Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lady Who Killed Baby Reports Self To Police And Says ''The Most Important Thing Is That I Have Killed The Baby''

Wednesday, May 13, 2020

Lady Who Killed Baby Reports Self To Police And Says ''The Most Important Thing Is That I Have Killed The Baby''

A 22-year-old woman, Adisa Funmilola, has drowned her baby because the child prevented her from going to University to study law.

Funmilola drowned her one-year and six months old baby inside a bucket of water in her apartment at Plot 22, Gowon Estate, Lagos, on Monday, May 11th and thereafter reported herself to the Police.

When interrogated, she blamed her action on frustration, saying her baby deprived her of actualising her dream of becoming a lawyer.
She explained that she was impregnated by one Yusuf Folarin, while both were attending a Joint Admission and Matriculation Board, JAMB, class at City of Success in Abeokuta, Ogun State capital, but Folarin later denied being responsible for the pregnancy and told her to abort the foetus.

Funmilola revealed that she was offered admission into the Obafemi Awolowo University, OAU, Ile-Ife, Osun State, to study Law, but had to defer the admission because of the baby.

Showing no remorse, She said: “I killed my baby and reported myself to the police.I filled a bucket with water, dipped her inside and held her head until she died.
I did it for three reasons. First; I didn’t have the financial might to take care of her. Secondly; I was tired and frustrated, but the most painful reason is that she deprived me of actualising my dream of becoming a lawyer.

“I would have aborted the pregnancy, but my father advised me against it. The person that is responsible for the pregnancy rejected me. I live with my sister, who has no job and I am also not working.”
Asked if she was aware of the magnitude of her offence, she gave a wry smile, and muttered: “The most important thing is that I have killed the baby.”

She was taken to the command headquarters in Ikeja, on Tuesday, from where the Commissioner of Police, CP Hakeem Odumosu, directed that she should be transferred to the State Criminal Investigation Department, SCIID, Yaba.

Elder sister to the suspect who was around, expressed shock at her sibling’s action. said she was at home on the day of the incident, but never knew what the latter was doing until policeman stormed their apartment.
The sister, who did not want her name in print, said:

“Yes, we live together. I was in my bedroom while she was in hers. I didn’t know when she drowned the baby.
“I suspect she is mentally deranged because our mother had a similar mental issue before she died.”

The Vanguard

62 comments:

1. The first thing that came to my mind when I saw the headline is that maybe she's not mentally OK. And reading what the sister said, I think i'm right cos no right thinking person will do what she did.

1. She is mentally unstable for sure. She could have abandoned the baby and ran away but she decided to kill her. May God have mercy on her.

2. Postnatal depression that was not taken care of resulting to deeper mental illness. She wasn't ready for motherhood at all.

Legalise abortion.

3. Of course she is mentally deranged, oh poor babyπŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯

4. She's definitely not ok. From her reply with a wry smile, it's obvious she's not ok. Chai

5. The frustration from raising that child could have triggered her brain.

But wait o, it wasn't the child's fault that she could not study law. Na she open leg for Falz the bad guy. She needs medical examination

6. She id definately mentally unstable...poor baby. I hope this woman gets the help she deperately needs.

7. Dear Saphire,

How about practice abstinence or celibacy?!
      In all my 31 years on God's green earth, I have never heard of anyone dying from not having sex! NEVER!

Instead, this thing called sex has caused so much destruction.

STDs & HIV/AIDS
      Rape/ Defilement / Sexual abuse/ Sexual assault/ Sexual harassment
      Unwanted pregnancy/babies
      Infidelity
      Mistresses and Paramours
      Abortion
      Murder (due to jealousy or trying to eliminate one partner to be with another etc).

8. Miss E dear, I understand and I agree with you but how many people truly practice abstinence in reality? You and I could but how about people for many reasons known to them are unable? According to sociologist, sex rank equal as food, shelter and acceptance. So as there are people who can't fast from food for a few hours or resist the sight and aroma of food, so it is with abstinence.

9. @saphire, if they can't abstain from premarital sex, they should bear the consequences. Abortion (murder) should not be legalised in our land because some people lack self control.

