Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ex DG Of Broadcasting House Who Allegedly Fatally Stabbed Wife Reportedly Suffering From Dementia...

Tuesday, May 26, 2020

Ex DG Of Broadcasting House Who Allegedly Fatally Stabbed Wife Reportedly Suffering From Dementia...

A family member of former Director-General of the Imo Broadcasting Corporation (IBC), Theophilus Okere, has spoken on the alleged murder of Okere’s wife after he reportedly stabbed her to death at Imerienwe community in the Ngor-Okpala Local Government Area of Imo.

The suspect, 82 allegedly fled after the act on 70 year old Beatrice,his wife of 50 years who was a retiree of the Imo State Polytechnic in Umuagwo.

In a chat with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Monday, the source in Imerienwe, said Okere had been suffering from dementia.

The source disclosed that the family had been managing the former IBC boss’s condition for some time.

“Even today that he stabbed his wife to death, when he was asked why he did it, he responded that his wife was still sleeping.
The other Sunday, Okere went to church and said that his car was missing when in fact the car was parked in his compound,” 

Police spokesman in Imo, Orlando Ikeokwu, confirmed the incident.
He said the command had commenced investigation into the matter.
from dailypost

72 comments:

1. This is so sad, he probably doesn't even realize what he has done. 😔

Will he go to jail? 😕

1. if proven by the defence that he is suffering from mental infirmity, he wont be guilty on the grounds of insanity. He will be sent to an asylum.

2. The family should have kept a close watch on him always. He's old and also demented. Pray for the soul of the departed. And hope he doesn't spend the rest of his life in prison. So sad.

3. This is serious case oh

4. Anon 19.54 the family lost a son weeks ago yet to be buried . They had a lot going on before the Dad had a relapse. They did the best they could

5. Dementia is not insanity,get your facts right.

6. INSANITY is not the same as Dementia. You people should stop spouting nonsense nau. Haba.

7. Confirming the incident, public relations officer, Imo state police command, Orlando Ikeokwu said that preliminary investigations revealed that after killing his wife, the 82-year old ran away until he was arrested by the officers of the command after a tip off.

** My question is this: WHY did he run away if he truly had no recollection of what he did?

8. @Anon 21:01, they spew nonsense with authority. In the first post, they were already saying she endured DV for 50years. SMH

9. Anon 21.30 the news report is wrong. The man has been in custody and disoriented

10. First two things you take away from a person living with Dementia are flammable and sharps. They can use that to hurt themselves or somebody else. This is so sad.

11. insanity is not just when someome takes off his clothe and starts running in the street, there are other forms of insanity. Legally if the person lacks the capacity to understand his actions,lack the capacity to know he ought not to do what he is doing,lacks capacity to know what he is doing the he might be insane.if what he had is dementia,then its a mental infirmity which is insanity

12. This post here is an obvious lie.

13. This man may have dementia but hes also suffering from mental illness. I know someones dad with dementia;and his major thing is forgetful,confusion,inability to take care of himself and later he wondered off one day. Never heard of violence from him,now he is even so quiet and lost in thot most times. This was a former jovial brilliant man. He is now like a baby they have to keep an eye on.
      This mans illness is more dan dementia pls. It is very possible to have various mental illness. You could have depression and at same time suffer from pyscosis.
      You have to also consider,did they have a marriage with history of violence and DV. Was he normally abusive.
      If he was out of his senses totally,why did he run???
      Not sayn ppl with dementia cant be violent...anyone with mental illness is unpredictable most times.

14. People with some kinds of dementia can get violent sometimes. But I haven’t seen them get so violent that they kill. They just usually get angry really easy and hit people or destroy stuff.

2. Dementia is the loss of cognitive functioning—thinking, remembering, and reasoning.

Dementia does not mean one becomes violent, it's. They may become verbally or physically aggressive but not this level of violence.

1. You know nothing about people suffering from Dementia.

You people should stop it!!

2. How can you even know the level of violence when people differ? Are you a sufferer yourself?

3. You go to google and pick up a definition and start posting on sm. Please keep quiet if you are not a health professional! Like Ms A said...please just stop!

4. Thats a lie, they can get violent if they don't recognize you and see you as a stranger trying to hurt them.
      I think you should do more reading.

