Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: A Parent Who Leads Or Who Follows......

Friday, July 31, 2020

A Parent Who Leads Or Who Follows......

What is your opinion on this?Forget the 'fawuls' and concentrate on the message...

50 comments:

1. The one behind. She will be aware of what's happening especially when the hawk shows up.

1. @Cynthia
      And you don't ever think that the hawk can show up from the mother's behind?
      So that's how you be a mother? 😏😏😏😏😏😏😏

2. The one that leads cos it is the parent's footsteps that the child or children sure will learn from and follow

3. @Adivinci, from behind the parent can clearly see the children and help direct and align their steps.
      From the front, each time they turn to confirm their children are following correctly, they, the parent will not be aware of what is ahead thereby everyone becomes misaligned.

2. When I was growing up, my mother led us, and we
    always depended on her wisdom on
    vital issues. We gathered
    around her in the kitchen and
    she taught us to cook. Now that is the NORM.
    In today's twitter/IG days,
    Mothers follow "celebs" and co (who don't know where they are going)
    on social media. 24/7 on the (beeping) smartphones. By nightfall and the kids have not eaten real meals,
    they gather (junk) takeaways.
    Busybodies. 🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️🀸🏻‍♀️

3. The one who follows.

4. Both ways of parenting embodies how to train up a child..

During their formative years, the parent must lead i.e train up the children.

During their developed years, the parent should follow even if it means allowing them make mistakes on their own and learning from them. Experiencing failure helps a child to cope(a skill that parents can't give), it allows them see the world in their own eyes and go on to live a fulfilled life.

1. Welcome dear. Its so good to have you back.

2. Welcome back bv Perxian. You are highly missed.

3. It's good to have you back. Cheer up!

4. Welcome back Perxian....Good to have you back...

5. nicely said perxie πŸ€—πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ

6. Welcome back dear. 😘

The one that leads for me.

7. I completely agree with you.

8. Perfect answer. Welcome back dear πŸ’•

9. You're right. Both parenting styles are good and applied at different phases of kids development.
      Lerxian, welcome back. How've you been?

10. I concur. Parenting has to be a mixture of the two for me. You have to know when to lead as a parent and when to allow the kids be in the front while you direct from behind. That way they can find themselves,learn to be discerning and direct themselves.

5. I think the one who leads is much better as the children will be watching her footsteps and she will simultaneously behave rightly as she is being observed by her children.

6. The one behind her kids. She knows everything about them as they are in close sight

7. The one that follows. At least you watch them move and can protect them. However it can give room for micromanagement

8. A good parent knows when to lead and when to follow depending on the circumstances. Its after they teach their children by leading they can sit back and follow.

9. The one who follows.
    While following, They watch and observe everyone for their good and bad, They know their strengths and weaknesses. that way, they understand best on how to be a better parent to the children.

10. One should be both but display either at different times.

At the early stage of their lives, it is important to be at the back and monitor their movements and help ensure their safety at all times. As they grow older, it is then important to trust that they have learnt the right values and should be able to make sound judgements. It is at this point, you 'could' then stay in front whilst giving them the assurance that they can always call your attention when help is needed.

So, the stage and situation dictates which role one should have to play.

11. Both aspects are needed depending on the circumstance.

There are some areas where the children will definitely know more than the parents, in that instance, you allow them take the lead while you watch and give inputs here and there.

There are also subjects where you are
    better equipped with knowledge and they have to trail behind and learn while you do your thing.

12. The wisdom in parenting is knowing when to switch roles.

13. The one who follow,she is aware of all the happening around them and see all the dangers

14. Replies
    1. Where is middle?
      madam lead your kids (by example)
      not by talkativeness. 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

2. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚, Onyealaa!! You must shaa give odd answersπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

15. Six(6) and Nine(9) will always be different depending on the angle you are looking at it from..
    Tilt the 6,it becomes 9..and vice versa..

What I'm I saying? Every child is different,and so is the character of each on earth..

In my opinion,None of the parenting skill above is a one size fits all..

If you lead;the kids can follow and still derail when you aren't watching as a parent..

If you follow;the kids might miss the track and also derail..cos it's all new to them..

I will prefer being at the centre;today I lead,tomorrow I follow..
    The kids get an experience of both world and I then sit them each time to advice and also correct where necessary whilst citing life experiences of others or me in the past;and how we thrived..

The "centre view" to me is just like a circle,from the centre I can easily have a 360 degree view of what is happening from any point,then correct before it becomes a wrong choice/lifestyle for the child..

@MARTINS

1. Wisdom will not kill you Martins.
      Abeg na inside this small body the wisdom dey abi you get reservoir somewhere?

2. πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘Œ

16. In my opinion, the two is better. You lead by good example. And follow to make sure they are your good biddings.

17. The one who follow,she is aware of all the happenings around and see all the dangers

18. ngozi umegbolu31 July 2020 at 14:26

The one who follows,she is aware of all the happenings around and see all the dangers

19. Both parenting are needed at one point or the other. It's all depends on the stage of their lives and the characters of the children...

20. There is a time in life parent needs to lead ,in marriage,career and character etc children will learn from them .....Then a time will come the parent will follow the children ,protecting,guiding and helping them achieve their goals but they will enjoy at old age if only the parent did a good job while leading..

21. Both is needed in parenting.

22. Both for me, a good mother should lead and also follow

23. A good parent must do both at different times. I pray that we will be that to our kids.

24. Both is needed in parenting. Lead them in the right path when they are young and follow them and monitor them from behind when they are grown.

25. Both even at the middle. Just like Martin's stated, parents should be at angle 360 degree

26. Both is needed in parenting as they are the responsibilities of the parents in ensuring the bring up children who will make them proud.

27. The both.
    Infront when the kids are small to be their role model for them to follow his or her footsteps.
    Behind as their cheerleader when they are grown to be their support system.