Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Federal Government Moves To End DSTV Monopoly

Monday, July 06, 2020

Federal Government Moves To End DSTV Monopoly

The Federal Government has revealed plans to end the monopoly enjoyed by cable television service providers, especially Digital Satellite Television, owned by a South Africa-based company, MultiChoice.

The plan PunchNG.com gathered, is said to include ending exclusive rights to sporting events.

Only DStv currently broadcasts major football competitions in Nigeria, especially the English Premier League.

The government said it had amended Nigeria’s broadcasting code to prevent DStv and others from monopolising their channels and contents.

Recall that the House of Reps has been probing DStv for allegedly cheating its Nigerian subscribers by restricting them to prepaid plans and increasing its subscription rates on June 1, 2020, despite the economic impact of COVID-19 pandemic lockdown on the people.

*This is great news.

46 comments:

1. If everybody was like me, dstv will starve. But with the likes of my husband in existence, dstv will flourish no matter how ridiculous their tariff becomes.

2. If they succeed that would be very good because this is tiring. How can a country have only one proper digital broadcast provider abi Wetin DSTV. We have no options, our local stations are trying the best way they can buy they aren't as engaging as most of the DSTV stations. Then the DSTV we dey kuku manage na repeat dem dey repeat. I have spoken to my hubby about Netflix. I say if I get a system, I will not bother my head with DSTV.
      Because they know they have no other competitors they will charge exorbitant fees to watch repeat. DSTV's monopoly on a whole country needs to end.

3. It's all lipservice. Why is startimes not a pay as you go TV subscription plan? Why are they picking on DSTV? They should have insisted startimes, kwesi and mytv offer pay per watch services and see if DSTV won't jump on the trend too or leave our shores!

4. Na today their eye open???

5. Very good.
      This is d best news today

1. Very good
      They should even provide an alternative.

These days i only subscribe for my kids, cus Netflix is the truth.

To think that they even increased their price... Rubbish people.

2. Competition is always a good thing. Just like we have MTN and Glo. The consumer suffers when anything is monopolize

3. Stella I dey laugh. Was it not around 2015/2016 when TSTV came to launch in Nigeria..I watched the unveiling live on TV and Minister Lai Mohammed promised them tax waivers..What is the outcome of thta company? Cos I remember I wanted to get that TV but most of the dealers did not have.

No be today DSTV and government dey tussle..2nd base jare

4. It's high time they're sent packing. Enough is enough.

5. This is great news abeg... i remember the days of TSTV that was nigerian owned and it had great stations also

6. If it's true then it's a good move as their exploitation and taking undue advantage is unbecoming.

7. Can't even believe they have been allowed to enjoy that monopoly for so many many years now.

1. For so long o with their expensive packages, if not for my kids eh, i wouldn't bother.

8. This is the best news that can come out in 2020 in Nigeria. Next is mobile data and wifi network.

9. Its High Time.
    With their No Signal whenever it rains with repeated films.

10. It's about time abeg with all the money one pay dstv will not stop repeating movies

11. I don't know if I should say "great news" because, I don't know if it will happen. 9ja, they say things, without doing it.

1. Exactly.
      For all we know it might be a cry for DSTV to come and sort them more and tomorrow you won't hear anything tangible from them again. Until its done, I'm not believing anything that comes from lai and the government.

12. Wow...this is the best news I have had.

13. It’s their repeats of programs that’s very annoying . Good news jare!

14. I wish. Hubby will be so so happy. Has been complaining. Unless you pay for premium package, no reasonable sports station for you except for their rubbish SS10 station, and it's not as if there's always light.

Na so we run generator from 3pm till 12 midnight on Saturday just to watch only Manchester United with their rival, la Liga and seria A. Only one station for premier League, one station for la Liga and one station for seria A , 5k every month, no be say they dey show better thing.
    Told hubby they should do quick with BBN , make man pikin see wetin e go dey watch, I no fit keeeee myself by myself 😂😂😂😂

15. All this one na IGG

16. Am tired of dstv repeating program,just wasting money

17. Fantastic news mehn💃💃💃.
    Now, if only dstv dilk introduce "pay as you go " plan for Nigerians..
    Chizzy j

18. There is nothing great about this news, this is because there is no better alternative. They, the govt need to put something in place before talking about anything. And why are we talking about sending dstv packing. Why not make room for more competitors. If they are really aiming to end monopoly then they should start with dangote. As it is, cement sold in Nigeria is still more expensive than in any country in Africa. It is dstv today, tomorrow it might just be someone else. My two Kobo.

1. Thank you. All they know is to remove this or that, like they have better alternative.

2. 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

19. I hope so, as federal govt increased fuel price, they too increased their subscription in 5his pandemic. Wicked people.

20. This is welcome development and I just hope it will be implemented as soon as possible and also the pay as you go should be added to it...

21. Nigeria is not interested in long term foreign investments into this country. They keep sabotaging and penalizing foreign owned companies for doing business professionally and innovatively

22. I hope the monopoly is broken...They HV really exploited ignorant Nigerians

23. I can't wait. Infact, my count down starts right now.

24. About time, if government will implement whatever plans are drawn up but if you are going to end the monopoly, what is the alternative to DSTV services? Where is the competition?

25. Believe this news at your detriment.as though government cares for Nigerians.

26. What a good decision, I hope its implemented.

27. I hope they follow through...

28. Someone there is collecting bribes to make DSTV the only one with rights, as long as they are greedy about it, all this is lip service, nothing will come off it ,same for power generation

29. The individuals collecting bribes from DSTV to rip us off all these years should be arrested.
    Why would they be the only people broadcasting sports.
    They have grounded all other cable stations
    CTL, Starcomms etc.