Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerians File Long Queues To Register Sim Card + Allege Extortion At NIMC Office...

Thursday, December 31, 2020

Nigerians File Long Queues To Register Sim Card + Allege Extortion At NIMC Office...

Nigerians, in the bid to avert an impending disconnection of their SIMs, have besieged the office of the National Identity Management Commission (NIMC) in Lagos to enroll for their NIN,despite the announcement of extension by six weeks for the registration of National Identification Number (NIN) 

The Federal Government, through the Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy, had initially issued a two-week ultimatum to all telecommunications operators in the country to block all Subscriber Identification Modules (SIMs) without NIN by today (Thursday). It later extended registration for NIN by up to six weeks, from December 31 to February 9, 2021.

At Ikeja yesterday, it was a distraught crowd that stormed the NIMC to enroll for their NIN. By 8:00a.m. the gate leading to the office in Alausa was already shut against Lagosians, who besieged the place despite existing ban on large gatherings due to the second wave of COVID-19.

The situation was also the same on Tuesday, the first working day after Christmas. Hundreds of NIN applicants were locked out of the premises, with only a select few admitted into the compound, which also houses the Lagos head office of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC).

Many of those who gathered outside were seen discussing their frustration with the registration in groups, flouting the COVID-19 protocols put in place to check the spread of the pandemic. Physical distancing was not adhered to. It was also observed that the majority of them did not use their face masks and those who did, had the masks over their chin.

A lot of the enrollees who spoke with The Guardian appealed to the government to create more registration centres to ease the process and consider a further extension of the deadline to stop rush and alleged exploitation of the process for financial gain by NIMC officials.

They alleged that citizens were being asked to pay N5,000 for the registrations at other NIMC centres in Lagos, reason why many people are trooping to the Alausa office to evade extortion.

One of those who spoke on the condition of anonymity said: “In Ajeromi Ifelodun LGA, the officials there are demanding N5,000 bribe before enrolling anybody. Likewise, in Yaba LCDA, they are collecting N1,000 for the form and N5,000 for enrollment and data capturing. A lot of people have been at their offices since midnight to register.

“Those who came around 6:00a.m. were surprised to meet a crowd already. To make the process easier, many of us have downloaded the form online and filled it, just to submit it is the issue. Why is the government not doing anything about these extortions when the exercise is supposed to be free?”

Another, Paul Odijie, said: “The authorities should know that some NIMC centres are charging Nigerians to register for NIN. My father was asked to pay more than N5,000 to register today in Lagos and he did unfortunately. Where are all those other outlets the government claimed will be registering on behalf of NIMC to reduce the pressure on citizens and why have they not started?”

Meanwhile, the NIMC on Tuesday released new guidelines for the NIN enrollment. This was disclosed in a statement signed by the commission’s spokesperson, Kayode Adegoke.

The statement said the commission had adopted a couple of measures to contain the spread of the virus while ensuring its services to Nigerians are not entirely interrupted. According to the statement, the guidelines take effect from December 30, 2020.

It said attending to applicants would be based on booking system. For bookings, applicants are to visit any of the NIMC offices closest to them during stipulated business hours (9am – 1pm).

It informed that personal information would be collected for the sole purpose of scheduling an enrolment appointment, urging subscribers not to include any personal information other than what is required by the booking register.

“Mindful of the second wave of the COVID-19, which continues to severely affect public health and cause unprecedented disruptions, the commission wishes to announce that it has adopted a couple of measures to contain the spread of the virus while ensuring its services to Nigerians are not entirely interrupted.

“Effective December 30, 2020, attending to applicants would be based on Booking System. Once admitted into the office, a Number-Issuing queue management system will be in place to ensure orderliness and strict adherence to Covid-19 protocols.