10. Poor lady, definitely going through PND, may the little girls soul rest in perfect peace.

11. It's obvious her sister wasn't close to her, the sister was in the room while she drowned a child, walked to the police station to hand herself in, police coming into the house without knowing anything.
      It is well, must have been really tough for her having to take care of a child without help. Atimes an hour alone without the kids can be refreshing, it's not easy being a new mum. Let alone a single mum where the man has rejected the child.
      May the little girls soul rest in perfect peace.
      She was going through Postnatal depression plus stress.

2. She is more than being mentally deranged. She need help to fix her screwed up brain Asap

3. This one and aborting it, which is more grevious? Instead of you killing the child, give the govt or do a private adoption.

1. This looks more grievous, but they are one and the same.

2. @Mystic Yes an aborted feotus is a living being, but if a woman gives birth to a baby at 4 months pregnant can that baby survive? But this baby has stayed complete 9months in the womb, has come out alive and healthy, has had breath of the air we breathe. This is cruel,that child felt pain before it passed on. This isn't just a mass of cells, this is a cell that has grown into a complete and whole being. I will never encourage an abortion, but i do not think both can be compared or said to be the same.

3. They are both sins in the eyes of the Lord but this is absolutely cold hearted.
      A child you carried for 9 months, laboured to give birth to, bonded with for a whole year, then you put the child in a bucket, that baby would have struggled and gasped for air but she didn't flinch, she watched her own baby die, gosh. This must be some serious mental ish.

4. It takes a stone hearted person to drown a baby what!!! A sin yes but it would have been better to abort the pregnancy. It has to be mental issues.

4. She’s obviously mentally unstable.
    I pray the little baby Rest In Peace.

5. Her head is not correct - literally.

6. She should be taken to any mental health facility first.
    She looks frustrated and sick

7. She is mentally unstable and needs psychiatric review.

8. This is pathetic, why not take to an orphanage home instead or give to a family who wants a child following due process.

May the soul of that innocent infant rest in peace.

The lady will eventually experience law in jail.

9. This one na mental issue O, depression, frustration all join together. She can't be in her right senses Nd do that. They better check her to a psychiatric hospital.
    But Nigeria police? Hmmm

10. I suspect PPD.She needs mental evaluation

11. What a cruel way to die...God rest her soul..she needs mental evaluation asap! It's such a pityπŸ’”πŸ’”πŸ’”

12. Psychiatric hospital ahead ahead..

Rip little Angel..

13. This girl is sick, she need mental evaluation.
    From her pictures, she far away from herself.

14. A country where single parents r treated with Disdain. Some will question u for having a child out of wedlock, some will attribute it to u dating married men, some will scorn u for not having a 'husband'. No LOVE in this country, a simple how r u holding up is such a big deal,some sure will ask for ur welfare just to go behind u and have a good LAUGH at u.
    Such a horrible country! Pple r praying night and day begging Jehovah for all manner of help but a simple CARE, sincere Concern to the person next to u,u can't show without attaching some kind of whatever to.
    Las Las God will ans all of us according to d way we treat one another.
    Sister this lady was going tru chronic depression,she must have lashed out many times at that baby,did u encourage her constantly? Well although some depression r unnoticed but did u help?
    A friend once told her sis who begged her to help hold her baby , so she can quickly rush to d market to get food stuff, she has been begging this sister for 8days and her baby was down although they stay apart but d sis had a car at d time while she sold hers to get by, out of pain and last resort, she called me,an outsider to assist, I just provided a means for her to fully restock her home cos I had and gave her a means of transportation, held that child for 3/4 hrs, that small gesture and kindness made her breakdown in tears and opened up. Come and c Nasty msgs from a sister, the one that struck me most was "she is ur karma, take care of her, don't involve me in ur plights". Shake my Fucking HEAD!!!!! We r wicked in this part of the country abeg.

1. You couldn't have said it any better. May this young lady find help because from her physical appearance, it shows that she is sick.

BV Dollar Goddess.

