Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ballon d’Or Cancelled For The First Time Since 1956 Due To COVID-19

Monday, July 20, 2020

Ballon d’Or Cancelled For The First Time Since 1956 Due To COVID-19

The Ballon d’Or 2020 has been cancelled due to “lack of sufficient fair conditions”, France Football has announced.

A prestigious Golden Ball has been handed out to the best player on the planet since 1956, however the decision has been taken that it would not be right to pick out a leading performer given the circumstances in which professional sport is currently being played out.

That means 2019 winner Messi will keep his crown for another 12 months. The Barcelona superstar has six Ballons d’Or to his name, with rival Cristiano Ronaldo of Juventus boasting five.

8 comments:

1. This is not fair at all. This shows that the committee in charge of organizing it is skewed towards Ronaldo and Messi. Lewandowski of Bayern Munich, Germany, was way ahead of the duo before and after lockdown has been robbed.
    Did the football season across Europe not continue with only French Football that cancelled theirs? French League has never in contention in providing the best player though.

I hope this cancellation will not make them lose respect and allow other countries start their own awards.

That was how they gave the award to Messi in 2014 after the world cup in Brazil when it was obvious he did not deserve it.

1. It's not today they lost their credibility now,I'm not surprised..since 2010 I lost all respect for them

2. All I know is my Merci is always a winner 🥇

2. It's better jare, good decision.

3. COVID 19 altered so many things this year.. The Wuhan virus(in Ms. A's voice) didn't come to play.

4. covid 19 has finally enter Guinness world record.

5. When Fifa cancelled theirs I suspected they will follow

6. Wow. too bad for Lewandoski, I am tired of Messi and Ronaldo dominance.