Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Adventures Of Oko Ashawo The Uber Driver 42

Saturday, September 19, 2020

Adventures Of Oko Ashawo The Uber Driver 42

Oko Ashawo is ranting about pastors today..........

Getting referrals excites me because it keeps the business going.

A few days ago, a regular client called me saying he gave my number to someone who would be coming to town the next day and needs to move around to do some inspection for a few hours. He asked for my charges and I told him 2 thousand naira per hour. He then told me to expect a call from the person so as to finalize arrangements.

As I was going about my work the next day, I received a call from someone who introduced himself to me as the person who I’d be taking out for inspection. He asked me to meet him at a designated location by 12pm and also told me to save his name as Pastor Olaiya, with strong emphasis on the Pastor.

Hmmmm …. 

As soon as he mentioned ‘Pastor’, my antenna was activated immediately and I got very cautious. I usually get wary of people who introduce themselves beginning with the word 'Pastor'

I got to the agreed location before 12pm and he told me he would join me in 10 minutes. That’s how 10 minutes became 30 minutes. I then called and he told me to drive to another location not far away. 

Hhmmm. I arrived and he still was not there. I wasted another 30 minutes of my life at the new location. 

I called again (I’ had been the one calling all this while o), he said he was already there and he’s still trying to locate me. Imagine, I had been waiting in a place that had only 2 cars parked there o. Shortly afterwards, I received his call and he told me he is still trying to locate me that I should come out of the car and raise my hand only for me to see him being dropped from a vehicle that had just arrived – scam alert.

As soon as he entered the car, he apologized for keeping me waiting and said we should start the trip right away. I insisted on reviewing my charges per hour with him first and he told me, ''shebi it is 700 naira per hour?''. 

What????!!!!!

See as my corporate car hire business metamorphosed to meat market. He said where he is coming from in Oshogbo, it is 700 naira per hour they pay. I told him straight up that it is not possible… I’ll take 2000 naira and nothing less. He priced again to 1000 naira but I insisted on the 2k. He threatened to leave the car if I would not take 1,200. See my life outside. I finally agreed to take 1,800 because of the person who referred him.

He spent 4 hours on the job not counting the previous 1 hour plus wasted while waiting for him. Guess what? 

He still did not pay the agreed amount.

This is just like the other Pastor that still owes me 20 thousand naira for a trip, which I wrote about in Episode 11 of this series. It’s the reason I usually get wary of people who introduce themselves by using the Prefix Pastor with their names ......

I am not saying there are no good Pastors out there but it is so wrong to be carrying that prefix before your name and adding a question mark to it with lousy behaviour...
let me note it down that I will never pick up or drop anyone who claims to be a Pastor...

the Hustle continues.....

27 comments:

1. Is it the one still owing my kid brother for sewing for him? And No he is not poor, he can pay his bills comfortably.

How about the one I made braided wig for? As Pastor that she is I agreed to make the wig for 3500 after I I nearly cried from her consistent bargain like I was selling pepper, This woman ended up sending 5k Rudely to me and telling the daughter to ask me if I saw alert, did I mention this money came after one month of send my account details to her?

I give up on doing business with any of them..

2. Eyah. Pele o. When I hear some people refer to themselves as Pastor, I just look at them funny. It's just a title, but most of them use that title to dupe people.

1. Oko Ashawo, please pay no mind to most of them.
      There are good pastors but alot of the ones that are quick to use the prefix are scammers and they dont want people to detect that they're scam and make you trust them.

3. No mind am jare, some pastors no be am at all ๐Ÿ‘Ž๐Ÿ™…‍♀️

1. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ e no balance at all

5. Imagine this type of pastor. Mtchew. Sorry o. Don't carry them again.

In business, I have learnt that it's not everyone that's your customer. Some people will price you to the extent that you'll start questioning your life. They will so cheapen your services that your self esteem will drop immediately. I cut them off and move on.

That's how one was pricing a service worth 25k for 5k. I felt so bad immediately. Then I remembered my worth. She increased it to 10k and refused to make any further concession. This is something that was already discounted. I refused as well and wished her well. That was her second time doing that. #ByeFelicia

1. Bye Felicia indeed!!!
      Some people would frustrate your business in the name of bargain , even when they know they're being unreasonable .

6. Imagine this type of pastor. Mtchew. Sorry o. Don't carry them again.

In business, I have learnt that it's not everyone that's your customer. Some people will price you to the extent that you'll start questioning your life. They will so cheapen your services that your self esteem will drop immediately. I cut them off and move on.

That's how one was pricing a service worth 25k for 5k. I felt so bad immediately. Then I remembered my worth. She increased it to 10k and refused to make any further concession. This is something that was already discounted. I refused as well and wished her well. That was her second time doing that. #ByeFelicia

7. Once you introduce yourself to me by saying "I'm a pastor/man of god" what I hear is "I'm a scammer"
    Maka Chi, okwa mmuru anya ka azu.

8. Oko Ashwo, always ask for advance payment in such situations. You have been scammed several times yet you seems not to learn from it....

Any body can bear or claim any tittle. Have that in mind....

1. Even if he had collected advance payment, there's no way he would collect his balance if the client refuses to pay nah.
      It's like that in many other businesses too. E no easy.
      Indeed, this life no balance ๐Ÿคช

9. That one na scammer no be better pastor he be

10. Next time, anyone introduce himself as Pastor, reject the work immediately unless they pay you upfront.

11. I know how painful this can be but let it not deter you from doing your job well. Next time you have an order and the*pastor*thing pops up, just ask for payment upfront.

12. That's how one of my friends who I've seen in a long time corrected me when I called his name. He said I should put Pastor in front. This is someone I've not seen in about 18 years.
    I didn't bother collecting his phone number ๐Ÿคจ

1. *who I've not seen in a long time*

13. That’s how one pastor came to our clinic with his members and was telling us to do free MRI and CAT scan for him as a man of God. Imagine? We refused o. Do u know this man vexed and left with his members abusing us??

1. 3Amigos Bread @ 6 Okesalu St, Ikotun. 0813851632819 September 2020 at 21:37

๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†

2. Funny scenario ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

3. Grade one sense of entitlement!!

4. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

14. That's how most of these pastors are. Always trying to cut corners. That's how one is owing renting for almost 2 years. He keeps saying everyday that he will pay. Now he saying he can't afford the rent and we should give him till December to leave. Without paying anything ooo. Their sense of entitlement is top notch

15. Lol @ "it is so wrong to be carrying that prefix before your name and adding a question mark to it" that kain questions mark no good o๐Ÿ˜…