Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Adventures Of Oko Ashawo The Uber Driver - 33

Saturday, July 18, 2020

Adventures Of Oko Ashawo The Uber Driver - 33

Some people will go to any extent to make money.....ANY EXTENT!!!

I got talking with a passenger as I was taking him to his destination and we discussed about the difficult economic situation in the country.

Mycustomer is married and in his early thirties, and has been laid off from work for the past 3 months due to the coronavirus pandemic. He asked me about the e-hailing business and how he can start driving on the platforms to make a living.

As we talked i mentioned how our youth have been negatively impacted by the likes of Hushpuppi and how people are not willing to work to make an honest living but are on the fast lane to acquire wealth. He quickly interrupted me and said that I should not go there as I have no right to judge anyone.

He told me that 3 teen boys in his neighbourhood were the ones that bailed him out with 50 thousand Naira each when they noticed that he had been gloomy lately. He said those guys come from very poor backgrounds and they are already involved in various internet scams to get out of poverty by all means.

For instance, he said one of those boys recently gave his mother who is a petty trader 1 million Naira to open a bigger shop. He said the worth of all her wares was not more than 20 thousand Naira with which she had been taking care of her family with an absentee father. What was even more shocking was that he told me the boy’s mother has taken him to a powerful herbalist for fortification.

He also told me that for now, he has made up his mind to learn the ‘trade’ from those boys and would be joining them soon.

I had similar discussions with another young lady I travelled with earlier this week. She is a student in one of the Polytechnics in the Southwest. She said there was a time her male friend gave her a lift in his car but insisted that she sat at the back saying that the front seat is not meant for her because ‘work’ has been done on it. Well, that is a story for another day.

Where are we heading to? How do we get out of this quagmire? I really wonder what we can be done. I just wonder ...

40 comments:

1. May God save us from poverty.
    I don't support going the shady route to make money, but sometimes you can't really blame those who do.
    #myopinionplease

1. It's really sad. The situation we find ourselves in as a country is really pathetic. At least 3 people have called me to assist them with some money, no matter the amount. Won't these ones do anything desperate so? To crown it all, 2 of them are married with kids ...
      Na wah

2. Honestly speaking most times difficult situations make one to envy those who go extra miles to acquire wealth but when i remember how bad i feel anytime i lost #200 or 1k, i feel nothing but pity to them. Scamming people to get wealth is as good as killing. It hurts to see them excel in their dubious business while you doing legitimate things keeping struggling. Fraud is killing!

3. People are really suffering. If u are a salary earner,try and save up something for side Hustle even though it seems impossible. Our leaders please desist from looting wealth meant for the poor populace. These wealth will go a long way in empowering the unemployed labor force. My husband was gisting me how a guy he knows joined yahoo boys in Ghana. Its like it didn't go as planned.His now a lunatic
    Bv Neme

1. There are a lot of Nigerians in Ghana committing fraud . Its so shameful the funny thing is the area in which lots of Nigerians live in Ghana is known as the fraud then. People no longer believe in hardwork.

4. I'm not willing to go to ANY EXTENT o. There's dignity in honest labour. Unfortunately, our youth these days are looking for the easy way out. Can I blame them? Oh well, the political class has not even faired better or laid good examples 😏

5. He is broke but entered your cab.

1. Lol, thought about that too

2. How much is cab fare na?

3. Na wah o. So because one is broke, he can't take a cab again? I'm not understanding 🤷

4. He did say 3 of the teens aided him with 50k each... Moreover cab fare isn't that much

6. Work has been done on the front seat😦😦😦 wawuuuuuuu
    People are ruthless now and the state of the economy isn't helping matters.
    I was paid salary early this month and before 10th, I don't know how the money finished sef coupled with the fact that I was short paid.
    This country is a mess, she tends to ridicule one's honest effort.

1. Same thing here..The prices of everything has sky rocketed. Salary finished just looking like a hen whose chick was picked by a hawk. I envy those into biz.One has to think outside the box.. Naija salary is just for food stuff.
      BV NEME

2. It is well my dear.. everything will be okay 😊

3. Not just you. Salary wasn't complete and today is 18th I have just 1k left. I'm grateful for the job abeg. I no go complain chaaa chaa. God would make a way before Wednesday, amen.

