Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Minister Amaechi Says There Is Nothing Wrong With Nigeria Ceding Sovereignty To China Over Loans

Wednesday, August 05, 2020

Nigerian Minister Amaechi Says There Is Nothing Wrong With Nigeria Ceding Sovereignty To China Over Loans

Nigerian Minister of Transportation, Chibuike Amaechi, has said there was nothing wrong with Nigeria ceding her sovereignty to China.

The Minister was fielding questions on the controversies surrounding the $500 million loan from China on Channels Television’s Politics Today.

Amaechi insisted that Chinese loans are the cheapest form of loans the country can get anywhere.

“What is wrong with Nigeria ceding its sovereignty to China?” Amaechi asked Tuesday evening.

“I said this because the sovereignty you are ceding is not the sovereignty that makes you a nation.

“If you watch my interview with the AIT, you’ll see that I was very proud to have been trained at the University of Port Harcourt because that training at the University of Port Harcourt makes me understand that there’s a difference between what the honourable Minister of Justice was explaining today – what is diplomatic immunity, jurisdictional immunity and commercial immunity

“Just like the commercial banks will ask you for collateral before giving you loan, this country is saying we’re not Nigerians; we’re not you father, if we want to give you $500m we want you to wave the immunity that will stop us from taken you arbitration if you default.”

from dailypost.

36 comments:

1. Someone should explain further to me, cos all am hearing is, we want to sell Nigeria to China. Ooh chim

1. Ehnnn, na so the thing dey for my eye ooo "Ceding Sovereignty" what does it mean please.
      Does this mean giving away part of our independence if we default?
      If it is? Amaechi may your generations be the ones to become Chinese slave workers.

2. Amaechi is high on something, does he even knows what sovereignty mean? It's a shame that he can spit such rubbish on our national TV. So when you cede it, you think Nigeria can still be called a sovereign nation, hahaha I laughed in Swahili.

3. Well it means for instance those railway they've borrowed money to construct and build, if we don't pay back the loan as planned, china has the right to take over operations of the project and make money from it till the debt is paid.... That's more like taking over a nations assert or business by anoda country. It's like Nigeria collecting the metrolines of UK and profiting from it. It's a risky thing, but since we have dummies as leaders....what can the righteous do....kwanu

4. Has he stop taking his medication?

2. This people sha,they dont have conscience at all, all they care about is their pockets

3. Oga Amaechi, so there's NOTHING wrong with Nigeria ceding its sovereignty to China? 🙄🙄

4. This guys just don’t care so long as the money lands in their pockets.

It’s time to start considering citizenship in another country, Nigeria is like a sinking ground and those in places of authority don’t care if it does cos they have all secured their family.
    God help us

5. So there is nothing wrong in ceding Nigeria's sovereignty to China?

This man came on National TV to disgrace himself.

In that case, let China become our colonial masters so that equation go balance completely.

Las Las, God no go shame us.

1. They want to take the Nation back to colonial days...they would have looked for a better Nation to dash Nigeria to now... Why China? Leaders with so much sense of Greed

6. Must Nigeria go borrowing ?

You want to borrow and live large for generations to pay for your stupidity right? OK,good ahead and borrow but be rest assured that only children and children's children of those who are party to this foolery will pay for it and not the masses who knows nothing about it.

What a dysfunctional country!

7. Apc are horrible creatures!!..
    Infact ,they are like those girls that goes around judging other girls for going to parties, wearing weaves, makeup, trouser,etc& everybody feels that she is morally upright& probably a virgin..
    Then until you go closer& find out that she does exactly the same thing that worldly girls do behind closed doors..
    Lol, remember when we thought that the worst kind of corruption can only happen in Pdp?
    Look at us now wishing that we sticked with the devil that we know..
    Chizzy J

8. This absolutely is not what he said. What he said is that the articles and clauses every one is losing their sleep over is standard procedure.

Unless a country have criminal intent, it can't claim sovereignty over loans it took.

The argument should be why borrow? Not all these non existent fears that china is taking over Nigeria.

9. maybe he is joking I believe, if not
    its quite unfortunate.

