Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Couch Convo - Kneeling Down During Marriage Proposal

Wednesday, January 27, 2021

Couch Convo - Kneeling Down During Marriage Proposal

When there is a Marriage proposal,is it the man that is supposed to kneel down or the lady?Or both?Or just the Lady?

Or just the man?Is there any passage in the Bible to back up your response?Or is kneeling down to propose something that was invented by man?

72 comments:

1. Do what makes you happy so far you're not committing a crime. If you like lie down to propose or roll to collect ring na you sabi.

2. Ugh why do people like to turn non-issues into big deals? Abeg whatever that works for the couple, whether either or both parties want to kneel, or there’s no kneeling at all or they want to hang on air to propose, nobody cares!!

Although I’ve never seen a situation where it was the woman that went on her knees to accept a proposal, it’s usually the other way round but trust Naija men with their fragile egos to get offended at the thought of them kneeling down before a mere woman lol. They’d tell you it’s “unafrican” but would totally take offense when it comes to catering for and being responsible for their woman’s needs like the true African men they are. Only then would the women become hungry leeches lol.

1. I wonder why people like you can’t make a comment devoid of abuse, sounding like an angry black woman. Which African men with fragile egos get offended when it comes to proposing? man like Banky W or Ebuka? If you don’t have anything reasonable to say, hold your peace, must you comment?

2. Naija men? The men kneeling are not Nigerians, for you they are aliens. You are always displaying your ignorance with every comment. You saw one picture of a woman kneeling and it occurred to you that you are a dirty boiling oil bubbling as if it is important. When are you people going to drop simplistic generalisations

3. We don already leave Snarker matter for God hand! I hope she will be fine someday...

4. Fellas, fellas!
      Have I said something wrong?🤭🤷🏾‍♀️🙂🤣

3. Kneeling or not doesn't mean anything. It's not in the Bible

1. Exactly!

My husband didn't kneel and i couldn't care less.

If as a man you want to kneel, fine! If you don't want to, that is still okay.

4. I'm not a fan or party in support of a man kneeling down to propose to his woman. This wasn't our way of life before the whites colonized us. There were marriages without engagement rings and the whole kneeling down thingy on African cultures.

I don't think I will be doing that. A simple traditional marriage is okay by me. I read efforts are ongoing to start issuing certificate after traditional marriage. That will be a welcome development.

1. Kneeling by men is new to this part of the world. I didn't knee, there was no reason to. We immitate everything people in the west and North America are doing, Those who are comfortable kneeling should do so. But don't knee for a woman today and tomorrow you start abusing her emotionally, beating and cheating on her.

2. Of course 🤣🤣🤣

3. So you won't propose before the Traditional marriage?
      Just say you don't like spending and go. 😒

4. Perxian, you are not nice. I won't say more than this.

5. Perxian 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

6. TJ, just teasing you bro 😊.

5. What ever works for anyone o, as for me, please don't kneel down, just find the right words to say, whether standing, sitting or lying down.

1. Exactly, i will not be forgetting my proposal in a hurry, my husband is so dramatic.

6. Anyhow una wan do am,some people sef na from dating they go just start planning marriage,no proposal

1. This was how my brother and his wife got married.

2. Na some sef marry oh, so far so good. Just do what works for you abeg.

3. Exactly.my husband didnt propose and I didn't care either. I told him I didn't want to be engaged anytime u ready just go meet my papa.

7. As far as l am concerned, kneeling down to propose is just a white man's crap. It's one of the craps white man introduced including wedding and engagement rings

1. I don't like engagement ring too @ Hydrogen .I never wore rings prior to my wedding. Same way I don't like necklaces but I'm an earring kinda person,the bigger the better.

8. The practice was foreign to African men.

Back in the day when men toast women and meet them in dark alleys, and relationship was based on scanty knowledge of your love interest, there was nothing like bended knees to propose to women.

You see a pretty girl, go after her and pester the hell out of her until she agree to be your girlfriend or pour hot water on you. If she agrees to your proposal, una don start a relationship be dat - it can lead to marriage or heartbreak. Unlike now when relationships
    start by invitation to restaurants.

9. Kneeling doesn't mean anything, you can as well propose while inside of me, no wahala.

1. "Propose while inside of me". Kai!!🤣🤣🤣

2. What's this one now?😂😂😂😂😂😂

3. How romantic!🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

4. Hahaha this just reminded me of how my hubby proposal during love making 😁😀😆. As he was Cumming, he popped the question..."babbbbyyyy!!!!,wi wi you marry me???, will you spend your rest of life with me????. I just shouted...Yesssss!!!., thinking he was talking cos of the climax. Only for him to stand up after the love making and told me to bring my fingers so he will put the ring. Shooor!!!!😀😁😆. I just asked him"na proposed you propose ni???, he said,"before nko", that I should tell my children exactly how it happened if they asked me when they grow up". Hmmmmm, I just laughde and told him that I can't say that with my mouth ni 😀😁😉😆.

10. You mustn't kneel down to propose to me. Just be a nice, loving and caring. But that engagement ring must be fixed to the hand before the main one.

11. You will accept almost every other culture of the white man. Education, food, dressing, religion, civilisation etc but when it comes to kneeling to propose, it become the white man thing that should be frowned upon! Efian!!!!! All because it has to do with the feeling that u think it’s degrading and downgrading to kneel to the supposedly ‘inferior’ woman.

