Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari Appoints Professor Gambari As His New Chief Of Staff

Tuesday, May 12, 2020

President Buhari Appoints Professor Gambari As His New Chief Of Staff

President Buhari has appointed 75 year old Professor Agboola Ibrahim Gambari as his new chief of staff.

Professor Gambari who is an indigene of Kwara State, was on Tuesday, May 12,2020..

60 comments:

1. Wow!! He shocked them, they didn't expect it.

1. The younger ones can be easily intimidated by the various cabals. They could be bought over or be doing yes sir, yes sir when they are expected to strictly follow protocols. Abah Kayari will be greatly missed. Congratulations Prof. Gambari.I pray for God's wisdom and protection upon you and yours.

2. What do you mean by he shocked them? That Gambari man is more of a northerner than southerner. He has lectured only in the northern part of Nigeria, has become more Hausa than Yoruba abd is in his 70s! What is the shock that is shocking anyone? Abeg it’s same old same old jare

3. 75 years???

What's the official retirement age in Nigeria?

4. 19:01, he'll flaw you without even trying in any intellectual capacity.
      Please check out his profile. Only lectured in the north? You have no idea!

5. Anonymous. He lectured in several universities.
      Prof. Gambari attended Kings College, Lagos, as well as the London School of Economics where he obtained a B.Sc. (Economics) degree in Political Science with a specialty in International Relations, Professor Gambari received M.A. and Ph.D. in 1970 and 1974 respectively both in Political Science/International Relations from New York’s Columbia University.
      A stint lecturing at the City University of New York and the State University of New York (Albany) in 1969-74. He returned to Nigeria where he taught at the Ahmadu Bello University in Zaria and rose to the rank of Professor in 1983. He was Head of the Department of Political Science in 1982-1983, where he founded the first undergraduate Programme in International Studies in Nigeria.
      Professor Gambari was appointed Director-General of the Nigerian Institute of International Affairs in October 1983, a position he held until his appointment as the youngest ever Minister of External Affairs. He was Visiting Professor at the John Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies, in Baltimore; lecturer at both Georgetown University and Howard University in Washington, D.C.; a Research Fellow at Brookings Institution, Washington, D.C and a Resident Scholar at Rockefeller Foundation Bellagio Study and Conference Centre, Italy.

Prior to joining the UN Secretariat in December 1999, Professor Ibrahim Gambari holds the record of being the longest serving Ambassador/Permanent Representative of Nigeria to the United Nations (January 1990 to October 1999). As Nigeria’s Ambassador to the UN, he was a senior member of the Nigerian Delegation to ten consecutive sessions of the General Assembly (44th to 54th); he also served as President of the Security Council on two occasions (May 1994 and October 1995).

Apart from chairing the UN Special Committee on PeaceKeeping Operations from 1990-1999, he led several United Nations missions, including the Special Committee against Apartheid and the Security Council missions to South Africa, Burundi, Rwanda and Mozambique. He served as member of the Board of Trustees of the United Nations Institute of Training and Research (UNITAR) from 1993 to 1999 and also as President of the Executive Board of UNICEF (January to December, 1999).

Professor Gambari apart from publishing articles in national and international scholarly journals, he has authored globally acclaimed books which include: Theory and Reality in Foreign Policy Decision Making, Comparative Study of Regional Economic Integration; the Case of ECOWAS and The Domestic Politics of Nigeria’s Foreign Policy. Some of his forthcoming books include Africa’s Security Questions at the End of the 20th Century into the New Millennium and The United Nations in a Changing World Order: An African Perspective.
      In recognition of his distinguished diplomatic and scholarly careers, he was in 1985 became the first African to be conferred with the title of ‘Honorary Professor by Chugsan University’ which was founded by and named after Dr. Sun Yat Sen, leader of the 1911 Peasant Revolution and first President of Nationalist China. The University of Bridgeport (USA) awarded him the Doctor of Humane Letters degree (honoris causa) in 2002; the prestigious Johns Hopkins University elected him to membership of the University’s Society of Scholars in 2002 and the Government of Nigeria awarded him the national honour of Commander of the Federal Republic (CFR) in 2003. He was also honoured by various associations including the Nigerian Lawyer Association, New York in 2006.
      Professor Gambari is the founder of the Savannah Centre for Diplomacy, Democracy and Development, a non-governmental “think-tank” in Abuja, which is devoted to critical analyses of – and solutions to – the problems of conflict prevention, management and resolution, as well as democratization and sustainable development in Africa.

6. 75 years old... Nawa o

2. What’s with Nigerian leaders and old age?
    I thought we were told that children are the leaders of tomorrow. When is tomorrow??
    Congratulations to the Dear Sir tho.

