Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NBC Fines Arise TV, Channels TV And AIT Over ‘Unprofessional Coverage’ Of #EndSARS Protest

Monday, October 26, 2020

NBC Fines Arise TV, Channels TV And AIT Over ‘Unprofessional Coverage’ Of #EndSARS Protest

The National Broadcasting Commission (NBC) has fined Channels Television, AIT and Arise TV N3 million each over their “unprofessional coverage” of the EndSARS protests and the crisis that followed it.

Acting Director-General of NBC Prof Armstrong Idachaba announced the sanction at a press conference in Abuja.

He said that if the commission escalates the violations that emanated from the misuse of social media sources by broadcasters, sanctions according to the provisions of the law, NBC can comfortably shut the stations down.

Idachaba said the stations’ offence was capable of leading to a breakdown of law and order but the option of the fine will serve as a warning to the stations and others.

From guardian.ng

48 comments:

1. Unprofessional coverage indeed! For showing the world what truly happened? Yeye dey smell

1. Thats why they wanted to pass dat Social Media Bill too. They wld have limited what people can share and we wont be able to call out dos evil politicians.
      Buhari d evil dictator wants dis country to be North Korea.

2. Where does idachaba live? I want to ask him something? 🙄

3. Check this out, Buhari is the last despot Nigeria will ever have again.

4. you get nothing to ask oh, na my uncle. i go gee am the message. he has been directed

2. Are we really in democracy in this nation?

3. It will not be better for people who brought APC to power Amen.

Nija enjoy your next level

1. Back to sender in Jesus name Amen.

2. Idiot sighted. Back to you in hundred folds in Jesus name,Amen.

1. This comment has been removed by the author.

5. Ok. They have to suffer some losses like TVC right? Powers that be in Nigeria are at work.

6. To whom it may concern,

Keep hiding behind anyone and anything to cover your heinous crimes. From denying the killings, to making claims of properties worth billions being damaged, to denying giving orders for the execution and killings of those protesters to now arm twisting NBC. It is just a matter of time. You shall dance to the music you have placed on repeat. Keep, keeping on.

1. 😟😟😟

Just a matter of time....

2. In no time!!
      It would all come to light , there'd be confusion in their midst and they'd start spilling.

3. Well said. He shall truly dance to the music he has placed on repeat

7. These companies should come together to file a law suite against NBC. What nonsense?. Very foolish government

1. Real Nonsense in a democratic government.
      I won't lose hope , we would get there eventually .

8. This is really sad.That the NBC has to hold the credible tv stations by their scrotum. this is how corruption has eaten deep into our system. who is check balancing NBC when they are checking radio stations and tv stations? who has the last say? at the end of the day it's one old man or men sitting idly somewhere is in charge. U people will rot alive. baggers

1. None of the broadcasting station was present and can truly say what happened,

2. How about CNN, Al-Jazeera, and BBC. They should also do the same to these channels. They think they are smart. How about the governor that said one person lost his life but came back to say two people lost their lives? These people don't know that their cup is already full. I pity them.

9. E pain them😂😂😂😂😂 I was expecting this really!

10. Unprofessional is reporting it as it is without bias or covering up? Smh that's the reason i don't bother with NTA news. I wait for channels Tv news at ten

11. They've started with their witch hunting... useless government

12. Shameless NBC.

Imagine the kind of organization in charge of information in Nigeria

1. shameless you say? it is a got agency and they still report to maybe minister of information who will do as the presidency says..ican bet my royal arse the NBC did not initiate this

13. Also fine Instagram live that was used to video live protest and soldiers shooting, Facebook, Twitter and all the people that made videos.

We aren’t backing down, we are restrategizing and coming back in full force. All these old fools that set us back for years must be brought to justice, stripped of the nation’s wealth and kicked out so we can have younger responsible leaders. #Endbadgovernance.

14. this people are crazy..what a country

15. Oga oh.....what a country😭😭😭😭....we do not have even freedom of speech.

16. So the expected them to be lying to us like NTA abi ?
    We are not done yet....we move.
    So what about TVC ?
    Tinubu you wan sleep well this ?

17. dont blame this nbc man, he is the acting chairman of the agency n is doing everything possible for them to make him subtantive chairman so he has to lick ass so they can aporove of him not knowing that if you are not a northern muslim, nothing nothing for u bcos buhari only understands religion and ethnic divide.

1. fool...na your papa arse e for lick...so he should loose his job and feed his family with sand abi?

18. Let them continue in their futile acts, One thing I know time will tell in this Country Nigeria that Power belongs to the Living God Almighty alone, and He gives to whomever He wants, their disgrace is loading,soon it'll manifest

19. We have bad leaders yes. I am a youth and I base in Abuja. The problem of this country isn't just the president and his gang. Our problem mostly are the civil servants ( the ogas). Majority of Abuja houses are owned by civil servants. How do they get their money? Before most contracts are awarded, the director in charge gets his percentage, the minister gets his own, the perm sec gets his own, before your file can be transferred to the other table, you have to pay the staff, except the few that have the fear of God.
    Government allocate money to ministries and parastatals, for example prison, money meant for the supply of uniforms, is being embezzled by the top officers, and that is why you see prisoners wearing different kind of clothes. The system is so bad that, warders have to source for money to fuel the van before they can take a prisoner to the court. Tell me, where will the money come from. Same thing happens in other sectors.
    The system is bad, pls what is the way forward?
    If another party takes over as we all are agitating and this same people are still in government sectors without proper check, then we are heading no where.
    I am a business woman, not a civil servant nor a politician. But I work for all these people,mind you, I'm into handwork.

20. Time
    The great leveler

GOD
    Source of true justice
    Take charge of Nigeria

21. chai uncle why? they must hae summoned you from presidency