigrating the dead. They have their reasons, I believe. I know for sure that the mortal hatred for Buhari was extended to him, so even in death they can’t leave him alone. They said he was Nigeria’s biggest problem. He was to blame for everything that was not going well in the country. Now that Kyari is dead, I am anxiously waiting for all Nigeria’s problems to be solved finally. It would be a thing of joy.

Some said they hated Kyari because he was the one responsible for the relegation of Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo in the power structure. Now that Kyari is dead, let us see what happens next. Some people told me Kyari is a “usurper” — that nobody voted for him yet he was the one “running” Nigeria. Maj Gen Babagana Monguno (rtd), the national security adviser, wrote a stinging memo last year accusing Kyari of overriding presidential powers and preventing him from buying arms and ammunition for the military. Now that Kyari is dead, let us see what happens next. My understanding of power is that you can only be as powerful as the president wants you to be.

My biggest disappointment with Kyari is that he refused to tell his story. When he was accused of taking a bribe from MTN, he explained to me how he opposed the reduction of the $5.2 billion fine, how he was excluded from the resolution committee because of his stand, and how some people met in Dubai and drafted a position paper that formed 80 percent of the final settlement agreement. He said he didn’t know if anybody took bribe, but he was not part of it and his conscience was clear to God. So why not grant an interview to clear your name? His reply: “My boss knows I will never betray his trust. I don’t need to defend myself.” And there is no counter narrative till today.

Anytime a serious allegation, especially of corruption, was levelled against him, I would put him on the spot. He would explain every detail and tell me who was behind the allegation and why they were after him. I would say: “Okay, Mallam, can we publish?” In the most frustrating manner, he would reply: “No. I’m only explaining this for you to know the correct facts. I’m not asking you to defend me. But even if you want to defend me during arguments or discussions, I want you to do it on the basis of facts, not emotions.” I once told him in despair: “It is not about you alone, Mallam! I worry about the stigma your children will carry for life.” He could not be bothered.

Clearly, there was a well-oiled campaign against him basically because of the allegation that he “usurped” power. On his own, at times, he would forward links to the damaging stories to me. “Simon,” he would say, “don’t forget that I was once an editor. There is a difference between investigative journalism and planted stories. These are planted stories.” The narration of everything that went wrong in Buhari’s government was constructed to put the blame at Kyari’s doorstep. He was definitely not a saint but I know that when one person is being blamed for every wrong, there is certainly an orchestrated agenda at play. I have been a journalist for 27 years of my life.

I knew Kyari closely for 10 years. He was a simple man, deeply intellectual and not one to run away from enforcing the rules. We argued frequently, particularly on economic policy which was his major area of interest. He regularly bought me books on economics and sociology. He often invited me for lunch or dinner anytime he was in London and all we discussed was Nigeria and the development challenge. 

He was very passionate about infrastructure and industrialisation. But he always kept quiet on damaging media reports against him. Maybe that is what chiefs of staff do: take the bullets for their bosses and go to their graves with all the secrets. Adieu, Mallam.

By Simon Kolawole

82 comments:

1. NwamgbotoOwerre20 April 2020 at 10:09

Was it also out of goodwill that he imposed Hope Uzodinma on Imo state🀷🏽‍♀️

1. Wen pple c truth and turn blind eye because of money πŸ‘†.

2. Nwamgboto ibem a hekeee!

NDA hope has proposed INSU be named after him

2. May his soul rest in peace and may God grant his family the fortitude to bear the loss

I couldn't understand the jubilation. By Gods grace I was alive when Abacha died, after all the jubilation, where are we today? Going forward or backwards?

We have to realise, that the war is against the system, not against an individual. If an individual goes, another will replace them, and the cycle continues.

1. I didn't even jubilate when Sanni Abacha died. Abacha took some very good actions that favoured Nigeria and Nigerians. Actions that made the western world respected the country.

What has democracy given us today?
      Democracy is equals to corruption without revolution.

2. you are very correct about the systemic issues... until this nation starts to raise strong systems and institutions instead of strong men, we may keep going down this endless rabbit hole

3. I watched the finance minister talk about their friendship of 43 years the other day on Channels. It was touching..

A lot of people ve something to say about him but most are just from hearsay.. Until you've had a personal encounter with him, you'll just be inheriting other people's enemy. His position as the CoS you'll definetely step on toes and everyone must not like you. Most high ranked leadership positions re like that. Some decisiΓ³n are harsh ahd you need to be firm. I didn't like the way he died, buried and how he spent his last days. He deserves better.

1. Nigerians deserve better. All the emotional tantrums from you is not needed. The writer alluded to the cerebra and intellectual nature of Abba Kyari saying he was not swayed by emotional outcry and decisions. So move it and stop crying more than the bereaved.

Lovelace.