10. Ahhhhh😭😭😭😭😭

11. Wicked people
    They want to borrow money they will still steal.
    Most of them even have more than this money they want to borrow

12. How can someone who passed through the four walls of a university say something so callous?
    I hope Nigeria, never ends up in that situation. Bunch of educated illiterates.

13. That loan means that if we default ..China will take over all our assets including ports, airports etc.

They will come and take over our economy plus our govt will never make a decision without China having the final say.

It's a form of modern colonisation in form of a Greek gift. They did that to an African country recently ...I think Kenya or so and they took over. They tried it with Uganda and their president tore up the contract and told all Chinese to leave.

What's going to happen is that we will not have national flag, or national anthem...their people will move in and before u know it, China will the official language with Igbo, Yoruba and Hausa.

APC govt has majorly illiterates but they don't care cos they know y'all busy with BB Naija so they will sell this country and let it burn.

Everyone is making jokes now but by the time the Chinese move in who by far are the most racist on this planet earth, it will stop being a joke.

I pity this generation Z...misplaced priority is the order of the day SMH

1. BB Naija has nothing to do with it. Nigerians have been docile long before the advent of BB Naija.

2. Did the loan happen Before BB Naija or not? The same govt that didn't allow Miss World contest to hold in Nigeria cos of the bikini segment of it but they blatantly allow sexual content to be shown on live TV all of a sudden??? Use your tongue to count your teeth dear ...they know what they are doing

14. And you waved it Amaechi. You are very daft with your level of education. You decided to sell your birthright for loan. SMH.

15. The sad part is that when it happens, it is an international court that will decide and Amaechi's theories will not be entertained. Ignorance of the law is not an excuse. The Chinese that placed the clause know what they want. They shpuld take a clue at how China confiscated other African countries that defaulted. Nigerians love to play with fire because they love immediate gratification. When it happens, wailing will not solve anything. When OBJ veded part of Nigeria to Cameroun and the following noise that followed, what happened? The same fate will befall the whole Nigeria when it happens.

1. Who told you OBJ veded part of Nigeria to Cameroun? if you don't know what transpired,try and make a research or better ask.Cessation of Bakassi Peninsula was the biggest mistake Gen.Yakubu Gowon did to Nigeria when he was then the Head of State to get back to the Biafrans not knowing there's oil well there. Is just unfortunate that the final judgement was carried out during OBJ's tenure.That's just a brief history of the cessation of Bakassi to Cameroun.I don't want to bore people with all the stories.

2. Obasanjo ceeded Bakasi to Cameroun for reasons best unknown to him. He should have never gone to the international court where we were ruled against. Going to the international court was already an implicit statement that Bakassi was contentious. Even if Gowon had allegedly "given" Bakassi to Cameroun, that was in the past, we should never have gone to that court.

16. Must these people borrow? This loans they are collecting up and down, will they pay up before the end of their tenure?Ewu nbe oloko , Longe fun rare ewu ni. Nigeria is sitting on a keg of gun powder.

17. If they take over Nigeria and then institute death penalty for corruption the way the do in their country, stop insurgency, then the should so quick and come.

18. Mumu man. The whole thing is just like giving china full authority to decide for Nigeria whenever need arise. If Buhari doesn't know, and d people around him too doesn't know, then we are in deep trouble. Nigeria is really on autopilot mode and it is Only God's divine intervention is what can save us from crashing

19. Amaechi, The only wrong is that it is not your birthright, if it was you can sell it as cheap as you like to whoever no one will question you. This concerns all of us and you and Malami can not decide for all of us. If you see nothng wrong, we see everthing wrong. It is not as if the money you want to borrow will benefit us so why enslave us for money some of you will pocket?

What tah agreement means is that if tomorrow Nigeria fails to pay, China can come in and say "oh, the rail we built is not valueable enough to pay the loan so what they want in return for the loan is NNPC or all the oil wells in Niger delta" which you must agree to.

so Oga, ko le werk..

20. I once watched a clip of President Xi of China addressing officials that some African nations have approached China to buy them.