1. Children are leaders of next tomorrow 😔😔

2. This COS position is personal to the President. He is personal staff. Read the constitution on appointments.

3. More like leaders of next week 🤣

4. Which children, which youth, the ones that have emerged leaders what good has come from them? Name one youthful person who is doing any good anywhere. All of them behaving like hungry clowns.

3. Why old man instead of young vibrant man

1. The post of the CoS is not for omo kekere o.

2. Abi, 'which vibrant young man's do you know?
      The social media activitist that got there and turned to lap dog?
      Thd journalists that got there and now use anus to talk?
      Abeg.

4. Another old man as COS.
    Oh heavenly father, Nigeria is in your hands.Another old man as COS.
    Oh heavenly father, Nigeria is in your hands.

5. Another Housa man? I give up on Naija!

1. Please read next time. It was stated from kwara state and the Agboola in his name should tell you he’s yoruba. Kai... shaking my head for you not only naija. I’m not in support cos the man is in his 70’s sha

2. More of a Yoruba man,he is from Ilorin Kwara state.
      Ilorin people are Yoruba's forget the Ilorin/fulani history

3. He behaves more like a northerner please. He has never worked in southern Nigeria, was minister in Buharis military era and has always stayed close to the north

4. 19:04,

Please go and read the post from 20:39.

Of all his many achievements, you chose to pick on a short period in his career. You see, the youths are not serious.

A lot of organisations have a succession crisis in their hands.

To whom, will they handover?
      We have the handful of youths that can be chosen, but let's be honest, based on how we portray ourselves on Social media platforms, in our workplaces, on blogs, would YOU take US, seriously?

Majority of us do not have a plan except "to be rich". Ask about the how and the Crickets begin to chirp.

That is exactly the problem our country faces.

The COS has to be 150% cerebral. Exposed. Several steps ahead of who he/she is reporting to.

He or she must be emotionally intelligent as well as understand the integrity (discretion) required of that office.

Can we find someone younger? Probably. But remember, the COS must also be a TRUSTED aide. He/she isn't reporting to us but to his/her subject.

Even in organisations, the MD's most senior PA is more "important" than the DMD.

I am sure that we have a good number of people that can fit the role, but it's a personal position and it's important that the parties concerned are comfortable with one another.

We want more as youths, in my opinion, we are not ready.

6. Upon all the young people we have he must appoint people over 70 years for such post. Na wah oo.
    Congratulations Grandpa for your appointment.

7. Grandpa appointing anoda grandpa as cos. Na waa o. Eyin youths where una de?

8. This is a chess game.. I never knew our President will go to Saraki state.
    Congratulations Sir, I pray we see some changes in our country

9. Lady_Jay he's not hausa, he's from Kwara State.

10. Congratulations Sir. Our President prefers people of his generation. It's all good.

May the Lord help you to influence Mr President and the 3 arms of government for the benefit of every Nigerian. May you administrate ASO Rock effectively and for good in Jesus,Amen.

#LOVE😍

11. Other countries have younger, more energetic people. Naija!

1. Not totally true,Trump is an old man.

2. How old is Trump and how old is Hilary? Seems we just like to type Sha.

3. Yes, some countries do. But why do we keep going on about age? Having said that, the US we like to emulate , aside from Hilary that is 72 as at today, the presidential aspirants are all mid- late 70's. Bernie Sanders, Joe Bidden and Mr Trump himself. Though Bernie has dropped out. We have not heard Americana whine about the ages of these people. Let's take on our leaders from the angle of competency or lack of.

12. Replies
    1. We couldn't care less whether you do.

2. Whho the heck is "we"? Speak for yasef abeg

3. Anons, make una no kill una selves o.

13. Precious raregem12 May 2020 at 18:16

Bubu well done sir.This is the reason we are where we are where here today. Grandpa tv bringing grandpa remote to control him🤣🤣🤣

1. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣@ grandpa Tv bringing grandpa remote.

2. Precious gem, good morning.

Is this the best we can do?.

No intelligent comeback?

This is it? Youths and leaders of tomorrow indeed! Shame on us!!!!

14. Future leaders of tomorrow left this group chat😔

15. congrats baba...
    abeg when you wan wash am for the boys?

16. Prof Gambari? Wow,congrats gentle gentle,man.

He is 75? haha
    I know him in 1986 during common entrance period for something he sorted at the airport,he was in the corridors of power with police orderly following him,75 bawo.

Anyway,he is over qualified for the position and will surely do well.

1. XhirtedP, he was the youngest minister at the time. That's the issue with us. We are so busy wasting time that we are 30 and still trying to figure it out

We keep saying it's the economy, we forget that most of our parents, parents had to do all manner of menial stuff to ensure their kids; our parents get basic education.

Then most of them got scholarships and went abroad or started on a trade to give us a better life than they had

These days, most parents just want to acquire the right bag, or pepper the neighbours so instead of investing in assets, they invest in liabilities etc etc.

