Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Former Minister Diezani Laments That Yahoo Boys Have Become Role Models

Monday, August 10, 2020

Former Minister Diezani Laments That Yahoo Boys Have Become Role Models

A former Minister of Petroleum Resources, Diezani Alison-Madueke, says societal values have disintegrated to the extent that online fraudsters otherwise known as ‘Yahoo boys’ have become role models in Nigerian society.

Diezani said this while delivering a lecture at a virtual event which was also attended by her former boss, ex-President Goodluck Jonathan, on Friday.

Speaking at the event organised by the Ijaw National Development Group on Friday, Diezani stressed the need for mentorship of Ijaw youths.

The former minister said, “The ones that have swag, the Yahoo Yahoo boys as my son would say; these in short, are the role models they are looking at. These are the ones that reinforce negative societal norms and values.

“This is a travesty of an unfolding tragedy for us. Why have I spent time talking about fatherless homes and the impact it has on our children? The truth of the matter is that an irresponsible boy tends to become an irresponsible man and it is therefore a vicious cycle. If you plant yam, you cannot harvest plantain.”

Diezani said there are no shortcuts to progressing in life, adding that only hard work could guarantee success.

The former minister added, “There are no shortcuts to working your way up the ladder of life. Progressing in life, in work and relationships – marital or otherwise – is always dependent on consistent effort and hard work.

“As we create more responsible young men, we will generate more responsible fathers which will in turn engender a more sustainable society and build a greater nation of successful Ijaw men and women.”
She said societal values had collapsed mainly because of weak family bonds caused by broken homes.

She said in some instances, children raised by single parents do well in life but it should not be the norm that children should be brought up by single parents.

Diezani thanked her former boss, ex-President Goodluck Jonathan, for empowering women during his tenure.

The videos were posted on Twitter by blogger, Jackson Ude, who is also the publisher of Point Blank News.
@punchnewspaper

48 comments:

1. What a bombshell.

1. See another hush mummy talking o

2. Should the youths should have you madam as a role model instead? Btw I noticed she no longer has cancer. It is well with Nigeria

2. The pot calling the kettle black.

1. You just took the word from my mouth👏

2. Lol.....wow
      Exactly what I was gon type......

3. A very big pot sef, like the one they use to Cook party rice

4. This is charcoal calling pot black.

5. It's a case of a dinner judging another dinner for sinning differently.
      Oh well,let's take the message and leave the messenger

3. Is Deziani herself a role model?

4. See who is talking. Yahoo mama.

5. Biko which hole is she speaking from? Mother to Yahoo boys.

6. Coming from the Queen of yahoo😁

7. Hushmama too is speaking, pot calling kettle black.😴😴

8. And who were the role models of the Yahoo boys? Nigerian politicians their cronies.

Always looking for avenues to blame the youths when the truth is that they the elders were the problem, are the problem and would continue to be the problem of this country.

These useless people went to school with free education or paid little as fees, but what do we have now? Expensive education.

Jobs were practically waiting for them after graduation, but what do we have now? Joblessness everywhere and them reducing their age so they are not retired for a younger person to get employed.

What about leadership? The man who is the president today has once ruled the country before I was born, (I used to wonder if APC were in their right senses using the CHANGE mantra for campaign, saying "we want change" but bringing a PAST who has been certified not fit to lead from his past antecedent), to think he ruled as a YOUNG MAN, but after over 30 years he still won't leave that sit for a younger person.. NO! The youth are still the ones to be blamed.. infact he had the effrontery to call them lazy youths.. Well, maybe it's cos our docile attitude baffles him.. if I was on his shoes, I'd be surprised too that the youth are yet to organize themselves and chase me out with stones and sticks from that sit..

Mention all the billionaires we have in this country and tell me how many made clean money amongst them, without corruption, now compare with billionaires in other climes who became billionaires by innovation and due process, unlike the trash we have here.. but still they'll blame the youths.. when they never gave us good role models to look up to

To think Dezeani who is supposed to be hiding her face in shame could come out to say this crap is even more insulting, doesn't she know SHE'S A ROLE MODEL OF THESE YAHOO BOYS AND GIRLS.. Na wa oh.. this life no just balance.. when you're managing someone and the person start to think she's all that, to the point of calling you out publicly.. wahala dey..

May God help us..

9. Pot nkpe keetu ni dudu.

Yinmu😏

10. Sometimes we need to search our heart and examine one's lifestyle and attitude before we utter some words....

Are you any different Deziani,I am not in support of yahoo,but you're not the right person to utter such.

How can their CEO utter such statement.

Hisses...

11. Coming from a yahoo woman.its okay!!

12. You wey be the king of the boys for yahoo.
    So she no longer has cancer?

13. Pot calling pot black.Hushmummy that should be hiding her face in shame is talking.Yen yen yen

14. 🤯 Someone please show me where to faint.
    Na dem. Motivational speaker.

15. Is she still under investigation?and where was this held?
    I thought she is doing hide and seek

16. I don't know why I had to laugh by just reading the headline. She's now a saint all of a sudden

17. Ms Dezani, have you looked at the mirror or listened to yourself talk????
    How can mama thieves be calling out her baby thieves?????
    ONLY IN NAIJA!!!!

18. Woman with out fear of God you open your mouth to say this......hmmmmm! It will not be well for you

19. Thank you @Dante you have said it all

20. Well...as far as I know, Diezani Madueke has not been convicted of fraud by any court of competent jurisdiction. So she remains innocent until proven guilty.

1. If she innocent .. why hasn't she returned to Nigeria to face charges and be acquitted..... she can easily return to nigeria

The guilty ofcourse runneth

2. Anon10:56 we recall that she offered to return home to answer for her 'perceived' crimes, but the same EFCC frustrated such moves.

21. This woman doesn't have the fear of God. Hushmama.

22. Allison! Allison !Allison!

23. Yahoo boys are better role models than our politicians. They pump money into our economy, you old fools take our money and give the white man in exchange for their protection from stealing your people’s money.

24. This kleptomaniac sef dey talk. I no blame you. Na Nigeria I blame. Shoot!

25. Someone is trying to take her job oooo! Help!!!

26. Wow. The audacity. You are the yahoo boys role model. You and yahoo boys have the same motto: rich by any means necessary.

27. Thank you ma. You are my role model. Those who are trying to deny your image will fail. You served the nation with the best of your ability. You have never been convicted. The rumors against you means nothing. I remember when you requested to come down and defend yourself, those thieves at EFCC said that you should remain there. They are still crying wolf. They will all fail.

28. I feel your pains Oluwayahooloba those small small boys be giving you a run for your yahamazing skills...

29. Coming from the role model of yahoo boys.

30. The hypocrisy is too much. Is stealing hard work now? That they gave this woman a platform to speak after all she did says a whole lot.