2. Foreign Affairs Minister not finance.

3. Even Adolf Hitler had people who said nice things about him.
      Let people do whatever makes them happy, if they took better precautions we will not have been here.
      If they dint run the county like they were the owners, we will not be here.

4. All this is not Nigeria's problem abeg. Im indifferent abt the mans death. All these people dont care about Nigerians so how do they expect we will care abt dem. If not that Corona has ravaged the western world even more than Africa these politicians wld have all trooped out abroad with the families. Kyari wont even have stayed here to be treated.

4. what should we now do? whats the difference btw his death and that of those who has died of hunger, police brutality, boko haram killing.. etc...i sympathize more with the latter than the former

1. Theirs is even worse, he died of an illness which 20 other people have died from...i dont see why people should be blackmailed into mourning him.
      The president isnt capable of running this country so they put kyari in charge just so that they will have their ways, he died in active duty. Same way those two doctors did.

5. Hmmmm....he has answered his own call...all these are now irrelevant. May his soul rest in peace.

6. Abeg 2nd base jare...Nobody said that all Nigerian problems will be solved now he is dead..Its unfortunate it resulted to death but when someone becomes a pain-in-the-behind, you never want such person around you..My dear this is damage control because you cant change the narrative now he is dead..We know his antecedents so forget this medicine after death writeup..

1. We should expect more narrative concerning this man, a lot of persons will spring up with plenty stories about their relationship with Kyari both real and imagined.

Only God knows the truth, Rip sir!

Melancholy

7. March 29 hhmmm. Why the silence Abba Kyari.. RIP gentleman.

Lovelace

8. If the devil dies in Nigeria, he becomes a saint immediately.

We have heard, Kyari was a saintly saint no problem. However, none of these media reports can bring him back to life so please let it rest.

9. My only problem with Mallam Abba Kyari is the fact that after he returned back from Germany through the United Kingdom, he did not self-isolate. He was attending different meetings.

Germany was already declared a high risk country in Europe, Nigerian government didn't make that declaration in Nigeria because there were still some viruses in power (VIPs) who were still in Germany and the UK.

I have read a lot of positive articles by people who were closed to or friends to Mallam Abba Kyari and these people are not even Muslims or from the North.

May God rest his soul.

10. He did not usurp power but he travelled to Germany for improvement on the National Grid, is he the Minister of mines and power?, When Babagana Mungono and the First Lady who were very close to him wrote stinking report about him why didn't you come to his defence, now that he is dead, he has become a saint.

11. Abeg, even the president in his tribute said he was very forceful. Every bad move in politics, military, economy,religion, tribe, has his signature. I can imagine that even Buhari could not breathe freely. He could do all that without conscience because he will not be held accountable. The mandate was not on his name.

12. In all,they
    waited for the virus to spread in nigeria before they started thinking of improving the power sector. All this years he never thought of the power sector except when there was a pandemic. Writer.. defender of the universe cause he invites you for dinner in london.

You dont live here in Nigeria to see the plights of a common man.

Come down now and see the true meaning of poverty starrin at the poor masses that this useless polictians,

Both old and new caused..

You are there in your house with 24 hours uninterrupted light writting rubbish about a failed nation and leaders!

13. Abeg they should go. All these are damage control trying to launder his image.
    Stella, have you seen Pat Utomi's write-up about power-drunk politicians? You should read it.

14. Hmmmm... Whatever the case may be, God sees all and knows best.

15. Dead men tell no tale...
    Damage control

16. Mr writer, because he was good to you doesn’t mean he was good to others.

If he truly contributed to the growth of the nation.
    If he really served his country with good conscience...

You won’t have to explain to us like this.
    Just simple logic

17. His own is past tense. Let's move forward in making this country great.

Death is for everyone, no one is immune except God decides

18. In all,they
    waited for the virus to spread in nigeria before they started thinking of improving the power sector. All this years he never thought of the power sector except when there was a pandemic. Writer.. defender of the universe cause he invites you for dinner in london.

You dont live here in Nigeria to see the plights of a common man.

Come down now and see the true meaning of poverty starrin at the poor masses that this useless polictians,

Both old and new caused..

You are there in your house with 24 hours uninterrupted light writting rubbish about a failed nation and leaders!

19. Rest in peace abba kyari. GOd please protect us.

20. Rest in peace abba kyari. GOd please protect us.

21. It's Sinzus nephew that is the major problem. We all know this. Immediately spending was hospitalized, things began to go south.
    Look at thre money meant to be shared to Nigerians.
    Where it's it.
    They doled out another 400billion to be given to eedc. Not for our light bill oo.
    Just to help them give us light. Imagine.
    The major problem here is sinzu.
    Who can't call his house to order

22. These people don't care about the poor masses neither do I care about them.
    It's a mutual feeling. I neither curse nor cry. RIP Sir

23. Hypocritical write up.

AbbaKyria, rest in peace.
    Case Closed.

