Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Oba Of Benin Speaks Says Godfatherism Must End In Edo Elections

Friday, June 19, 2020

Oba Of Benin Speaks Says Godfatherism Must End In Edo Elections

Omo N’Oba N’Edo Uku Akpolokpolo, oba Ewuare II, oba of Benin, says “godfatherism” and “consensus candidate” must be eradicated from the politics of Edo state.

In a statement seen by the Cable on Thursday, the oba said political vices of Godfatherism and Consensus Candidate are antithetical to the fundamental basis of democracy.

Osagie Ize-Iyamu, a governorship aspirant in Edo, is backed by Adams Oshiomhole, suspended national chairman of All Progressives Congress (APC). The coast is also now clear for Ize-Iyamu after two aspirants dropped out of the race for the party’s ticket and endorsed him.

“The Omo N’Oba strongly advised that in order to eschew recurrent socio political conflict that seems to constantly ravish the state, making Edo people a laughing stock to the rest of the country in how politicians manage the affairs of Edo people, Edo political actors must eradicate the twin evil political vices of Godfatherism and consensus candidate.

14 comments:

1. True Oba,it will end when you all agree to stop recycling criminals

2. The Paramount head has spoken ...so shall it be!!.
    Let me see who will counter it

3. Why didn't he say something when Oshiomhole imposed Obaseki on APC four years ago. Was he sleeping when Obaseki imposed a speaker on the house of Assembly. Did the shrine in the place blind his eyes when Obaseki made sure only 9 members of the house of Assembly were sworn in last year instead of 24. He is a hypocrite abeg. If you don't like something speak out on time , don't wait till it is happening to a Bini man like you.

Alexander

1. Exactly! He was busy marrying slay queens up and down! Nonsense Oba I miss his father who took the throne seriously!

2. You're right. I have little or no respect for our so called traditional rulers,I don't know who is more corrupt between the traditional rulers and politicians.

3. Thank you anon 15:52 he is so corrupt, I just miss his father. Go on ig you will see one of his so called slay queen supporting all these bini girls in Italy doing giveaways for God knows what!

4. Oba you have spoken like a father unlike the one that will ask people to go and jump into the lagoon.

1. You just had to go there didn't you, simpleton.

5. This Oba got swag, now I see why he's on slay Queens parole.

I pray peace reign in Edo state politics.

6. Oshomole wants to pull tinubu/ambode card in Edo but e no work... Just look at how he tranished his reputation he but as a labour chairman all these years and Apc reduced him to zero minimum... He commands so much respect as labour chairman then. Now Apc Don use am finish dump am like spoilt eba....