Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FG Tells Doctors Planning To Relocate To The Uk That They Won’t Get Hazard Allowances In The UK

Friday, July 17, 2020

FG Tells Doctors Planning To Relocate To The Uk That They Won’t Get Hazard Allowances In The UK

Consider this a Friday laugh and get ready to crack your ribs from laughing........
*Tongue in cheek*

The Minister of Health, Dr. Osagie Ehanire, has told Nigerian doctors planning to emigrate to the United Kingdom to take note of the fact that they will not be paid hazard allowance if they do so.

Ehanire said this during the briefing of the Presidential Task Force on Covid-19 on Thursday.

The minister was responding to a question regarding the failed attempt of 58 doctors to travel to the UK last week.
The 58 doctors, who had received provisional employment in the UK, were stopped by the Nigeria Immigration Service at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos, last week because they did not have visas.

Ehanire said, “I think we are one of the few countries giving hazard allowance. This UK where they are going, there is no hazard allowance, they don’t give doctors hazard allowance but you just get your salary, that is all because I have spoken to the doctors there.

“They say it is part of your job and that is what you are trained for. They don’t pay you anything but here apart from your salary we try to add something to it with the hope that you will stay. We also appeal to state governments to prioritise employment of doctors some of whom have not been employed.”

“Even in the UK they are losing doctors to other countries so they think there is a movement but I think we have to look at our own situation the best way we can,” he said.

The minister said Nigeria would not stop doctors who wanted to emigrate but they must ensure that they have visas.

Checks show that until June, medical doctors in Nigeria earned N5,000 or $12.95 as monthly hazard allowances

From Punch

61 comments:

1. Hazard money ko, pure water money ni.

Just negodu.

2. Mscheeeeeeeew, Nigeria leaders are failures. I will always tell people if you have the opportunity to travel abroad and stay, please do and forget about this yeye country.
      Nonsense 😏.

3. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ 5k Hazard allowance dat is less than £10 they will use to buy McDonalds.
      Nna no well.

2. So that's all he can promise them ? what a joke.

1. Isn't thus this country a joke? Seems like our leaders leave their brains at home. What nonsense

3. Minister, you are just trying to discourage them.

4. Is this a joke or something? So doctors who want to move to the UK should not because of 5000 naira hazard allowance? What kind of talk is that?

1. Who is listening to him? You guys no dey worry yourselves..Doctors that are already cashing out!!

5. What I don't understand is,
    what happens to the qualifying exams that UK usually set for doctors, the PLAB?

1. PLAB is still in place, the next one starts 13th of August. Nigeria is a complete joke πŸ˜’πŸ˜.

6. But at least they will get

1. A healthier salary
    2. A system that works.
    3. A promise for a hopefully better tomorrow for their children.
    4. Security is everything. See the Rev. Father's kidnap story you told the other day.
    5. You know you earn what you have worked for and not scheemed and robbed off on every side from inflation to embezzlement.
    6. At least you get equipment and proper protective gear to work with. You can't live for nothing and die for nothing again.

7. Assive the said doctor cares.

8. N5,000, for monthly hazard allowance? Are these people kidding? πŸ™„πŸ™„

1. 🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣😁

9. This Govt is made up of a bunch of jokers! How much is hazard allowance? If they pay me in a month, my total take home in a year why should i care about hazard allowance or whatever name? If i live in an environment where i don't have to struggle with generator, move on very bad roads, struggle with kidnappers when on night call, and a whole lot of other nonsense that makes Nigeria a hell to live in, why should i care about hazard allowance? Living in Nigeria is a big hazard mbok.

10. I just knew the allowance is gonna be peanut,"HAZARD ALLOWANCE "my foot.πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

11. So is this all he has to say? instead of addressing this issue from the root and proferring solutions that would enable structures to be put in place such that no medical personnel would think of relocating, because the situation on ground is comfortable. Is this all?

12. Wehdone..modern day slavery.my problem with most Nigerian is we never want to make the system work for us in our own country.we go to another man's country that's Slavery in the modern day..after the covid trust me they would discard you all back ..for now you welcome ..that's if the news of wanting doctors is even genuine oh.

1. keep quiet abeg.....you think spending a decade school, working and NOT getting paid isnt SLAVERY.
      You think earning peanuts as a doctor isnt slavery, dey are even constantly owed d peanuts and cant sustain dere families. ISNT DAT SLAVERY? No adequate equipment to even work, no comfort doing d job: poor electricity, no running water.
      We in d south are already slaves to d northern elite, we do all d work and dey share all d oil amongst themselves. Generation after generation.
      pls mind ur biz and let dese doctors go and work d slavery dere. Even if they return dem after Covid, dey have d experience in their CV and can still move on to Canada or Australia .

2. Bed and Roses thank you for educating Anon 13:01.πŸ‘

Besides everyone must to live and work in their country of origin.
      Migration is natural, even birds migrate.

3. Bed and roses..no place like home..happy going..I wish federal government should loads with other countries to adopt Nigerians so we the few remaining can breathe air and work out something..I wish more people
      CAn leave Nigeria for us that love and cherish it .space go dey na.
      Our individual failures made Nigerian so..