2. We all must do better I tell you. Some siblings and relatives are worse than the devil himself.

3. Indeed, God will judge us for the way we treat people. I have told myself a long time ago that, if a person has done wrong but the wrongdoing was against God and not against man, I will not judge. For example I'm friendly towards prostitutes, gays, lesbians, fornicators etc. So far as they are not hurting anyone, I won't discriminate against them

15. She need pshycological help and also will go to jail.

16. Asked if she was aware of the magnitude of her offence, she gave a wry smile, and muttered: “The most important thing is that I have killed the baby.”

Mental illness is real my people, rest in peace poor baby

17. The same story we read everyday.
    The boys want fornication, not the baby.
    The Yusuf has gone ahead to attend university and
    now you are the murderer and going to jail for a very long time.
    Why didn't you give the baby up for adoption or just give her to
    nuns to raise?
    Now, your family isn't behind you
    The "husband" you so much craved abandoned you.
    The education you so much craved, sacrificed.
    All because of spreading legs for a brat.
    And some of the ladies reading this will still open legs for
    guys professing that they love them.
    Nothing good comes out of pre-marital sex.
    Nothing good comes out of fornication.

18. Mental health awareness shouldn't be overlooked .
    This is really sad πŸ˜₯

19. looking at her you will see that she looks mentally unstable. Hope is not that kind challenge Adaeze Yobo explained that she faced when she gave birth.

20. she is no different from people who commit suicide because a lover left them. understand that it's okay for people to leave you and build yourself to withstand the worse. she will lie now that she is insane. you are sane, you just lack the capacity of seeing anything good in difficult situations. so basically all that intense romance was just out of secondary school and you say you wanted to study law? person when get focus on school no de focus on love sotey belle enter. So sad for the baby.

21. Jesus!.How can a mother purposely do this and seeing her child die.

Chukwu inozikwaya

22. I thought of Mental Health when I started reading.

Some families have negative patterns that are capable of being inherited.
    This is so sad really and still the law must take its course.

But are they not supposed to treat the lady first?

#LOVE😍

23. This is really heart wrenching. You made that child suffer, Jesus!!! Seeing your own child in such agony and u still continued till the child died is the highest level of wickedness! When they say u should stay away from premarital sex did u listen?? You think u were living life by having sex while u were looking for admission. Was it the child's fault?? Let me not say what I have in mind to u, you will definitely have reap what u sow

24. I feel sorry for her even with what she did and feel more sorry for the poor child, unfortunately the deed has been done, there is a family history of depression taking into account the sister's statement, she didn't get enough support from her family, getting mistakenly pregnant and having a child out of wedlock should not be the end of the world, if there is good family support.

25. 😟😟😟😟😟😟😟😟poor child came and left just like that.

26. Poor child..she would have given the child to someone.

27. She is mentally unstable,dey shld tk her to psychatic asap,were dun wo ko se bi lomo.

28. Now, she will get the law degree in jail.

I just pity that poor child....

29. Kolo mental. 'the most important thing is that the child is dead' 😭😭😭

30. But she should have accepted the admission and attend classes with her pregnancy or pregnancy is not allowed for law students?

1. Maybe her sponsors turned their backs on her when she got pregnant

31. She is depressed. I will not judge her cos it is not easy to be torn between not having food to eat, no accommodation, being a nuisance in your sibling's house, dream to being a lawyer vanishing before your eyes, no money etc

God will have mercy on her.

32. She’s not mentally ill. Having and raising a child is stressful, tasking emotionally and very expensive. She just saw her dreams slipping and she was not willing to continue it at that time. Babies are so cute but one truly has to be ready with all the support necessary before having a baby. She obviously did not have the support of her family. They could have paid her school fees and helped her care for the baby till she graduates but it’s obvious they were punishing her intentionally.

33. And now after killing the baby she will 100% have no chance of becoming a lawyer.

34. Raising a child as a single parent takes d Almighty Grace of God. Being a good mother also, weather married or single. Mother's day shd b well celebrated infact. RIP child. May dey b kind with her. PPD took a toll

35. This brings to mind the story yesterday about those ladies arrested by the police for attempting to buy and sell a baby. I wonder what will happen to them from then on. will the police compell the mother to take care of her child knowing fully well that she does not & cannot do that, such a scenario can lead to a tragedy like this. I need some one to rub mind with me so we can create an E-platform to smoothing the path of adoption, it will go a long way to solving some issues.