Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Imo State 1st Lady Chioma Uzodinma Talks About Orphanages And Motherless Babies Homes In The State

Saturday, August 08, 2020

Imo State 1st Lady Chioma Uzodinma Talks About Orphanages And Motherless Babies Homes In The State

Serious Business!!!

We have concluded the inspection of registered orphanages/motherless babies' homes across the 27 Local Government Areas (LGAs) of Imo state and will soon publish our findings.

This is sequel to my directive to the Commissioner, Imo State Ministry of Gender and Vulnerable Group, Lady Nkechinyere Ugwu.

The Ministry inspected over 35 homes. The inspection of the ophanages/motherless babies' homes in Imo was informed by the need to domicile all the information about the motherless babies/children in the Ministry.

This initiative is an effort in our desire to curb the increasing cases of child trafficking and baby factories, a situation where children are manufactured and sold like goods.

After each investigation, we made our observations known to the proprietors of the homes and made recommendations to them on further requirements, to bring their homes up to the minimum standard of such homes befitting of children.

We considered the cleanliness of the environment, capacity with regards to space, welfare of the children, staff-to-children ratio, current licence, and so on.

In this move, the revoking of some licences and deregistering of some homes should not be entirely ruled out, especially on orphanage facilities which fail to meet the standard requirements regarding the welfare of the children.

In addition, those who failed to implement the recommendations made to them by the ministry may also be unregistered.

The government of Senator Hope Uzodimma will not tolerate issues of child trafficking, all forms of child abuse and violence against others, and will not hesitate to deal decisively with anyone caught in such act.

I implore the general public to report any suspected case of child trafficking or abuse to the nearest Police Station or to the Ministry .

Barr. (Mrs) Chioma Uzodimma
First Lady, Imo State

14 comments:

1. Stellz u and this woman ehn!

2. Good initiative. This baby factory matter is disturbing. On another note, can First Ladies issue directives to Commissioners.

3. She's doing a wonderful job. Last week,I went to an orphanage somewhere in maraba,nassarawa state. The state of the house and the kids made me cry. They live in a 2bedroom flat of which the proprietress and her family took a room,so the kids are left with one room,empty seating room and the kitchen. The stench coming out of the building was too strong that I couldn't stay inside,the 2 mattresses were torn,smelly and dirty. Clothes are littered on the floor,kids are barefooted and wearing torn clothes,their hair was bushy. Up to 6 kids had to share one matteres . Worst part is that their rent has expired and they don't even have a means of paying. I felt so sad and angry that day,I was angry with the owner for keeping kids in such an environment and was also sad that the kids have no where to go to. The kids do not go to school either. I rendered help and still plan on going back there towards the end of this month,but it can't even be enough. I thought of getting the authorities involved but what do I tell them and what will be the fate of the kids? Is it by force to keep kids you can't cater for? I am just confused.

1. May God bless you for the help.you can report them for child endangerment.

2. You mean that is legal/registered motherless baby Home?,,I doubt!

3. Please report to the Ministry of Women Affairs of that State.
      Sometimes, individuals gather children in the name of Orphanage, receive funds from donors but never use the funds to take care of the Orphans.
      Sad though😫

4. Amen malley...I really doubt its a legal orphanage@ lily.....seriously! The woman and her daughters look well fed and well taken care of,but the other kids are something else. I will have to reach thw ministry of women affairs.

5. Please report anonymously to women affairs or to human rights radio(Ahmed Isa) of berekete family

6. Please report this to women affairs and call radio journalist to speak about it on radio

7. Report report it. The kids deserve better.

4. She is doing well

5. Ooooin you are doing well ma.... πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

6. Imo first lady is working,btw where is chioma davido?,I guess there's a time and season for everything after allπŸ™„πŸ™„