Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: WHO Says COVID-19 Is 10 Times Deadlier Than Swine Flu

Tuesday, April 14, 2020

WHO Says COVID-19 Is 10 Times Deadlier Than Swine Flu

The World Health Organisation (WHO) has said that Coronavirus is 10 times deadlier than The swine flu which caused a global pandemic in 2009.

WHO Director-General, Dr Tedros Ghebreyesus, stated this at a virtual news conference in Geneva on Monday.

Tedros said that the virus could spread more easily in crowded environments like nursing homes.

He said, “We know that early case-finding, testing, isolating, caring for every case and tracing every contact is essential for stopping transmission.

“We know that in some countries, cases are doubling every three to four days.
Though, the virus accelerates very fast, it decelerates much more slowly; in other words, the way down is much slower than the way up.
That means control measures must be lifted slowly, and with control. It cannot happen all at once.

“Control measures can only be lifted if the right public health measures are in place, including significant capacity for contact tracing.
But while some countries are considering how to ease restrictions, others are considering whether to introduce them – especially many low- and middle-income countries in Africa, Asia and Latin America.

“In countries with large poor populations, the stay-at-home orders and other restrictions used in some high-income countries may not be practical.
Many poor people, migrants and refugees are already living in overcrowded conditions with few resources and little access to health care.
Since the beginning, this has been an area of intense focus for WHO.

“As we have said many times before, this is a new virus, and the first pandemic caused by a coronavirus.

We’re all learning all the time and adjusting our strategy, based on the latest available evidence.
We can only say what we know, and we can only act on what we know.

“Evidence from several countries is giving us a clearer picture about this virus, how it behaves, how to stop it and how to treat it.’’
from dailypost

28 comments:

1. God alone is the answer to all sickness as diseases.

1. Oh yes... And he'll sure come through for us. Amen.

2. Stella what difference does it make how dangerous it is or gets? People are dying (is that even the spelling of die-ing🤔) that's what we know and don't want.

2. Then there could be something Nigeria is doing right, for I saw the number of discharged persons or does it has to do with the climatic condition of Africa?

1. Not really. It's just that we've got stronger immune system.

3. God will heal the world from this deadly virus in Jesus Nane.

4. God will continue to be our shield because it is going to be disastrous the cases increases more in Nigeria

5. Jesus please fix this. Give the doctors insight

6. Abeg enough of all these alarm!

7. Only with out ear will we hear it, it shall never come near us.

8. Oooh goodness, please Lord heal the world.

9. All their agenda is paralysed in the mighty name of Jesus Christ. Amen

10. The sold out WHO, tell us what we don't already know.

WHO and UN are in the pocket of Communist China

1. crazy WHO
      SMH I've been following the news and it's unfortunate .

11. Obviously but not as deadly as the black plaque. The reason people are panicking is because the virus started in "the white man's land". Believe me if it started in Africa the concern will not be this much.

1. Absolutely,
      That's what I tell people, Ebola is 10 times deadlier

12. Me I don't trust this WHO people... they might have something to gain. I used to read this MSN news and I was so full of fear which is not helping matters. I realised the msn news is actually Microsoft, no wonder their news are so exaggerated! Let everyone continue the social distancing and personal hygiene as instructed but don't listen to news that would put you in bondage of fear!

13. Initially the WHO said it was just a flu and trivialized it, then they said it was an epidemic then upgraded it to a Pandemic! Now its deadlier than what again?
    WHO really needs to figure out what's really going on! This is shameful! People are dying in hundreds of thousands!!!