Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gov Wike Imposes 24 Hour Curfew To Curb Spread Of Coronavirus

Monday, May 04, 2020

Gov Wike Imposes 24 Hour Curfew To Curb Spread Of Coronavirus

Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike has announced a 24-hour total lockdown and a dusk to dawn curfew in Port Harcourt and Obio/Akpor Local Government Areas as part of the State Government’s measures to check the spread of coronavirus.

Wike in a statewide broadcast said with the declaration, all residents of Obio/Akpor and Port Harcourt City Local Government Areas must stay at home.

“Consequently, we have decided on the extreme measure of placing the entire Obio/Akpor and Port Harcourt City Local Government Areas under a 24 hours total lockdown from Thursday 7th May 2020 until further notice.

“On no account should there be any vehicular movements or gathering of more than two persons in these Local Government Areas, except those on essential services with appropriate authorization;

“All shops, trading or business activities, including currency exchange, in these Local Government Areas must also remain closed until further notice.

“All Landlords are advised to ensure that no shop or trading activity is opened or carried out in or around their premises or risk the confiscation of their property by the Government.

“Any person, group or institution that violates the lockdown and curfew in these Local Government Areas will be made to face the full wrath of the law. ”

The Rivers State Governor also directed the immediate arrest and prosecution of Chief B.A. Worgu and Mr. Isaiah Abraka for sneakily organizing night markets in defiance to an existing ban on such activity.
from dailypost.

53 comments:

1. I looove it. Very good! People be walking about without a care in the world. They think it is a joke! He should also check mate these law enforcement guys because they are corrupt, taking money and enabling different activities.

Melancholy

2. Please checkmate churches too cos some are still holding weekday and sunday masses with more than 20 persons. I wonder if the restriction doesn't apply to churches too especially catholic churches in rivers state.....

3. My sister just called to tell me this now, I told her that it is for good.
    I like the way the governor is doing his own thing. No follow follow.

4. Honestly Stella Wike is very wicked, insensitive and clueless. Could you imagine this man gave people 6hrs to a total lockdown? People couldn't get enough food stuffs or essential commodities to last them even for 2days. He said any shop that tries to sell, he will demolish the building. Wike is power drunk. If he wants to fight Buhari to get his Corona virus share, he should go to Abj not by inflicting pains and suffering on Rivers people.

1. Please shut up! You should have envisaged this on time and start stocking up, Nigerians can complain. He did right biko.

2. It’s from Thursday na. Stock up. Do you think that Nigerian hospitals can cater for the whole population with the rate the thing is spreading, people will die oo. Be ready to call doctors and nurses all manner of bad names when they have to select those to save and those to die. Better sit at home . Prevention is better than cure

3. This is an overkill if you ask me. I just lack the appropriate words to describe this act of His Excellency.

4. People should read now. 7th is on thursday more than enough time to buy the whole state.

5. It's for una own good o. Prevention they said is better than cure.

6. How is it 6hrs when lockdown is from Thursday? You have no idea how terrible Coronavirus is , if not you would be thankful. Everyday food food!

7. The lockdown starts on the 7th which is Thursday for goodness sake. So you have Tuesday and Wednesday to stock up.

8. The lock down begins on Thursday 7th of May 2020, you have more than 6hrs to stock up read again.

9. Governor wike is the main man

10. @Nuria,God bless you!
      Wike is using this pandemic to play politics with Rivers people!
      Wicked man!

11. If only Gandollar will copy this man,....

12. I have come to the conclusion that my people are insatiable.

What exactly do you people want? The governor is being proactive and takes drastic decisions = you guys complain and say he is playing politics.
      The governor looks the other way = most of you still complain.

What exactly will please you guys? Uneasy lies the head that wears the crown.It is really tough being a leader.

13. Yeah some people complained about same thing @ Nuria
      For me my major concern is if they're truly testing people and how many people have they tested.
      Wike is working mainly with info of new cases and the spreading .
      My prayers are with everyone .

14. Anonymous 20:52 how dare a nitwit like you tell me to shut up? You are a moron and an idiot. For your stupid information Elekahia, Rumumasi, Stadium road, Rumukalagbo has been on total lockdown for the past 1week without any pro notice just 6hrs notice. As for stocking up, people should go and steal to stock up their houses right or you think they grow money in their backyards? Never you in your miserable life tell someone to shut up. Anuofia.

15. Pinklady my dear at the detriment of the poor masses living in Rivers state. Nobody asked him not to do the needful for the good of the people but he is exercising his power as a tyrant on Rivers people for political reasons.

16. If you aren’t in rivers state, stop saying what you don’t know!! My area has been in lockdown for weeks now, the last time markets were allowed to open in the state, was Easter. Before this lockdown he imposed on us, we’ve been serving on what we got since Easter and he gave us only 6hrs notice to the lockdown, people couldn’t stock up in time cuz it was raining from 6pm he announced till like 8pm. There was shortage of food stuff, cartoon of indomie was sold out already n prices of things left were high! We are managing what we have, he hasn’t lifted this lockdown, and he’s imposing another 24hrs lockdown from Thursday till further notice and he hasn’t lifted ours and open the markets, so how do we stock up?? When we will run out of food soon?

