Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mrs Dees Corner - Monitoring Lives On Whatsapp Is The New ISH...

Friday, September 18, 2020

Mrs Dees Corner - Monitoring Lives On Whatsapp Is The New ISH...

Is your phone Whatsapp enabled?If Yes,you might just know what I am about to rant about...........

Giant leaps in technological development have left so much information at our disposal and there is always the struggle on how much information we can take in and also trying not to go overboard by putting too much information out there.

These days it's very easy to monitor what is happening in most people's lives, all it requires is to go through their social media pages.

Some have even used their pages as an outlet to show off the side of them that some people are not acquainted with.

One of such platform is WhatsApp.

Different people take to their WhatsApp status to show off their entrepreneurial skills by marketing their goods and services while the emergency 'bloggers' are quick to post breaking and viral news. The online comedians constantly amuse us with funny memes, videos and quotes, and even the preachers motivate us with inspirational messages and stories but the worst of the lot are those who have turned the app to their daily diary.

They never tire to upload pictures of their day to day activities, birthday photos of their kids, hubby and wife and even the death of a loved one that is supposed to be a time for sober reflection and quiet grieving is uploaded on their status.

I call them 'virtual neighbours' because I have become privy to information that should be known alone by family, friends and close neighbours.

The school uniform of their kids is no secret as they display it for all to see and their school can be easily traced . Their pictures always have in the background the name of the company where they work, and the age, name and dates of birth of their children are made available by their unwary parents through birthday photo shoots.

They celebrate their wins online instead with family and friends and I keep wondering how they feel knowing that total strangers know so much about them.

I happen to fall among the category who is deliberate about what I post on the internet because I don't want to give anyone undue access to my privacy.

Sometimes I can't help but wonder if these acts come back to bite them in the butt or I am being overly paranoid.

*Hmmmm i just noticed that at the end of the day something in most people yearns to be noticed....some complain about what others put on instagram but do worse on whatsapp......This life no Balance at all!!!

34 comments:

1. I use mine for business and all..

2. No you are not paranoid. People put too much out there.

3. I just love the way I'm living my life. You can never get any information from me through my social media accounts . I'm that coded. I pity people that display all there life history on sm. Sh*t is about to get real mehn.

Call me Angelica

1. @Angelica, you no code reach me ooh. They even say I have absolutely nothing happening in my life and I LOVE that impression and persona that I created many years ago. At least, what they don't know, they can never attack.

2. MY dear, mine is even worse! If you're using what you see online to judge me, then you're in for a big surprise. But I like it, really! People cannot attack what they don't know! There are very very bad people in this world. I am talking from experience

3. What abt me....πŸ˜‚ my watsapp is now for memes n nothing elseπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

4. You are not paranoid but keep doing you. Some put everything out there with no repercussions but some of us dare not try it. I just advise everyone to be security conscious, we live in dangerous times.

1. I put a lot out on my WhatsApp status because it can be doctored to be shown to only those you want, I have few friends and few people on my WhatsApp, and it is my safe haven, I don’t have a single picture on ig, Facebook use to be safe too but not anymore so I’ve stopped posting there, it is this online and social media sales that has made Nigerian govt to be chooking eye and about to start collecting income tax from people. We live in dangerous times indeed that’s why I don’t keep friends at all , people can be dangerous offline too

5. Different strokes for different folks. This life no balance true true , the less the better.

1. "don't post me and my son" that's what my wife says all the time..birthday o, father's day o, mother's day o,any celebration or event, she doesn't want her picture or our son's pictures online...I don't know what she's scared of..and she has never posted anything but she enjoys viewing other people's posts

2. hahaha your wife is funny. smart woman.

6. I never do that social media stuffs. And people think I am being secretive. When my kids celebrate their birthdays, I don't post and my in-laws feel that I should be updating them through social media. Me I like my privacy biko. If you feel I am proud, that is your business.

7. Me I still prefer whatsapp to Facebook and Instagram o, especially that Facebook, you can control people that can view your status on Whatsapp na. Only close family members and few friends have access to my Whatsapp status, so I feel quite safer on Whatsapp compared to others.

1. You can control Facebook status as well.

2. Toor, thank you @treasures,I didn't even know you can control Facebook own

3. Facebook has better privacy controls now.

8. The Psychology of Social Media. So many people crave attention which they never got, are not getting or afraid they cannot get in real life. If you are happy with your life, there won't be any need to seek validation or "impress and oppress" others. Believe social media including whatsapp at your own peril.

9. It’s well
    As long as you ain’t a celebrity please be careful what you put out there

10. To each its own. We cant all be the same however the times calls for caution in all we do.

11. Well, for some of us the WhatsApp status is a way to stay in touch and of course there is a provision for selecting those who see your status. Sooo. While I may not be able to send a message to all my contacts often, I use my status to stay in touch with them. And I celebrate those who need to be celebrated and stand with those who are passing through trying times. But reading my status tells you nothing about what's happening in my private life

12. Once upon a time when I was in a bad place. There was this person I used to monitor the WhatsApp status till the person noticed it and subbed me and I stopped. Now, I chose to think that I'm in a better place and it's this person that is now monitoring me via WhatsApp and fb.
    And no I won't lie,that carnal part of me feels good. God forgive me.

I know of a friend that started having spiritual attacks from village people the first day she started posting pictures of her NYSC stuff.
    Whatever works for you,do it

13. If my contacts are 10, only 2 can view my status. The way I block people eh. I just think am not normal. Lolz... this monitoring spirits is what I don't need. I post once awhile. But biko dey your dey. I don't need BP.

14. I’ve learnt to stop been bias on this subject.
    If you post, good for you.
    If you don’t, as you wish.
    For me, I enjoy watching my families and friends stuff in wtsapp and Snapchat.
    I’m happy they are happy; but if they are doing it to pepper me or whatnot, the joke is going to be on them cause I’m rooting for them.
    Life is transient.
    Let everyone do what they want cause you’d still be judged regardless.

1. God bless you for these😍

2. Double kiss for you @ Convince me.
      To everyone his/her own. Whatever works for you.
      For me, discreet is my second name.
      I can't shout.

15. Please let people do as they please. If they don't update us, how will amebos and boring people cope. Some have blocked me on their status. I miss seeing their daily updates, as I view it very well. You put it there, why hid it from us. These days I am selective. It pains some people if you don't view their updates.

1. Truly why post if you don't want people to see? Also, some count and check how many views

16. My WhatsApp is like a safe heaven . Only mostly those close to me are there.

In all everyone should do what works for them.

17. True Stella something in people just yearns to be noticed,you might think the way I change pix on my blog profile is how I do on my social pages but No,(I was just seeking for attention thoπŸ™ˆI)Iobserved the hate I was getting here was based on that so I changed to privacy settings,it pays to be on the low on SM but each to his own,I just observed my pastor's wife hasn't been posting stuff on SM only for a member to tell me she's having serious issues with hubby,why was it evident??because she's all over the place on SM,messef dey shame on the excess gragra sef,how will I know when they settle?when the gragra resurfaces,God help us

1. I don't think you get any hate. The attention you desperately crave is the one you have gotten and it is because you are very daft.
      As in, you speak like someone with zero commonsense and lorry load of gravel in the head.
      And instead of keeping such obtuse and retarded opinions you will still be throwing them up like a dunce.
      Ofcourse a dunce does not know it's a dunce.
      But I'm sure there is no hate. So relax. Ok?

18. Their status,their business,nobody should dictate to anyone how to live their lives.