5. My grandfather had dementia and had to be restrained. He had always been a gentle person. The change was just awful to watch. You know nothing of this dreadful disease and it is best if you don't say anything.

6. Ms A, you are the one that should STOP IT!!! Haba. Such ignorance when internet is free.

7. Hmmm,I've seen a person with Dementia, wasnt an emotionally pleasant sight. They do sometimes get violent and aggressive in their state of confusion

8. Ms A,
      These early signs of dementia are:
      - Memory loss
      - Difficulty planning or solving problems
      - Difficulty doing familiar tasks
      - Being confused about time or place
      - Challenges understanding visual information
      - Problems speaking or writing.
      - Misplacing things
      - Poor judgment or decision-making.

Please and please, where is VIOLENCE on the list. If dementia made people violent, you think those that have wouldn't have been restrained to prevent such?

Your ignorance is embarrassing.

9. What are the 7 Stages of Dementia?

Stage 1: No impairment.
      Stage 2: Very mild cognitive decline.
      Stage 3: Mild cognitive decline.
      Stage 4: Moderate cognitive decline.
      Stage 5: Moderately severe cognitive decline.
      Stage 6: Severe cognitive decline

Also known as middle dementia or moderately severe Alzheimer’s disease, this stage will find your loved one requiring help for Activities of Daily Living (ADL’s) such as using the bathroom or eating. Your loved one may also experience difficulty sleeping, increased paranoia or delusions, anxiety, and difficulty recognizing loved ones.

Stage 7: Very severe cognitive decline

10. You don't get all the answers from internet.

So, stop with your ignorance.

You know nothing about this Madam/Oga.

Stop it please!!!

11. True, patients with dementia are not violent. Maybe he was suffering from other mental illness. Definitely not dementia

12. I work with people battling Dementia,and they can only get aggressive when you challenge them,the question should be what happened before the stabbing occurred? If the wife was struggling with him,then yes he can kill her as he may see her as a stranger and was acting out of self defence. Dementia has many faces,no 2 cases are the same,everyday is a new chapter and so one cannot always compare. May she rest in peace

13. People with dementia can become psychotic and with psychosis can become violent and need to be on antipsychotics.

14. I join Ms. A to say Stop it!!!! Most diseases have a spectrum. As they say in medicine, you never say never. Dementia can and does present with violence. Please be guided.

15. Google doctors welcome, don’t speak on something you know nothing about just because you see definition on Wikipedia

3. And some BV's said he prolly had dementia. I just wush he was taken care of medically. May her soul rest in peace.

4. Kai dis is so sad,I reject every satanic agenda in my life.

5. Wow so hard that it had to end this way for the wife, who must have been taking care of him all this while😢

So will he be charged to court for murder? dementia or not? i wanna know

1. He will be charged to court for murder,but the defense counsel can raise a defence of Insanity and if proven beyond reasonable doubt. Then he wont be guilty of muder on the grounds of insanity, because he lacked the capacity to know what he was doing, control his actions and also didn't know that he ought not to the Act. He will be sent to an asylum at the discretion of the President.

2. Insanity maybe, but Dementia no. People, educate yourselves!

6. this is very pathetic..dementia is real..he probably thought the wife was something or someone else... i hope he won't be jailed ..they should pity him and rehabilitate him ..its sad

1. That's how one dude butchered his mother thinking she was a leopard that came into the house. He was so deep in that belief even the police pitied him. He had a court ordered psych evaluation that showed dementia. CT Scan of his brain was done and tendered in court to show massive brain cell loss

2. Aggression in Dementia is usually triggered by something, not just a desire to cause someone pain. Factors such as physical discomfort or pain, being in an unfamiliar environment or situation, and even poor communication can all trigger aggression.

He is in the later stages of dementia.

He will not be jailed. He does not have mental capacity. But kept away from the people until it is controlled.

7. Of course, the old man is suffering from Dementia!

May God rest the soul of his wife. I really feel for him, because his wife is definitely the only person he trust and now, she's gone.

Double pains for the family.

These sick people need a specialist to manage them.

1. Dementia or not, he is liable for murder.
      Kill Na kill. Even here in the US, they still get arrested. He will be sent to a mental hospital for forensic exams.