5. Useless govt na to lock and open na in dem sabi correct measures they can't put in place him for kukuma lock d state and throway d keys I just hate dis country

6. And the borders too
    These people think covid19 is a joke in this town
    Everywhere face mask but still jam pack themselves inside taxi and bus plus Keke
    What of your body touching each other in that congested bus🤦🤦

7. This governor is serious about fighting this pandemic. Kudos Wike! Na governor you be!!!

8. Kudos Gov Nwike. Na leader you be

1. No body said what he is doing is wrong , he has confirmed that all the cases were imported ,why not put serious minded people to put a stop to any kind of entry into the state. Food can get to the border you ask the company to get someone already certified healthy in the state toget the food j

2. He is wasting his time because the problem is the border, someone I know still sneaked inside ph from warri yesterday. If I had Wike’s number, I would have reported him. These people at the border are wasting his efforts. Instead of making sure we die of hunger when we can’t be given enough notice to stock up or even open the markets, she’s busy patrolling in my street instead of patrolling at the borders

9. Funny illiterate. I laugh whenever I hear wike and that woman wey be commissioner for health in cross-river. Bunch of confused guys

10. The action governor🙆🙆🙆

11. Our approach is being handled with kid gloves.
    Today a total lockdown order is issued and implemented, the next day it is relaxed.
    This has been the pattern in almost all the states.
    How then do we effectively manage COVID-19

12. I know its hard, but better to contain its
    before its will spray.

13. All markets have been on lockdown so where would you even buy food to stock up? They have been owing salary since March so where is the money to buy the very expensive food items. Then the selective lockdown means covid 19 told him the parts of PH where it is? Vendetta lock down. One day he will cease to be the Gov. We dey wait.

1. God bless you. One can only get things to buy in romukoro before 6:30am for someone like me that leave alone with a 2 year old child and pregnant how do I met up. the last time I went to mkt was when my husband was around and I have exhausted my food stuff I am just thinking of how I am going to wake my baby by 5am tomorrow and drag her to the market. My rivers story

14. People outside ph have no idea of what's going on ph. Yes, it is true that he's trying to checkmate spread but we in rivers state know it's all about his beef with FG.
    Secondly, for those shouting it's Thursday, try stocking your home right about now and see how easy it is. For one banks are overcrowded so you can barely withdraw and even when you do the prices are ridiculous.
    This lockdown procedure is not the way forward. This will lead to overcrowding and more surge once it is lifted.

1. See ehnn. Nigeria health care system can’t cater for the population and the government knows.Nurses in ogun state had to wear nylon trash bags as PPE and we know that it has zero protection .You see that woman that died in UNTH in the car because doctors and nurses ran away because there is no PPE. That will be the state of most Nigerian hospitals, people will die if this spread continues .This is a personal race oo . Stay at home and protect urselves.

15. Wike has taken original sapele water ...The Blue label haff finish how do you expect the common man to survive just for one person interest.

16. It is for the good of Rivers state. I hope they obey

1. In Wike’s Rivers state they have no choice than to obey. Task force will use people to shine .
      Generally speaking I think Whatever his reasons maybe I personally am grateful for his approach .You people think covid19 is a joke ? The western world is literary grasping at straws is it us that will now effectively fight this if it overwhelms us ?

17. I do hope he truly has the people of rivers state well being at heart and he is not just showing this tough side of him for whatever political reason or beef he has with the presidency 😩

But i would be happy if all of these directives of wike was given by ganduje instead to the people of kano

18. We are not complaining...i was so relieved when he announced it. only a few who dont know what covid19 is are complaining. The same people will also curse docs and nurses by the time they leave dem dying on d pavements gasping for breath. Every medical personnel should be wise o, calling you a hero when you are dead is nonsense, if you do not have correct PPE, do not touch any case.

Even if he doesn'tock down d state, hunger will still hit whom it will hit. Stay home, you won't die.

19. Nigerians! Always so short sighted. Stay home and protect your self and family. This virus is deadly!!!!

20. One day he will step down Na. If you like build one million project’s, Dey shout on people like say dem be your slave , one day you go comot from that office. I use to like the man but the power drunk syndrome don blind am. No third term. It’s not forever. Make noise and go away. A reasonable project now should be feeding your own people. Feed the widows, orphans, elderly etc. let that be your new project. Not chop belle full do voice like frog dey command your ancestors to sit am home and eat water or air!!!
    All your minions wey dey respond to every comment on this page I no send! Truth Na truth.

21. I hope people of Port Harcourt will adhere to this instructions because those set of people are too stubborn for my liking.

22. How are we to stock up when markets have been closed to weeks. Wike should stop playing politics,if he has problem with federal govt he should face them and stop pouring his anger on us. I even tried going out very early around 5:30 to get foodstuffs, those stupid and god forsaken police said I broke govt curfew and made me part with the little money I'm managing, on getting to oil mill, the market was completely shutdown, this country is just frustrating

23. Why are they going into total lockdown?