We keep saying the oldies aren't given a chance. No one gave them a chance.

They took IT!

17. Congratulations to Prof. Gambari. Asides the age issue, Gambari is eminently qualified. As for Buhari not appointing a youth, we have youths like Gov. Bello of Kogi State, who is a huge dissapointment in governance.

18. A lot of people did not study history in primary school. That he is Agboola from Kwara state does not mean he is kwara yoruba. The Gambari family is solidly Hausa/Fulani oligarchy! The British stopped the Yorubas from getting imprint back and installed a northern Emir. Again I went to an FGGC when they were the equivalent of the prep schools you see in England, no boast! They made you learn a different language, 4 people are a whole chicken, you had snacks at 11am, they knew your parents would pick you but still have you transport money end of term! Best of all you competed to get in and they gave us the best teachers when teaching was a respected profession in Nigeria. We even had a US PhD as a teacher of a subject! Why go into history from late seventies to early eighties? Most of you do not know the real history of how the British created the mess called Nigeria from Lugard, he is not my Lord to independence! Butting Igbo heads against Yorubas as they were perceived as more cerebral and a threat to British hegemony and imperialism. I don’t blame you, some Obas are now calling themselves “Imperial Majesty”, it’s no wonder many of us forget the meaning of imperialism! For the umpteenth time, Prof Gambari is qualified for the job but he is also qualified for a Senior living facility if we have one. He should have retired and mentored younger generations to take over!

Why is mentoring so difficult and why do they all want to die in office? We allow them! Use SM to make money but use it to educate and remind folks of what should be, the nation is fast becoming a nation of forgetful ignorant people. The Gambaris symbolize everything wrong with oligarchy! Like his boss, they have been in the corridors of power since I was 4/5 years old and I’m in my fifties! They have not allowed naija to benefit from fresh ideas that other generations may bring to the table. Wole Soyinka the Nobel winner called his generation “ a wasted generation”. His produced Fela that made it to Broadway posthumously, sponsored by Jay Z and African Americans that still wonder about the genius. His generation produced Thomas Sankara, the hands on Burkinabe President that was assasinated by imperialist French forces, his generation produced his cousin Beko Ransone Kuti, Fawehinmi, Col Umar, a Fulani man that was a pain to his oligarchy for wanting an equitable Nigeria, Balarabe Musa, and Ojukwu who having seen all these had wanted it resolved since the 60s! Yet because they failed, he called them wasted. What do we call the generations 3, generations after Soyinka’s? Growing up very few wanted to live overseas, people came to study and came back home to a good society! Lugard’s evil came of age and the failures of Awo, Zik, Ojukwu etc to come together to amicably separate May end in an acrimonious divorce at some point if we don’t use words, wise words to prompt those who hold power to distribute and use it wisely. If we don’t tell the rich in all ethnicities to get wisdom like the Bible says. Why did Awo make education, quality education free? He knew that good education makes a society boom! The British handed power to the Muslim north rather than the then overwhelmingly CHRISTIAN south. Had that made us ponder why? They knew the Filani’s are spread over countries in Africa and were good at suppressing other groups! Get wisdom in your youth, never address an oba or monarch as imperial majesty. Imperialism, colonialism are bad. It’s why naija became worse and worse, forget the few fancy houses and the single decor bridge to lekki! Some small towns have multiples of that and I wonder if it wasn’t built at 100 times the real cost! No abuse, curse goes straight back to sender. I just want a better Nigeria for those who live there and to show my descendants!

1. 06:02,

Your view is noted. While I disagree with some of your views, i understand what you are trying to get at.

Let me pick just one area to address.

You mentioned that the likes of Prof should mentor Youths. I agree, but Where are the Mentees?

Remember, unlike coaching, a Mentee must be willing. Unlike coaches that may seek out a talent to upskill, a Mentee seeks out his or her mentor.

I already shared my view on this post yesterday, and I reiterate, we are not yet ready. Very few people will read your comment because they'll say it's too long. Or they'll come at you with rude words instead of an opinion.

This post generated about 50 comments, watch the post about something less intellectual blow up with comments and trading of derogatory remarks.

I started to visit this blog a few years ago because the posts and comments on another blog lacked depth. But it seems a number of them have also come here.

Phew!

2. 8.26 defender of Mr Gambari, we've seen you all over the comments, go and rest!

3. 09:58,

Exactly the type of statement that is expected from "us". Lacklustre!

I am not defending him. I know of him but I do not know him.

I am concerned with "US". When appointments like this come up, it reminds me of "US" and how bland our characters are as "youths".

4. Abegi, go and sit down 😒 It is you and yours that are bland. Continue defending 75 year olds ehn.

5. Thank your stars my subsequent reply to you wasn't posted. Mschew.