2. Ignorance on fleek

3. Anonymous aka Mr/Ms. US, stop being insensitive... I can feel it from here.

4. Who cares what you feel Ms A? Let's talk about facts and put your "feelings" aside.

5. Mrs A is right. You people should learn to read and understand. Dementia is complex and scientists are still doing research. Someone with dementia can be violent because they can feel a stranger is trying to attack them due to memory loss. Geez stop attacking people unnecessarily.

June 27

6. What is kill na kill? Anon,you lack emotional intelligence.

8. I have never heard that dementia presents as violence to the extent of killing another.

1. Keep quiet! Now you know!

2. Read and research yourself dont wait to hear

3. Please tell Ms A that is busy vomiting over everyone's comments as long as it doesn't agree with hers. Google is free, look up what DEMENTIA actually is!!!

4. 20.23 are you sure you are okay???

5. Anonymous20:47, I don't know this family, but you're a fool. Yes, a very big FOOL.

You guys know nothing about Dementia. Going to Google 🙄🙄🙄

You think your answer lies on Google...

Stop showing your ignorant self here. You're probably one very bittered human being that knows nothing about health issues.

6. Tell them Ms. A. Google that you will check for a simple symptom and the search results popping up may be showing you that you are dying in the next second. What im trying to say is that Google is not always the answer.

7. Na wao. Google is now a Consultant Psychiatist. And you're insulting Ms A while blatantly displaying your Google inspired ignorance. Jisike.

8. My research area is in Alzheimer's disease and dementia. I don't understand why you are attacking Ms. A for stating accurate information. Google is not your answer, scholarly articles provide more accurate information.
      There are different types of dementia and sometimes dementia presents with irritability or aggression. This is why when doing a safety assessment in the home of people who have been diagnosed with a type of dementia, you have to make sure sharp objects are not within reach so they do not hurt themselves or others.
      Case in point CTE is a type of dementia, Aaron Hernandez was a NFL player whose violence led to the death of some people, after his death, a biopsy was conducted and they found severe atrophy of the brain, leading to the conclusion that CTE may have accounted for his violent behavior.

9. So if it is dementia why did he flee according to report that he fled? Should he have known to flee? RIP to the dead

1. Good question

2. People with dementia can become psychotic, they also tend to wander if left alone. The "fleeing' might have been him wandering.

3. 22.14 now you are conjecturing..

4. T.C. OKERE DID NOT KILL HIS WIFE OF OVER 50 YEARS.......
      Stories from his immediate family has it that Pa T.C.Okere though has dementia which his family has been managing did not kill his wife as carried by social media.The couple lost their son and his burial preparations are ongoing.On that faithful sunday,their 2 caregivers were away for church service when armed robbers gained entry into their home,probably to cart away money and things for the burial. Mama Okere tried to resist their entry/mission which resulted in their stabbing her to death.Meanwhile,Pa T.C.was in the house but did not know what happened.He was said to have told visitors that mama was asleep.Right now their son's corpse is still in the morgue.Its just too much for one family.May their souls RIPP,🙏.

10. At a minimum, this is manslaughter.

11. He should have been placed in a facility from the moment it was known that he was dangerous to those around him, if any of this is true. Some dementia sufferers do indeed become violent and dangerous once you are no longer safe you need to put them in an institution.

1. Sentiment and ignorance stops families from making the right decisions

12. Is he suppose to "flee" the murder scene?

13. A murderer at 82!!! This is all shades of sad😟. Imagine their kids right now. Mother 70, killed by father 82. Heartbreaking.

14. Horrible news!!! Poor woman.

15. My dad had dementia and used to get very voilet breaking everything from glass windows to car wind shield.
    The facility couldn't manage him and all the care govers ran away.
    Ge is much older now and can't walk so the voilence has reduced.

16. The problem with this generation is too much "" book" aka oke akwukwo'' everybody go school and we all wanna show our " bookmarism' on social Media....

Take a trip down memory lane of this family and it's past generation,there lies the answer and the puzzle solver of this gruesome act,there must be a trait or a family history tied to this very act...
    May Mama soul rest in peace 💔
    To the " okamachas" and those who must win every argument,make una chill oooo, this world is deep