Pls stop wearing suits and drinking tea and bread if u still think this way. They are all ‘white men’s way of life’

Thank God I didn’t end up with a man with such archaic mindset

1. Another funny angle😂😂😂😂

2. I Can't find reason not to like you
      😄😄😄😄🤣😂🤣😂🤣🤣🤣🤣😂😂

3. Na real Efian!!! Eka Joy scatter the table🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

4. @Covenant may u never find a reason oh. I will take all the lovers I can get here 😘😘😘😘

5. Eka, u just said it for me. I no get energy for talk this evening. Thanx.

6. You've said it for me too. My husband knelt to propose and I still respect him as the Head of our home

7. God bless you Eka.

While at it let's remind ourselves how different cultures did it in Africa:

Some recieved flogging to compete for their women.
      Some had to wrestle other contenders to win the price.
      Some had to hunt better Bush meat..... the list goes on

Do we still want to go back to our culture?
      *(Selective amnesia dey worry African man)

12. This has nothing to do with the Bible or religion. It's an individual's way of expressing himself/herself while trying to engage the other. First it's a white man's thing which Africans copied so its not necessary a big deal or a way of life.

13. To each his own,do what you’re comfortable with.
    Ofcourse I’ll love the whole proposal serere but if I wake to see the ring on my finger,beautiful too!

Kneeling to propose guarantees nothing. A man that will respect and treat you right is not determined by his ability or inability to kneel.

14. I am really not a fan of kneeling to propose.. he can either stand toe to toe with me or we can sit down eye ball to eye ball. Better still like Blackberry said, be inside of me..🤣🤣 But then different strokes for different folks.

15. I'm a hopeless romantic. Pull out all the big stops, I'm in. I'd love my man to woo me

16. It's sweet watching a man propose on his knees not the other way round but it seems things are changing gradually.
    Welcome to the 21st century.

My hubby didn't kneel down, typical Igbo man kneel down? If I hear?
    He pinned my 2 hands in a crucifix above my head and with the ring displayed on his tongue he uttered the words, I was panting excitedly while people laughed then I said Yes.

Would have loved him to kneel down o( shining teeth).
    The ring was eye popping though, if I enter Lagos traffic then, I quickly pull and put in my cheeks jor.

17. If both like, they can climb on top tree..

18. My Love incase you see this, you're still going to kneel down and re-propose. I don tell you 🙄🙄

1. My love.... 😄😄😄 What do mean by re-propose?🙏🙏🙏

2. We are married Sha o😁 but uncle sat in a car to propose to me.

I've been telling him he has to redo it and do it right, on one knee. Married or not!

19. I would love my man to kneel down before proposing to me though, it's not biblical either, it's just a lovely culture & it's good because African men hardly kneel for Thier women, so it would be in record that hubby knelt down to propose that's all

Personally, I detest this style of Nigeria women kneeling down to accept ring, it's stupid, men should do the kneeling & not the other way round.

20. I would love my man to kneel down before proposing to me though, it's not biblical either, it's just a lovely culture & it's good because African men hardly kneel for Thier women, so it would be in record that hubby knelt down to propose that's all

Personally, I detest this style of Nigeria women kneeling down to accept ring, it's stupid, men should do the kneeling & not the other way round.

21. did she kneel to propose to the guy? I dont understand her kneeling down to receive the ring

22. I'm not a fan of kneeling down to propose. Just tell her your mind that you want to marry her. You can get her an engagement ring also. That's all

23. This wasn't our way of life before the whites colonized us. - @TeeJay

I always find it hilarious when people use this argument, when trying to explain themselves out of situations they don't want.

If we are being objective, neither is the internet. It is not our ways...yet here you are on it reading and commenting on SDK.

Formal education was also not our way, yet most people on this platform have been to secondary school and acquired degrees.

Why bother going to a hospital or clinic when you or your loved ones are ill? Why not go into a forest and seek plants/herbs etc to heal yourself?

Why have a fridge, freezer, microwave, television, washing machine, blender, laptop etc? Those are also not our ways. You should be using smoke signals and taking drums to communicate!

Why do we bother with immunisations? Those were also not a thing until the white man showed up. In the past, you just gave birth and hoped the child at least survived into adolescence. Yet now we immunise them from polio, measles etc.

Whilst typing out your comment, I'm sure you are wearing clothing? Why do you bother? After all, before the white man, our ancestors were wearing animal hide. Why do you not continue with that?

You better also not be using cash. The next time you go and purchase something, you better use the batter system or pay using cowries! Let's see whether they won't beat the ish out of you!!

24. A woman will lose her name, sometimes her culture and identity. More often than not she lives under a man's control in one form or the other within the marriage setting. Then ppl expect she shd go down on her knees and ask for all that, on top. The one gesture a guy can make to show that he appreciates what she's about to sacrifice and her worth in general, ppl still have issues with it? From my understanding it's a little gesture that indicates u didn't get ur wife cheap. 'Kind of balances things off.

25. Omo! I don get belle people are here saying it doesn't matter. I'm 100% sure y'all wish he proposed properly, yimu.

26. Why don't some of you say it as it is. You read the first 20 comments that supports a notion and you feel you have to too? Haba! People shouting to each his own won't even let others comment their opinions in peace. Follow the ones shouting no kneeling, na them kneel pass. Hypocrites! Before you propose to a person ask them codedly how they will like it to be. It's supposed to be a memory moment rid of what's African or not.

27. Why don't some of you say it as it is. You read the first 20 comments that supports a notion and you feel you have to too? Haba! People shouting to each his own won't even let others comment their opinions in peace. Follow the ones shouting no kneeling, na them kneel pass. Hypocrites! Before you propose to a person ask them codedly how they will like it to be. It's supposed to be a memory moment rid of what's African or not.

28. There's something about going down on one knee that's so disarming and classy. Other than that I'm not a fan of dramatic proposals. So long as a guy is sincere and will treat a lady right, those are what matter.