Use same energy and tell us about Osibanjo. Where is the man ?

24. This man gained my respect after his death. When I went through his profile, I was humbled. Actually what I admire most is his keeping quiet over those allegations. Very focused. May his soul rest in peace and may God comfort his family.

1. Same here my dear!
      You can see that he was not all that evil with the way "unaccounted" billions have been dished out in the past weeks.

The man was a no nonsense man, so, many very corrupted politicians hated him for that.

Yes, he had his bad side.

Take a good look at the politicians in the state level and how they are handling their various states...

2. Anon and Ms A, thank you.

Just watch how the country would get worse now that he is gone.

I weep for Nigeria already

3. Lafresh, the country will not get worse! Stop being a pessimist. Look at you making the man a saint. It will be better for the rest of us.

4. Saint and never stole but wear a wrist watch of N17.5M . Well na una sabi , i thank God i left the country

5. The country may get worse for you, not for the rest of us. Nonsense.

25. And now is watch has ended but ours still have a long way to go.

26. Calling him 82 when he actually died age 67 made me realize that things are not always as they seem. It's even possible the enemies he made were those who couldn't embezzzle because of his interference. RIP Abba Kyari..

1. Wow Anon 10:59..it seems you aren't a smart person. You are one of the gullible people in this country.

2. If you believe Abba Kyari is years you will believe anything.

3. There have been 3 Abba Kyaris

The first one was a military administrator in the 60's, and he died at the age of 80 in 2018

The second one is the late chief of staff

The third one is an assistant? Commissioner of police

4. Bola Tinubu is 68yrs old.....so Tinubu is older than him. If i hear

27. I cried as I read this piece. I am still crying as I type this comment. I can't tell exactly why I am crying. Perhaps it is because I remembered my father. He was kind to all to my knowledge. When we traveled to the village I would follow him round as he greeted and distributed money and gifts. Back to base, he would dash, lend, lend and lend to people. Most of them turned bad debts. There was a time he was being investigated. I was little but I knew something was going on. At the end he was transferred somewhere else where it was assumed there was no money but my dad continued to prosper. There were people who didn't like him and were probably happy when he died. I couldn't understand that. Let me not make this about my dad but I always put myself in the shoes of people who mourn. When my dad died, I felt like someone ripped off my heart with their bare hands. Abba Kyari's children probably feel the same, so do all the people who have lost their loved ones. We will never know the true story of how things went so bad. The man never spoke. He might have done all that were attributed to him and he might not have done them. We will never know. I don't join the bandwagon. I have never had a one on one with him but nobody will be the President and not bring someone he/she trusts and take counsel from, to be the CoS. When he got the disease, people around me were happy. The only thing I said was let God's will be done. This is God's will. There is no need to rejoice. May his soul find rest and may his loved ones be comforted. May God heal our land.

1. Kiks , from ur write up, u are wise & a good person. Yes, when u see comments from BVs generally , u can tell who they really are in person. We should learn not to judge people we don’t know or have interacted with . All the good “testimonies “ I’ve been reading about him are from non Muslims & other tribes . About his age, it’s also possible that he’s in his sixties, bcoz his Southern friends of over forty years who schooled with him in their youths said so, but it’s like he had health challenges b4 now ( as I read), which aged him faster), & that sort of quickened his catching the virus & never recovered from it.

2. It beats me how people rejoice over another's death except for serial killers, rapists and hardened criminals, I just can't seem myself rejoicing when someone dies.
      Oh well, he has lived his life. I hope those of us alive will do better.

3. Abroadian BV you cant force emotions. Cant force someone to mourn who they are indifferent about.
      Leave his family to do the mourning. Those are the ppl dat matter.

4. Beds & Roses πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ don't mind them. Who cares what you do or don't do?!

28. So touching to read...may his soul rest in peace,and quick recovery to all the sick all over the world. Amen

29. Personally I'm not happy that he died, but God knows all. I pray Pa Buhari learns from this and change for good.

30. A pathetic revisionist at work. Simon, why lend further credence to the assertion that those from your stock are *sslickers. Majority of Nigerians cannot be said to be wrong. Since he had the full attention of Mr. President, why didn't he influence policies and programmes to the betterment of the citizenry? Rather what we had while he lived were rising cases of exclusion, bias, massive corruption, on and on.

Simon, Nigerians are skeptical whether anything good will come out of this administration. So yes, we are not overly upbeat, but we are optimistic that this storm of a regime will also pass.

Simon, I see the devil wants to use you as sift and as wheat, but I have prayed for you that your faith fail not, and when you be exorcised of this demon, uplift your kinsmen

1. You are right bro

2. Stop this nonsense talk and go and read what an Easterner also wrote about him.

He was his best man and also a godfather to his first child.