4. People in this government are delusional, imagine hazard allowance of 5k is why they should forfeit greener pastures, going abroad will pay them 100x better. That's a working system πŸ¦‹

13. The joke in this country is much faa

14. Doctors still have to do PLAB exams before they are allowed to work in UK but in this case because they are desperately looking for doctors in some areas like Anaesthetist, ITU etC, they must have done some professional exams online, because they started the process since january.

15. Better he had said nothing. Who are these ppl on power, are they really this dumb?

1. My dear at least fool is seen as wise when his mouth is shut

16. Are you kidding me with this bullshit ??

Naaa...don't think he is a medical doctor. He has to be a quack to open his mouth to think 5k is enough as hazard allowance.

Even the overtime plus bonuses is enough to make someone drop their current degrees to study medicine.

Wow...smh

17. What is he saying!
    WHAT A SHAME

18. The hazard allowance they are yet to payπŸ˜πŸ˜€πŸ˜†

19. 🀦‍♀️🀦‍♀️ this government and all its appointees are just jokers.

1. As in errh 🀦
      Their shame is shaming me

20. What they will get in the uk, is far better than their hazadeous hazard

21. hazard allowance that is 5k?! mtchewww

22. Kaα»‹!
    End time 'allowance'!
    Oga Minister, this your comparism is sooo weak that I just weak that you could say such a thing!!!!
    Some things are better left unsaid.

23. Lol. Like seriously? Didn't we read here about the consultant that had issues with her husband. What I want to draw out is that, she said she works in 3 or 4 jobs as a consultant and makes between 800k-1m per month. A foundation doctor just leaving school makes over £2000 a month. So a new graduate in makes more than a seasoned consultant working 3 or 4 jobs in Nigeria.

As at the last count, over 35 doctors have died from covid-19 in Nigeria. What do they get? Compare with the UK where the government gave families of doctors that died from covid-19 £60,000 aside from the insurance and death in line of duty they will get which could be over £100,000. Then their families will get ILR. Mr Minister, hazard allowance or wetin you talk again?

24. This our leaders are jokers🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

25. See bad belle. How e take concern this baba, weda dem pay hazard allowance or not, whatever they pay in 2years will cover for a life time unlike what your shithole country can pay in 35years.

26. 5k hazard allowance? 😏🀦🏿‍♂️

27. 5k hazard allowance? Laugh wan kill me

28. 5k as Hazard Allowance.. Mr Minister has taken shepe before he start opening his gutton mouth...

29. The problem with us is this, we fault to understand Nigeria is a developing country so we must all join hands and embrace the process than the final result..we all don't want to pay the price for a good nation but we all want rewards like develop nations..the few that took that risk to pay the price and go through the hard processes are the politicians and that's why they've carry all the rewards for themselves..-'they are just few.you going to a country their citizen work so hard and you foolishly think you genuinely enjoy same benefit ? I doubt.

1. Really? Join hands with the crop of leaders and present generation? I don’t wish Nigeria evil but I don’t see things working at all. For other countries that came out from ‘developing’ to ‘industrialized’ everyone paid the price starting from the leaders to the Citizens. Which leader do we have that is ready to drive the change we want?

2. Developing country and Those politicians are stealing billions of our NAIRA. Until we get our leadership issue correct in this Nation...Nothing will move forward

30. #5000 monthly hazard allowance. This minister has a poverty mentality.

31. The government needs to stop subsidizing education in Nigeria. Medical school should be expensive the way it is in America and the UK. That way they when doctors pay 5million for a session in school, they can afford to be paid 10m per annum as fresh doctors in Nigeria. The reason why there are vacancies abroad for doctors is because the cost of training doctors is expensive over there so they will rather import. Nigeria should increase medical school fees. They should stop training doctors for free for the Uk to steal. Our government needs to scrap subsidy on education. They can give doctors scholarships in school with the condition that they must work in Nigeria for 10years.

1. Not just medical school. All courses mtshew. With that , are you sure you would have gone to university? Thank the government for helping you. Medicine is already expensive as most school pay concessional fee for medicine and law. So trust me with hike in school fees medicine will be for the rich and you will still come here to cry and in addition other courses will be unattainable. Now, can u train your child in the Nigerian university you want??

2. Are you the one screaming all over the comment session ni

32. Stop subsidizing school fees for all. Let them pay the same fees as those abroad. That way the government can afford to pay them the same amount they receive abroad. This counties are taking advantage of the stupid Nigerian government. In the us you pay about 300k dollars to train as a doctor. Let them provide student loans in Nigeria too and let medical school be 100m naira. Let’s see how they will leave without paying up their loans. The UK can’t afford to train enough doctors so they exploit developing countries with weak currencies.

1. Have seen any UK trained doctor looking for Job??? But do you know there are thousands of doctors in Nigeria who doesn't have a good job. Infact some are being owned 13 months salary.

Is that the case in US /UK??? So if govt removes the subsidy, let them also create PROPER JOBS. stop sounding "Pained"

33. hehehehehe!!!!!very funny, leave them naa. keep your hazard allowance, they don't mind.

34. Clutching at ANY STRAW!

He probably just repeated what someone told him without finding out the amount for hazard allowance but he is not unaware of their poor and irregular salaries.

Most of these public office holders have their speeches written from A-Z.
    #CopiedAssignment #RepeatAfterMe #CopyAndPaste

35. With this kind of talk coming frm a supposed "educated" public officer, I'm afraid. So he thinks people are bereft of information like he is? Shame on him.

36. Is our standard of education equal to the one abroad