Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Bimbo Akintola Talks About Fake Life On The Social Media

Sunday, December 27, 2020

Actress Bimbo Akintola Talks About Fake Life On The Social Media

Actress, Bimbo Akintola , has advised people not to be depressed because of what they see on social media.

According to her, most of the things on social media are fake.

She told Sunday Scoop , “ I think that people need to work more on themselves . If you judge your life based on what is happening on social media , there is a huge problem. It is called social media for a reason. 90 per cent of the things seen on social media are not real. We all have different paths to follow in life. One should learn to judge oneself by one's standards and not by other people ’s standards. Many people need to sit down and rethink their lives because if social media is your criteria for success , then there is a huge problem .”

Speaking on some of the changes she would like to see in the movie industry , come 2021 , Akintola said, “ I would like us to have better structures and government participation at all levels . Once there is a structure, everything that is bad can be rectified .”

Reacting to people who had the perception that Nollywood movies were subpar , the actress insisted that the industry had improved. She said , “ I cannot make comments on people ’s personal opinions . If anybody feels Nollywood movies don ’ t have substance , that is their opinion.

Somebody else could watch the same movie and say it was suspenseful . However, if you are talking about the technical quality of our works, I believe we have improved. We are light years ahead of where we were about 20 years ago . If anybody thinks our stories are not good , I would have them know that worldwide , there aren’t that great stories. I think Nigeria is doing well when it comes to the quality of our stories.

We have many stories that we have not even started talking about. Once a structure is in place , I believe the sky would be the stepping stone to other creative things .”

Asked to share some of her past Christmas experiences , Akintola said , “ My family is close knit and we ( my sisters, mum , dad and grandchildren ) always spend Christmas together . All my Christmases have being fantastic because I was always with my family members . Since I was a child till now , all my Christmas experiences have been great.

“ However, this year has been a dark one because of the COVID - 19 pandemic and the killing of innocent protesters . So, for me , Christmas was like a little light at the end of the tunnel, even though there is now a second wave of the pandemic. ”
The actress also added that she was looking forward to a 2021 with no coronavirus. “ I would be excited if there is no coronavirus in 2021. That is the only thing I can think of.

I am so worried about the fact that there is a second wave of the pandemic out there now . Nigerians have just been very lucky because people are not staying safe. Many lives could have been lost but God has been great . However, we also have to play our part by adhering to the safety guidelines laid out by the authorities . ”

From the punchng

29 comments:

1. Watching her on AM now
    Very beautiful actress

2. Beautiful lady with sound delivery of spoken English

1. Na dem! You are the type that will try to be someone's friend just because they have a british accent or they dress well. I know your type. You don't look for substance and good character in your friends. All you care about is how cool they look and how you will be perceived as cool too just for hanging with them🤦🏾‍♀️ Well, at least you are not the jealous type. Those types are deadlier than a viper.

2. Anon 16:09 what happin Gan seff. Do u know undiluted truth from before ni? Nawa o

3. Anon 16:09 is everything OK?

4. Who stole Anonymous 16:09s bread? Abi you nefa use your prescribed drugs today 😏🥴🤷🏾‍♀️.
      Yen yen yen 🥴

5. Anon 16:09 ogini? Bimbo is the bomb when it comes to acting and role delivery, carriage, good diction etc. She is a true definition of a good actor, so, deal with it

6. Deal with it Anonymous 16:09. Don't come here disrespecting someone who truly has a passion for what she does and acts every role like she was born into it.
      Bimbo is one classy actress that stays in her lane, respects herself and cannot be sidetracked.
      So shuuuush and go to bed 😏

7. Anon 16:09 is right, many people go after fluency in the oppressors language but even look down on those who are fluent in local languages plus good Character needs to be applauded more than fluency in a foreign language.

3. Anyone depressed because of the fake lives being flaunted on social media has a problem of
    jealousy and greed combined. That person needs to repent. Only God can save such a one.

1. It seems you know from personal experience so preach on✌

4. Wahala for those way want follow everything way dem see for social media.

5. Good advice. So many lies being told on social media. Folks scamming to present the appearance of being rich and having it all. People tapping into shyt they don't know. Our wealth is to face Good and do good.

6. Did she ask you to pray for her? Oversabi! If you are desperate for a man doesn't mean she is desperate as well. Mtcheww.

7. Queen B. Mama I hail o, na true you talk

8. At 14:45
    It is so sad that women are the ones who see their fellow women as inferior and incomplete if they’re not married.
    A woman cannot speak without her marital status mentioned.

9. I miss seeing her on screen. Very good actress

10. The best actress so far. I love her diction. I love her movies

11. We love you bimbo

12. Talented actress...love you sis..

13. Great actress with great class and comportment

14. I ❤️ love 💕 ❤️ you die my Bimbo

15. Bimbo is a trained actor. Training in college is different from training on the producer’s couch. On SM, the oohs & aaahs under the Instagram posts amuse me. Those guys look nothing like their posted pictures in real life. Adobe has a professional photoshopping app that costs $21 per month for businesses in e-commerce but there are tons of apps used in photoshopping that Naija actresses use that smoothen or lighten their faces and gives them big butts. Seeing the admiration for non existent versions of God’s creation never ceases to amuse me.