7. If I look at myself now and what I have been through I should have gone to any extent but I am still here believing in God for the best He has,in store for me because I have resolved to let go and let God.That not withstanding,I won't blame anyone who goes,to any extent because our level of perseverance and endurance are different.

8. There's dignity in labour. No matter how difficult the situation of this country is there's no justifiable excuse to indulge in fraud. All fraudsters will reap their reward here on earth and beyond.

9. This made me sad, most people now what to get money on the fast lane.

My father told My brother's not to involve themselves in anything illegal because we are honest people and not about that life, i pray they listen because you need to see their mates driving big cars and living large, they are students o, i just hope they don't feel intimidated and involve themselves in anything shady.

I and my sister are praying about this seriously.

We need God's intervention in this country.

10. Yes poverty is not good but fraud and other ill-gotten wealth is not an excuse or the way out

11. That front seat stuff is true. I once experienced it before it became rampant. I was on IT and i was going to work. A guy from my school that we were in the same corporation honked and asked me to get in. Funny thing is I didn't know anything about front seat charm, although I said blood of Jesus and entered. Few days later I had a dream, and in the dream we were not two in the car but three. The third person was at the back. They were struggling with me, and saying that I should give them my glory. I refused and told them that I can't. We struggled through out the night till they dropped me and zoomed off. Since then anytime I greet him, he ignores me.

1. Thank God for your life o. May God keep protecting us from harm and evil 🙏🏿

12. Parents now buy laptops for there children to do yahoo. People no more ask how you made money. Being poor in Nigeria is now a disease. Everyone wants FAST money. I have a question. How do you sleep at night knowing you defrauded someone.

1. Really sad, I have colleague at work that bragged that his son got him a phone through yahoo.

Parents don't see that big picture anymore. If they are in need of cash, they would want you to send it to them now now anyway possible

13. This issue of "you have no right to judge him/her" is now a mantra among Nigerians.
    I read it a lot on this blog, don't you?
    You see outright evil and condemn it or humbly show them Scriptures that God
    does not like such acts and they term you a judge.
    And a lot of you ladies that will always jump into the front seat of strange men
    you just met, know that you might be trading away your life and eternal life in one
    swoop auction all due to greed.
    🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️🤸🏻‍♀️

14. Excess looting of the money meant for people's empowerment and infrastructural development has led to so many crimes.
    It has led to devalue of naira. That's why you will receive salary and realise within some days that nothing changed.
    I was watching a video recently when someone bought something in a grocery shop for $3. I was marvelled and say to myself can this be realise in Nigeria?
    Even 5 naira is rejected as change because nothing is sold for 5naira anymore.

15. Hmmmm,where are we heading...
    God show mercy,since April now,no salary,what do u expect..

16. Some of us are still holding on to God and would never go that route to make money. Even though the one they make is little

17. Parents should be blamed for this greed for money ,a guy nearly commited suicide in Ikeja out of frustration from his acid tongue mother who always mock him for distributing his cv's for jobs that don't exist while his mates are buying cars and living big on yahoo,it was serious drama the boy made a remark that he will end his life I was confused initially whether to walk away or to talk to him but as God will have it I asked him what led to this ? and he said he asked his mum for money to pay the bread seller she was owing, I don't know how much I dropped,I just marched walked pass,(the funniest part this so called woman had been a housewife since with the husband being the breadwinner and she never lacked according to street gossips)

18. For now it will continue in a circle until we have a purposeful leader that can make things work and engaged these guys in something meaningful like developing something out of their intellect.

19. I wonder how those that defraud others of their hard earned money sleep at night. I also wonder what the future holds...

20. Enter your comment...fraud is not an option please.
    honest work pays

21. Poverty is a bastard I swear

1. It has changed the mentality of an average Nigerian

22. Poverty is the root of all evil.

23. Blame it on the economy. It's so bad now that people are desperate to do anything

24. Kidnapping is so much on the increase.Is only God that will save us from this scourge.

25. My late fiance dad told him he was ashamed of him and his brother, that he was always ashamed of raising his head in the village, because his sons are not riding big cars and all, he even said if not for his little girl (that one married a rich guy) he said he was only proud of her. How can a father say this to his children, these guys was very hard working, he just hadn't gotten a break yet, he buys the dad's drugs, pays their rent in lag, most of the feeding bills comes from him, and he pays the school fees for 2 cousins. He was shedding tears the day he showed me his dad's text, he died about 2yr later from BP related complications, poor guy. May God rest his soul.