Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Borno Govt Suspends COVID 19 Lockdown And Approves Religious Gatherings...

Thursday, May 14, 2020

Borno Govt Suspends COVID 19 Lockdown And Approves Religious Gatherings...

The Borno State Government has suspended the lockdown imposed on non-essential movement, following significant progress recorded in the fight against Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic in the state.

Alhaji Umar Kadafur, the Deputy Governor of the state, who doubles as the Chairman of the state’s High-Powered Response Team for the Prevention and Control of COVID-19, announced this in a statement on Wednesday in Maiduguri.

He said: “In furtherance of the efforts to contain and eradicate this deadly scourge, the High Powered Committee wishes to announce the indefinite suspension of the Lockdown for the time being.”

Kadafur attributed the successes recorded in the state to the stringent measures adopted to contain the virus, which had yielded the desired result.

According to him, the suspension of lockdown was to study the situation, noting that the government will not hesitate to revert to the status quo if the pandemic escalate.

He declared the use of face mask in all public places to be mandatory in the state as he directed all government officials, traditional rulers, religious leaders, community and opinion leaders to adhere strictly to the enforcement of social/physical distancing in places of worship and social gathering.

“Henceforth, Jumma’at prayers and five daily prayers shall be observed in all mosques as recommended by the Borno State Council of Ulamas.

“Churches shall also conduct services as recommended by the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN).

“All congregations must be observed based on strict principles of COVID-19 preventive measures which included social distancing, use of face mask and hand sanitizer,” he said.

from dailypost

21 comments:

1. Naija which way...
    Or is this actually scam !

2. Smh my head,the way this people are behaving eh,easing lockdown in a time like this, one will be forced to believe the whole thing is a scam

3. you see, they are also tired of the scamdemic there

4. The church is matching on the gate of hell shall not prevail against it.

1. Yes, I agree than nothing can match nor prevail against your ignorance.

5. Hmmm!
    Where are the deluded lots shouting "gang up against the church, I miss going to church, why aren't we allowed to go to church and worship blablabla", here you guys have it, y'all can go to your "papaxmama" in peace.
    It is totally their business as heaven knows I'm not gathering anywhere with anyone/persons. Nigerian Government effing up since 1960.

6. Just like that.... Some of our leaders' decision have kept this country where it is today..

7. Governor what is it the color of your problem? When it begins to spreads over there they will run into loaded trucks and sneak into other states..Chai

8. Just watch how very few people will comment on this. But if it had read "to allow for church worship" you'll see those against Christ unleashed on the post.

The Church of Christ shall March on and the gates of Hades shall not Prevail over it in Jesus' Name🙏🏻🙏🏻

9. This man is not alright...

10. Replies
    1. 🤣😂🤣😂

This is me when I'm irritated lmaooooo

I feel ya

11. I never like saying this thing but Northerners are a big problem in Nigeria. Their illiteracy and arrogance put together make for a bad mix. The infection rate is almost two times what Lagos is in Kano and Borno is increasing at almost the same rate as Kano Nd this is the decision made? It's utter rubbish.

12. At this time, ok o. When the results begin to show, they shouldn't sneak into other states.

13. Lol, the north never disappoints. Nonsense and ingredients