Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Adventures Of Oko Ashawo The Uber Driver - 31

Saturday, July 04, 2020

Adventures Of Oko Ashawo The Uber Driver - 31

This week started on a bright note as I looked forward to the second half of the year. Though it has been challenging with targets not met, I still thank God because many others have lost their jobs while some have even lost their lives to the pandemic. 

On July 1st, I went out as usual doing my work and after buying fuel from a petrol station, I received a request for a trip. As we were on the way, the car jerked and stopped suddenly when I was close to my passenger’s destination. I tried starting the car repeatedly but it kept failing.

He then paid and left me to sort out the car issues.

I tried to call my mechanic for ideas but his number didn’t go through. Fortunately, there was a mechanic workshop nearby so I got someone from there to fix it. We discovered that the petrol I bought was mixed with water, which we drained out. I had to replace the fuel pump as well.

I was hungry and settled to eat in a canteen nearby while the car was still being fixed. Shortly afterwards, a little girl of about 8 years old came in crying profusely. The woman who owns the canteen asked her what the issue was and the girl said her father was beating her mother again, which showed that it was a regular occurrence.

Immediately, she excused herself and ran to the next shop where the incident was occurring. By then, a few people had gathered. The woman at the next shop is a petty trader whose husband had come to request for money but was being beaten because she refused.

We learnt that the man lost his job a few months ago due to the pandemic and has become dependent solely on his wife. Also, his wife refused to give him money on the grounds that he would end up using it to drink and spend on his girlfriends.

The matter was still being settled when I left the mechanic workshop. I couldn’t help but thank God that my situation is a lot better. Most of all, I pitied that little girl who has been witnessing her parents fight all the time, wondering the kind of mind-set she would grow up with.

I have a friend who grew up hating his father who always physically abused his mother. Unfortunately, he is divorced today because he also physically abused his wife.

Children are always badly affected by growing up in Violent homes and become exactly like where they grew up from.....Hmmmmm!

I wonder why some broke men end up using their wives as punching bags.....Is there a reason for their or is it an illness?

My people make i enter road find work.....E don tey sef wey man ''chop'' better food...This Coronavirus eh just spoil market everywhere...................Ashawo market no sell again and i am sure Instagram alleged slay queen no longer slay cos no one is looking.........Everywhere dry!

E go be! (corner eyes at SDK)

35 comments:

1. Oh dear, my heart goes out to that poor child growing up with an abusive father, watching her parents fight all the time. I only hope she does not grow up to see this as normal 😏

2. This Pandemic don spoil market o... Chai

1. It’s so pathetic.....oko ashawo shebi you still de see small small one naira, what what people wey no de see shingba? Just thank God for yourself o...

4. No worry oko ashewo, you go see customer, you go sell.

5. Is better to be divorced than to turn a punching bag in the hands of one psycho all in the name of marriage

1. The only time my ex beat me up was in the presence of my kids. They still talk about it till date. I feel bad that I didnt leave him before it happened and even after he kept threatening to do it again. I dont regret leaving but anytime I remember how he almost killed me in the presence of my kids, i shiver at what might have happened. I still have stitches at the back of my head

2. @Anon 14:54, thank God you're alive to tell the story. It's better to leave an abusive relationship alive than to leave in a casket

6. ok ashawo don land.may God save their marriage.

7. My favorite post.
    I feel for the little girl.

8. Anger, frustrations and the feelings of being worthless can push a man to turn his wife to a punching bag.

It's still not an excuse.

May God help us.

9. The man should be ashamed of himself. There is nothing wrong with borrowing from a spouse but how can you give the money to a girlfriend! I pity that young girl and the wife too.

1. Most adults repeat the treatment and altitude they received from their parents to their kids, it takes an effort to correct it

10. I feel for that girl,I pray that she grows up and become better than her parents.
    Coronavirus really spoilt a lot of things o.
    May God provide for us all and keep us safe.

11. May God confort that little child

12. I also grew up to see my father abuse my mother. But I made a vow never to do that to my wife to be. I don't think it's a general theory oko ashewo

13. This is why some women hide their money and properties from their husbands.

14. Oko ashewo keep the positive spirit going, God go continue to bless your hustle🙏🏾

Men who beat their wife for whatsoever flimsy or stupid reason they want to justify it for are stupid and shameless, why not channel all that anger and frustration into something positive or since they don’t want to man up and are eager to be stupid during pain or bad times,let them go and fight other angry men just as them or even face the police or sars killing people, i just feel pity for that poor child because truly it will affect her mental health and she might see physical abuse as normal later on when she starts dating or feel if a man don’t beat their spouse then they don’t love them, i remember one time during my final year in my hostel, when one stupid man came to the hostel to beat his baby mama because she refused to go out with him during exam period, i lost it as the little child was crying and i was fond of him, i went inside after i could not take it anymore and gave him a proper beating then he stood up and went to break bottle, it was our gateman that then held him down from behind and we both beat him mercilessly that day, he was also very lucky that most of my hostel guys were not around that evening.😫

1. The violence they exhibit is like an evil spirit that takes over them. You'll see them crawling on their knees begging, promising heaven and earth yet they repeat it again. 🙄

2. You are lucky am married. You sound like such a good guy. Keep it up. I hope you find someone worthy of you. ☺️

3. They are possessed

Run from them

15. Chai,it will affect that poor child,but the truth is if she hates what see saw as a child in the future, she will flare from any man or anything that screams violence.

1. Unfortunately, she may end up attracting such men to herself 🤦

16. I feel so sorry for that girl.

But why do women endure abuse in marriage?

I can't date an abusive person how much more marry him.The moment you say anything like ""if I slap you or you shut me down from talking na fourfourty o,I won't wait till you show me sample o,no amount of begging can make me go back to such relationship.

So I wonder why women stay on in it,I just wonder

17. Most men grow up to be exactly like their fathers. Even if they hated whatever they did. If ur father had a child outside while married to ur mother chances are so would u. If ur father beat ur mother chances are so would u. It’s just the truth

18. You're so right on this one. My dad used to beat up my mum a lot and I thought I wasn't affected by it. Not until last year I was pregnant,and my husband did something,and I slapped him. Initially,I blamed it on hormones since I was pregnant, but I've also come to realise that it has so so much to do with my background. I regret my actions so much, and would never do such again.

1. Oh dear, it's well with you dear. I pray God helps you to overcome this fully 🙏🏿

2. Oh dear, it's well with you dear. I pray God helps you to overcome this fully 🙏🏿

3. Ask GOD to purge you of every spirit of anger , resentment and evil family patterns

19. One of my favorites post

20. I feel for the child cos have been in that shoes before... I grew up to meet my dad abusing my mum on a daily basis on her right but I thank God that the beating is now an history.. So I always pray not to marry a man like my father.

Oko ashewo don't worry the pandemic will soon be over everything will return to normal