Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Govt Announces When Schools Will Reopen

Tuesday, June 09, 2020

Nigerian Govt Announces When Schools Will Reopen

Schools in Nigeria were shut down in March 2020 after the outbreak of coronavirus in the Country and on reopening ,Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba, says that may happen,when the ban on interstate travel is lifted.

Nwajiuba stated this during the Presidential Task Force (PTF) on COVID-19 daily briefing in Abuja on Monday.
He insisted that the federal government was not willing to take chances with the health of children.

“As soon as those in charge of the blockade lift it because there is no way we can open our schools if teachers can’t come. We are looking at somewhere after the interstate lockdown is lifted.
Because we will need that kind of openness for the children to move,”  
from dailypost

56 comments:

1. Hmmm Isreal opened their schools and they started recording new positive cases of students and teachers so the closed down the schools again, God help us.

2. No school for my kids for now we can all see what Israel is facing

3. Interstate ban ko
      That thing isn't working, people moving freely from one state to another.

2. Where is the date na?

1. I tire..
      No school until 3rd term. Parents are not in haste now because school fees will become an issue.

3. It is safe? Will there be social distancing in the schools? Will the schools do all they can to enforce it on the kids, the teachers and all???

1. It's not safe abeg. They should just reopen schools in September and give automatic promotion to the next class. No need to hurry please. So far so good the online school is going on fine.

2. or do 3rd term for a month.

4. This is no great news. How are children supposed to be protected? Even those in higher institutions how do they maintain social distancing when more than ten students share a small room and with overcrowded lecture halls.

I don't see the need for hurry they should at least try and put certain things in place before opening schools. Even the private schools clamouring for schools to resume will rather do things to maximize profit than doing the right things to protect our kids. We all know how Nigerians cut corners so nothing like law enforcement agencies to make sure laid down guide lines are followed.
    God will help us. My children are not resuming now. I will home school them.

1. Exactly. That's my fear.

2. Countries preparing for school resumption are already putting structures in place to make it safe for students. The FGN will wait until the very day of resumption and start scampering about like they didn't have enough time. Nigerian government is all mouth and no action.

3. Exactly no school for my children yet,till a vaccine is readily available to be given to the children before resumption like they do for us in the 80"s or else,na house we go dey gidigba

4. Adults are not practicing social distancing and wearing of face mask then you could imagine what the kids would do...

5. At the end of the day he did not say anything.
    Money on my mind.

6. Heard that yesterday but hope it's safe for our students and teachers?

1. I've told my nieces and nephew that they should try to bear the home lesson for now... till further notice

7. Great news. but when will the interstate travel ban be lifted???

8. I won't even let my kids out of the house. Ordinary catarrh, they share it like sweet, not to talk of corona. Check Israel that had to close schools after opening.. thousands of kids on quarantine.. I can't deal abeg

1. Lol @ ordinary catarrh, they share it like sweet. In my opinion, I don't schools should resume now.

2. 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣@ share it like sweets...

3. Lmao @ share like sweet
      That's hilarious .

4. Even measles, not to talk of covid19

9. No date for now.
    Maybe next year.
    My children will stay at home abeg,cant risk their life

10. Abeg interstate ban should be lifted o,schools should reopen.

11. They should allow the children be joor... Schools should remain closed until September. Only those writing entrance exam should be allowed to resume

12. Okay o. My friend said most parents saying school shouldn't open are those owing school fees of last term😂. Actually they take their kids to the market, church,their kids visit friends too so why the No?

1. My friend even told me those parents clamoring for schools to open are lazy mothers who can't handle their children excess and always wants to put all the children wahala on the teachers,they can't bear to be with their children as they just want to be slaying on nonsense up and down😏is it true?well as for me sha,we paid for online classes and it is going well and I prefer it,just my data but it is better to be safe than sorry.

2. You're very correct methuselah. They don't want to take responsibilities for their kids. You need to see how badly behaved some of these kids are, especially those in boarding schools.

3. What nonsense are you saying? What about those who cannot afford data for their kids?

13. Please oooo, they should announce it o, as a teacher, I'm tired of staying at home. no money, no private lessons, no salary. God come to my aides.

1. @horlabisi be a bit proactive - 1.)start an online lesson for neighbourhood children who are not already on one 2.)or home school some neighbours children in their own homes.
      That way, the parents could ensure you are observing all the protocols right in their own homes

You could alternate the days of the week or families you teach.

Now, you got this money-making advice free. Go on and help yourself. ❣️

2. Nice advice anon 🤗🤗
      Horlabisi try this and I pray it works for you .

14. I don't like this news. These ppl want to re open for their selfish gains,private schools especially.

1. in my opinion if after proper consultation, things are not in place for children to go back to school , schools shouldn't be open .
      Well my nephews are still learning online and it doesnt seem theyre resuming any time soon.
      Life first !!!

15. I think they should just allow SS 3 and j.S.s 3 students to resume then after the WEAC exams we consider the rest.

1. Good point but how do you monitor who they are in contact with to and fro school especially for students that use public transport?

16. Are they even considering the little kids that don't know how to protect themselves

17. I honestly can't wait as the experiences these past few months have been terrible.

I'm so leaving this field once I can.

People keep saying the reward of teachers is in heaven forgetting we have to live before we die.

Teaching isn't a profession for the faint hearted abeg.

Big ups to teachers; It'll soon be over.

1. I understand you perfectly dear. Its not easy to be a teacher at all.🤗

18. So many teachers especially at the private sector who thru this covid 19 lockdown have discovered their pay can't save them in times of crisis may not resume. They may find alternatives. Learnt a headmistress is now into for business n has vowed not to resume.Tell me how dchools will not be affected. It may take time for so many schools to be ready for the teaching n learning stuff. May God help us

19. How many parents will take the risk? Dunno if it's good news.

20. In my opinion, jss3 and ss3 should be allowed to resume cos of their exams.

21. I'm a teacher in a private school and I know how school owners cut corners and give bribe to government officials that came for inspection. And those things won't be put in place. I'm scared of this covid pandemic period. How are they going to monitor pupils and teachers? What measures will be put in place? Even though I have not collected salary since February and been a single mother, It has not been easy but I'm not clamouring for resumption without making sure that our kids will learn in a safe environment.

22. They people are not serious at all, how can the think of that when the are yet to get any vaccine for it, my children are not going to any school until their strong measures that is put in place.