“As a responsible commission, we fully understand that safety comes first, as such, only individuals with facemasks would be allowed entrance into our premises.”
from The guardian

23 comments:

1. And some of their workers are doing 'express' in their houses for 7-10k, which way Nigeria?

1. How can the government let this be happening in Nigeria with daily rising cases of Covid -19 and they banned watch night services.
      I have just finished isolating for 24 days and don't even intend going out anytime soon.
      I made contact with a Case so I had to isolate for 14 days, requested for a test kit when I developed symptoms and it came out positive, so I had to isolate another 10 days.
      Covid is real guys, maybe not in Nigeria.
      Can't believe the picture in this post, no social distancing plus people are not wearing masks, the only person with mask has it below his nose 🤷🏾‍♀️. Even the security lady and guy have no mask on.
      Nigeria is a failed country tbh and our leaders are extremely wicked.
      How can you ask people to come out during a Pandemic to start registering SIM card for Christ's sake 🤷🏾‍♀️?
      Haaaaaaaaaaaaaa

2. Nigerians, we are our own problem. Change indeed begins with everyone of us. Why do we use every little opportunity we get to exploit our fellow people. It is not proper and we keep calling those in government corrupt. Let us chanhe our ways abeg.

It's better they put a halt to this Nin registration for now because of the rising cases of Covid-19

3. This government is the worst i have ever seen.
    Why bring this up in this pandemic time

1. But the citizens are the absolute worst. They allow themselves to be tossed around like waina. What if citizens call the government's bluff? Stay in their houses and protest the short notice before giving a deadline? By protest I mean on social media? Those extorting are being aided by those giving them the money. For me, you will never see my one Naira and I am going to wait till all the craziness is over.

4. Anything they like, they should do. I am not getting NIN. Worst case, i find other modes of investing my money. Calls nd chatting... there will always be a way around it. But i hate nigeria, i hate that im nigerian, i hate the system and thoes that enable rubbish in the system.

5. Anything they like, they should do. I am not getting NIN. Worst case, i find other modes of investing my money. Calls nd chatting... there will always be a way around it. But i hate nigeria, i hate that im nigerian, i hate the system and thoes that enable rubbish in the system

1. Like I am not even bothered, it is not me that these clueless bunch will put in a state of gbaharia!

6. I actually paid #5,500 for express early this year in Obio Akpor Local Government council in Port Harcourt now imagine how much people will pay to get it now

1. Your correct. Hubby paid 5000 in Obio Akpor last week for express. Now I'm wondering how I'll manage to get mine 'cause I couldn't do mine back then as I am still breastfeeding.

2. You are all part of the problem.

7. I paid #2000 in Bayelsa and got it in an hour.

8. I paid 5,000 express and got it same day in PH. It will be upto 10k now

9. This is so sad.

How can a sane government allow something like this during a pandemic?This government always takes us a 100 years back.

10. I paid 10k for it in Lagos. God, please come to our rescue

11. I wont bothee myself at all. I see the crowd locked outside the centres and even this morning same thing. I have purposed to do the express version even at 20k because I just tire for these people we call leaders in Nigeria. Must everything be this hard and impossible?

12. I went to the local govt close to my house yesterday, they said I should text a number to book an appointment 😂😂😂! I texted the number up until now I haven’t been booked for appointment ooo, I have downloaded the form, filled it just to submit another wahala
    I will not pay shishi if that’s what they are expecting
    Silly lots

13. A failed Government. How can you give 6weeks ultimatum in this covid era and cancell cross over service?

14. We like firebrigade attitude to everything in Nigeria, I did this NIN in 2014.Though I have not gotten the card since then,was given a paper equivalent of the card.

15. And they cancelled cross over service, is the governor of Lagos State not seeing or hearing of this situation?

16. Good news:
    So many Nigerians have NIN and they are unaware. The truth is that everyone that did his or her BVN when it was introduced in 2014 has NIN automatically assigned to him or her
    Just dial *346# with the same number you registered BVN with and retrieve your NIN. Don't go to NIMC centres to queue, Covid19 is real!