3. Some of us just don't want to comment on things like this anymore so it won't be termed as hate, not as if we have forgotten the 500million MTN bribery scandal. Simon's conscience and dignity, all sold for a pittiance.

4. I don't understand all the whitewashing attempts. Shouldn't people's legacies speak for them? Did people need to whitewash Mandela or Martin Luther King? Their acts SPOKE for them.

5. As usual....if they dont bring tribe into it they cannot rest.
      Is it a curse or what,or its an illness?

6. Teekay, go and read that white up. It's obvious you didn't

7. Ms. Abba, even Abacha enjoyed the privilege of cross-sectional, cross-religious, cross-regional tributes. I'm happy you make up the 1% of Nigerians that benefitted from the disorientation and selective style he championed.

But for the grace of A... Nigeria's economy would have collapsed
      But for the grace of A... our frail foundation would have carved in
      But for the grace of A... the vultures would have chipped off the scanty flesh of our financial wallchest to it's barest skeleton.
      Haleluyah!!!

31. All I can say is that even Hitler had friends. Only he and his God know the truth. Finally RIP Kyari

1. Exactly. All these write ups can't change anything at this point.

32. Simon!Simon!How many time did I call you?Do not let the devil use you .For every politician tht has looted our National treasure .....May Corona be their portion!!!

33. Nigerians are fantastically corrupt and excellent liars. Even if you don't know this as a Nigerian living in Nigeria, be assured the international communities are no fools. The world sees clearly.

34. Is he the minister f power to attend such function? It shows how they feel one person has to be everywhere.

35. Whatever anyone writes in defence of him right now really doesn't matter.

The only thing that matters now is His judgment before God.

36. Who has been in charge of all the biased appointments in Nigeria? who? and do you know what these appointments have caused to many christians? I think you are speaking for yourself sir.

37. Thank you for this write up. Our problem is not Abba or Abacha or Johnathan or Buhari..... our problem is "You"and "I".We as Nigerians are fickle. We turn the other way when we are in the circle of chopping and go hard on anyone that dares to close the free bank to all. We as a nation need to examine ourselves. We make Government the fall guy in training our children while we pursue money endlessly. These children become get rich quick presidents, instagram celebrities, pastors, politicians and Marlians with no values. There is no longer dignity in work.Abba, was just a scapegoat for our inadequacies as a people. I remember a time when things worked in Nigeria.There were good roads and constant light. what happened? Countless govts have been in office and looted, yet we do not hold us nor them accountable. It is time to hold each and everyone accountable for laziness, looking away and believing every propaganda that only seeks to divide us and promote selfish interests. Abba is gone, who will be the next victim of our inability to take responsibility for our role in Nigerias demise.

38. I do not Believe in all these ! It's After someone dies that we begin to hear all this stories of he was this or that!

Abba Kayari was Extremely Powerful in this dispensation! Infact He was the De-Facto President

The Unnecessary Killings All around the Country went on Abated because people like him refused to take the Neccessary actions..

The Ungodly and unholy disgrace of Justice Onnegen and the subsequent appointment of the Present Chief Justice was a well coordinated stuff with Abba kyari as the head.

Abba kyari cannot be said to be innocent of the Supreme Court Magic that brought about the Onnegen saga... 2 of them involved in that have gone and were buried the same day . ( Aliyu Umar SAN and Abba kyari). April 17th and April 18th. It is not Ordinary. " Vengeance is Mine says the LORD"

Aliyu Umar SAN was the prosecutor at the Code of Conduct Tribunal. He got an ex parte order from the CCT, and quickly sent it to Abba Kyari who immediately sent it to Buhari for approval of Onnoghen's removal.

It's Exactly A year Anniversary of that sham and both of them are 6ft below ..

The Fulani Herdsmen killings and free way was a highly coordinated asssignnent! Abba Kyari cannot be said to not know!

Even when it was clear that the service chiefs have been Overwhelmed! The Service Chiefs were kept there..

Abba kyari cannot be said to be innocent of the Supreme Court Magic that brought about the Onnegen saga... 2 of them involved in that have gone .( Aliyu Umar SAN and Abba kyari). April 17th and April 18th

The One sided Security Appointments in the Country is a well planned idea..

Let's stop all these talk of The late CSO being for the Nigerian project! I cannot take that!

Abba kyari was loyal to his boss - Yes

Abba kyari was given to the Fulani Course- Yes

I Better be loyal to GOD ALMIGHTY and Godly Principles in discharging my Duty than be loyal to a Man

Abba Kyari has Gone to Answer to GOD .

1. I Better be loyal to GOD ALMIGHTY and Godly Principles in discharging my Duty than be loyal to a Man πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