Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: New Study Alleges Summer Heat Can Kill Coronavirus In 34 Minutes...

Wednesday, June 24, 2020

New Study Alleges Summer Heat Can Kill Coronavirus In 34 Minutes...

The strong summer sun is capable of wiping out 90 percent or more of coronavirus living on surfaces in just 34 minutes, a new study has found.

Scientists suggest that “midday sunlight in most US and world cities during summer” is extremely effective in inactivating the virus that causes COVID-19 when it’s been coughed or sneezed onto a surface, according to the study published earlier this month.

It found the virus is most infectious from December until March — when it can live on surfaces for up to a day or more “with risk of re-aerosolization and transmission in most of these cities.”

The study, which appeared in the journal Photochemistry and Photobiology, was authored by Jose-Luis Sagripanti and David Lytle — scientists who are retired from the US Army and Food and Drug Administration, respectively.

The pair examined how well UVB in sunlight was in destroying the virus in various cities across the globe during different times of the year. They used a model that’s previously estimated solar inactivation of viruses like Ebola and Lassa.

The study also suggests that the mandatory stay-at-home orders issued in hopes of stopping the spread of coronavirus may have been more harmful than good.

“In contrast, healthy people outdoors receiving sunlight could have been exposed to lower viral dose with more chances for mounting an efficient immune response,” the study said.

Past research has shown that during the Spanish flu outbreak of 1918-’19, patients who were exposed to fresh air and sunshine in “open-air hospitals” may have had a better chance at survival.

The new evidence comes months after health experts shot down the idea that the virus doesn’t spread as much in hotter climates.

from the New York times

26 comments:

1. As in eh.. The world has never been more confused.

2. Okay and the terrible heat in Nigeria is not capable abi? Hmmmm! You people should continue deceiving yourselves. If you like don't enable na your way I don't care

3. Is summer heat hotter than kano weather? Abi kano coro na audio, no wonder Kogi hot like hell fire

1. Anty, it says the coughed out or deposited virus ' on surfaces' where the rays can hit it directly ,not the virus inside the body.

4. No wonder e no fit survive for africa🤣🤣🤣🤣

5. I knew it. Our climate has always been an advantage. Finally, Asiri NCDC ati Ministry of health ti tu. That fresh looking, fair NCDC boss, you better repent before it's too late.

6. You see am nowww

7. Covid is still playing hide n seek with scientists.

1. Scientists are getting confused about facts with the deadly virus. Unfortunately our own weather is getting cooler by day because of the rain. It is well.

8. If the sun in USA can kill in 34min, the Virus won't survive in 10mins in southern Nigeria and lesser minutes in the North.

9. Middle East nko.

1. You dey mind them. When you have a president as dumb as Trump, you'll say rubbish.

10. We've always known that the heat in Africa has been the reason our numbers are still low, if not na helele.

11. I disagree. Naija sun is hotter than this las Vegas sun but yet new cases daily.

12. Opening your mouth wide in the afternoon hot sun will do the needful.

1. 😀 ok native doctor

2. 🤣🤣🤣🤣. You're a clown Gifty

13. I am amazed that people still haven't put two and two together concerning this virus in Nigeria! What does this recent info tell you? I am sure that some of you do not even know that WHO said that asymptomatic cases transferring the virus is very rare. My people, please think critically, please!!

1. WHO has been going back and forth with its statements concerning the virus since the pandemic started.

14. so Kano is cold abi?? protect yourselves o ..too many infections going on..dont wait to know if you have underlying issues a lot of people who died didn't know that they had underlying ...because we don't normally do checkups

15. We said it but ncdc said no. Now they will say yes to it because the superior race, the white, just confirmed it. You see, we ain't the same

16. Rubbish.

Those in the middle east nko where it is sunny all year round? 🙄
    The major reason Africans seem immune to the virus is because we've been battling malaria for years with anti malaria drugs. Our immune system is stronger than that of whites who don't have malaria.

Most of the people dying from it in Africa are adults and those with one sickness before eg hbp etc.

17. Hmmmmmm, na wa..o every day new discoveries ,coro do and go abeg