Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Scotland Is The 1st Country In The World To Make Period Products Free To Tackle ''Period Poverty''

Wednesday, November 25, 2020

Scotland Is The 1st Country In The World To Make Period Products Free To Tackle ''Period Poverty''

The worst thing that can happen to any woman is to be broke and going through a period!!!!

With passage of new legislation Tuesday, Scotland will become the world's first country to make period products free for anyone who needs them.

The Scottish Parliament unanimously passed the Period Products (Free Provision) (Scotland) Bill — which is designed to create a legal obligation for the government to ensure sanitary products are free and accessible for all who menstruate, including tampons and pads in public facilities nationwide.

According to estimates from the Scottish government, the cost to implement the legislation will be about £24 million annually (almost $32 million).

The Bill was introduced by Scottish Parliament member Monica Lennon. Lennon's aim was to tackle "period poverty," and aid those who need menstrual products but struggle to afford them.

"A proud day for Scotland and a signal to the world that free universal access to period products can be achieved," Lennon tweeted Tuesday.

Speaking ahead of Tuesday's vote, Lennon expressed her optimism surrounding the legislation's success and thanked supporters.

"Scotland will not be the last country to make period poverty history," she said. "Legislation is a world-leading opportunity to secure period dignity for all women, girls and people who menstruate."

Lennon also noted that the country "has already taken great strides to improve access to period products." In 2018, Scotland made period products free in schools, colleges and universities.

from USAtoday

39 comments:

1. It's a good initiative, but, I would like to know how they are going to distribute these sanitary products to women of menstruating age.

What about people like myself with heavy menstrual flow, how many sanitary pads will they share to them monthly?!

1. Maybe they will use period trackers App and other avenues

2. It says it will be available in public facilities" create a legal obligation for the government to ensure sanitary products are free and accessible for all who menstruate, including tampons and pads in public facilities nationwide"

3. Ms A they will keep them in public places like schools, banks,hospitals, malls, etc and people who need them will pick them free of charge

4. God when! I think I have the most expensive period. I had to clear my account to buy 'period products' 3 days ago even when there is no food at home! Yes, old ankara CANNOT do this. Currently feeling faint cos of too much loss of blood but I'm strong like that and I put my trust in God. It is well with me

2. I wish this kind of stuff can be done here especially for secondary school girls. Stress should be on those in boarding houses. I was once a boarder and know the different types of stuff we used back then. Or is the issue of girls refusing to change just to manage pad.

1. Marvel, even as an adult, I use old Ankara when I'm too broke to get pad.
      Nigeria should make it cheaper because I'm sure we can't be given free.

3. Good one 👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

4. Try is here and they will hoard it like covid paliative and sell black market or use as birthday souvenirs.

5. This na government wey sabi not our government that can't differentiate it's armpit from it's anus.

1. 🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣😂 nkáa àtó mụ iche 😂🤣😂🤣😂🤣

6. Very good of them. I wish countries in Africa will do same.

7. Nice one. But how do they give people these products? Or you go to any store and get it?

1. I live in Glasgow, Scotland. I have been getting free sanitary pads and tampons from libraries
      and shops for almost two years,even before the law was enforced yesterday.

8. Good moves. They will soon make access to doctors for menstrual cramps free.
    Nigerian Poli-thieves will imitate everything evil from UK but not good ones.
    Can't you see how Scotland is called a country but it is in the United Kingdom,
    same country that colonized us?🙄🙄🙄🙄
    Why can't for example, South East be called a country in UKN -United Kingdom of Nigeria, for a start?

9. We will get there someday!
    Meanwhile,Our government is busy persecuting End SARS protesters,impoverishing the people and planning how to decieve us again in 2023!

10. This is so wonderful. God bless her. I wish it can be done here in Nigeria too. I remember when we just relocated and things were so rough that I used old clothes and tissue paper for menstruation. Oh, I almost begged for food.
    I told Stella and she dashed me money to buy pad. Well that money fed us for days. Now I give out food items to the needy as I sell foodstuff now all thanks to Stella again.

Stella God will bless your kind soul. You shall never know lack.
    Happy birthday to your relatives celebrating. May they live long for you.

1. Thank God for you courage, Stella dear, wonderful lady!

Good move Scotland! Hopefully some day good things like this would happen in Naija.

2. Awwwwww, this just warmed my heart.
      God bless you Stella.
      God bless you too Courage for remembering her kindness towards you.

11. This is so wonderful. God bless her. I wish it can be done here in Nigeria too. I remember when we just relocated and things were so rough that I used old clothes and tissue paper for menstruation. Oh, I almost begged for food.
    I told Stella and she dashed me money to buy pad. Well that money fed us for days. Now I give out food items to the needy as I sell foodstuff now all thanks to Stella again.

Stella God will bless your kind soul. You shall never know lack.
    Happy birthday to your relatives celebrating. May they live long for you.

12. Very good initiative. Hope Nigeria will tow this line and make sanitary products available. Use the same strategy used in sharing condoms.

13. I would love to visit Scotland someday.

14. This makes sense. Great move mehnnn, I like this.
    Me wey dey enter semi depression when I dey on my period,brokeness come join na to just dey vex for everybody wey dey around me now, I go just dey shout give everybody 🤣🤣🤣

15. I wish we can also copy the good things from developed countries. It's not just to talk about how social media is being controlled in other parts and how we MUST emulate them. Let us also practise the good things from those other parts. God help Nigeria!

16. I live in Scotland and this has been on since last year.
    Most public toilets and schools have them.
    You can take home if you wanted, it’s like £1-3 for a month or two so I would normally buy from the shops and leave them for those who really need them except of course during emergency.
    If Nigeria needs this to work, then a domestic company should produce them, a zealous task force created to monitor the markets to ensure they are never sold.
    The task force workers should get bonuses whenever the catch anyone selling them.
    Las las Na God go help Nigeria cos I for like come invest for mother land

17. demonic greed no go gree it happen here especially if handled by government