Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Teen Dies From Complications Of Rape + Teacher Reportedly Responsible Flees Community.

Monday, November 23, 2020

Teen Dies From Complications Of Rape + Teacher Reportedly Responsible Flees Community.

There is outrage in Bayelsa State over the death of a 13-year-old rape victim, Miss Tarietimi Gana, in Yenagoa, the state capital.

According to investigations the deceased was allegedly raped by a 28-year-old teacher, Mr Promise Sylvanus Ogun, attached to Government Secondary School, Toroegbeni in Sagbama Local Government Area of the state.

In March during the national lockdown, the deceased was said to have been waylaid by the waterside in Ogoibiri community of Sagbama Local Government Area where she had gone to take her birth and was allegedly raped twice by the suspect.

According to the father of the deceased, Pinaowei Gana, the girl did not report that she was raped.

”She kept it to herself and was bleeding little by little. Until two months later, we noticed some strange smell and she complained of serious sickness. We took her to a local massage therapists and he told us that the child has been defiled and infected.”

“We took her back and appealed to her to tell my landlord and some elders the person that defiled her. She now confirmed it was the teacher. We confronted him and he pleaded I should not go to the Police but that he will pay for her treatment and settle with the family. He took her to a private hospital in Opolo where she was admitted for over a week. But he came back and discharged the child without Doctor’s advice and dumped her with me. Two days later, the girl died.”

Mr Gana disclosed that after he raised alarm over the death of his child the suspect and his entire family packed and ran out of the area.

Findings indicated that after Ogun had initially confessed before his family, that of the deceased and the compound chiefs and he even paid the hospital bill of the deceased at a private hospital at Opolo, Yenagoa, he later recanted and alleged that his life was under threat.

Already Civil Society Organizations including the Girl Response Initiative Team set up by the wife of the State Governor, Mrs. Gloria Diri and the DOF Foundation led by Mrs Dise Ogbise-Erhisere have scheduled a meeting with the Bayelsa Commissioner of Police Mike Okoli to demand for proper investigation and arrest of the fleeing suspected rapist.

The groups are said to be miffed that instead of investigating the alleged rape and death of the 13 years old girl, they are busy summoning the deceased father over the trump up charges of alleged threat to life by the accused teacher.

Dise Ogbise-Erhisere in an interview confirmed that the deceased died from complications of rape, noting that everything would be done to get her justice.

“ A crime has been committed and the culprit has admitted to the crime. They need to ensure he is arrested and prosecuted. On the reported petition of the alleged pedophile, the police needs to investigate and determine who is culpable and where is the corpse of the defiled and deceased child.”

She called on the Police authorities to transfer the case from Area command in Sagbama to the State Police headquarters in Yenagoa, the Bayelsa capital.

From today.ng

*The Father should have reported the Matter Immediately and not bargain with him....

23 comments:

1. Nay her gentle soul rest in peace

1. Her male teacher, her father....

It is sad how commonplace it is for men in positions of authority to selfishly take without considering consequences. Why is this still happening?

2. You see, when will men in their almighty patriarchy realise that the chicken always comes to roost? Not like the man does not know that such heavy crime against his daughter should be dealt with the heaviest hands but he and his kinsmen choose to negotiate with her assailant. That is because such is not new to them in that community and some of those dirty men negotiating paedophiles themselves.

3. Exactly. Now e don run. Really dnt know why some men enjoy raping little kids.RIP to her.

4. What kind of rubbish story is this?
      What is wrong with some human beings, how can you rape someone and be calming threat to life, now he has killed someone's daughter nko?
      Abeg abeg they should arrest him sharply

Rip to the little angel

2. Why do they keep mute???why didn't they raise alarm to get him arrested when the little girl confessed??
    What rubbish😠😠😠😠😠😠😠
    Now he has gone free!!
    Rip little one

1. They keep mute because police would ask for money 1st before they even take your case. And the level of poverty in these area is alarming. I no what I'm taking about. It's a sad reality out there. May her soul rest in peace.

3. Rip Tarietimi.

The rapist/paedophile must be punished

4. Find the idiot! When you find him,kill the bastard immediately!

Dear parents please let your kids be your best friend they shouldn't trust you never to hide anything from you.

5. I agree with you Stella,he should have been reported and arrested immediately.

Rest in peace to her

6. Parent, protect your children if possible monitor them especially teenagers (girls) Rape cases are increasing on a daily basis. The wold has turned to something else.

7. Oh no! May the Lord rest her soul.

Find the wicked man and make him pay.

8. Parents should get close to their children.

Why did the girl hid such a thing from her parents?
    Maybe she was scared of what they might do to her if she reported it to them.

P.S Parents befriend your children. Be their best friend. Gain their trust and confidence.
    Be conscious of what happened around them.
    Dialogue with them when necessary and tell them the reason why they need to follow strictly the rules that guides your home.
    Most importantly, get close to God because you need the wisdom only him can give in bringing up this young ones in his way of righteousness.

Everything no be shout and beating.
    Don't correct them in provocation.

I know teenage children can be a handful, now more than ever, we need to get close to them.

Things are happening and our young ones are more endangered.

9. Where is the imbecile fleeing to? they better find him and burry him alive.
    RIP to the late angel. Imbecilic monsters everywhere.

10. So sad a tale.
    Please parents, teach your girl child that shame belongs to the rapist.
    If someone go as far as touching them, they should report, not to talk of rape.

11. In the 21st century, ladies are still being exposed to the dangers
    of going to the village streams to bathe?
    Not even bore-holes and water pumps built for them after 60 years of independence?
    Shame on the Nigerian government
    Shame on the Bayelsa government
    The governor should cover his head with a basket of shame!
    They all share in the blood of this girl and others that suffered same fate and kept quiet.
    shame, shame, shame! 🦉🦉🦉🦉🦉🦉🦉🦉🦉🦉

12. Medicine after death

Handed the girl to the rapist to treat?

Handed her over
    Rape her again mentally and medically?

The animal felt he had a choice

Poverty and ignorance na bastard

13. You see how the rapist has turned the table against them.

When the parents should have acted promptly, they were busy having lousy meetings with compound chiefs and negotiating with a rapist.

May her soul RIP.

14. Her kinsmen were negotiating with the man that defiled her?? Those men failed her. There's probably zero law & order in that community, shame on those men. May the man who defiled her never find peace., People should remember the name, make one innocent young girl no go marry am think say she don't see husband because even if he repents, God will still punish him.

15. Little wonder why the poor girl kept mute after the incident....she knew she wouldn't have gotten the justice she deserved...please let's not encourage these wicked perpetrators. May her gentle soul rest in peace.