Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Toyin Abraham Announces That Her Movie ' Fate Of Alakada' Has Been Acquired By Netflix

Sunday, February 14, 2021

Actress Toyin Abraham Announces That Her Movie ' Fate Of Alakada' Has Been Acquired By Netflix

Netflix, a movie streaming site has acquired Nigerian movie, Fate of Alakada which was released in 2020 and produced by actress, Toyin Abraham...

She excitedly announced the Netflix acquisition on Instagram:

She posted

“Hello fam! I’m so happy to let you know that Netflix has got my movie, Fate of Alakada.So, to all my abroad fans and those who missed the chance to see it at the cinemas; please go and subscribe/ renew your Netflix subscriptions nowwww because Fate of Alakada is coming to Netflix soonest.”

The movie Alakada franchise is a satire which was released in 2013 with the storyline centered on the life of a young lady Yetunde (Toyin Abraham). It ridicules the life of Nigerian ladies who live fake lives..

In the movie, Toyin Abraham’s character is simply a wannabe from a poor background, however, she is a firm believer in the mantra, ‘fake it till you make it’. The movie is aimed at provoking laughter, tears and fun.

23 comments:

1. Congrats to her. Now we will never hear the end of this Alakada triage abi na trilogy.

1. I watched one of these her Alakada series and was so confused. Like,what exactly was the hype. Superstars with a lame storyline

She's an amazing actress no doubt

2. 😂

You can't help but love toyin sha, she was fantastic in bling lagosians, i have also seen her in a another movie and she was not bad at all.

I am yet to see any of the alakada movie sha.

3. You're so right @Fifty.I so loved her role in Bling Lagosians.I still remember her struggling to pronounce Edinburgh🤣🤣🤣

4. @ Gifty, yeah she nailed her role in that movie as she also did in Nimbe

2. Good to know, will watch it when it comes out.

3. More money to her bank account, congratulations

4. I loved the movie. Made me laugh so much.. Kudos to Toyin

5. I'm hundred percent certain that it won't be worth it but I will sha watch. Make dem do fast put am. Na omo ghetto I dey wait for sha

1. It truly wouldn't be worth it . I think her movie is grossing out of the love people have for her not because it's all that.

6. Netflix Nigeria

7. As usual e go be rubbish. I go sha watch.

Acquire fire. Its just part of nollywood movies on Netflix.

Citation,namaste wahala and Genevieve's are the only nollywood Netflix movie.

8. It's overhyped but I still love Toyin...

9. As much as i love Toyin, she should get a good script writer because most of her storylines are not there.
    Anyway, people watch her movies because they love her because to me the alakada movie(s) is an overhyped movie with no comedy and nothing to grasp.

10. The alakada is over hyped I just wasted my money...Toyin with her sack story line

11. That Radarada movie, waste of time and money!.

12. Where did all these “Netflix bought my movie stories emanate”? Netflix like it’s done here will pay for any movie they have on their streaming website, it’s different from the deal with the Obamas where they actually asked them to do something or Disney deal with Meghan marble. I think it’s a prominent Naija female actress that started it with the fake $5m story. Netflix won’t pay $1m or $5m for most of these mediocre acting and storyline.

I watched alakada reloaded and it’s so subpar I wondered why it was uploaded by Netflix. They don’t just pay money like that. There are about 30 Nigerian movies on Netflix here including “Deere” the remaking of Cinderella into a Nigerian story. The only one worthy of it. Some folks are just looking for a way to justify their lavish lifestyle of laundering and coded runs so that people in their ignorance will think Netflix gavi them that. It’s not true as most Nigerian movies are poorly scripted and badly acted with Deere, Oct 1, Wedding Party 1,(not part 2) among a few decent ones. Lionheart and road to yesterday, Alakada reloaded, Arbitration etc are boring, no offense. We are in 2021, ask for receipts from those ascribing their “other” money to Netflix. Caveat: the Netflix in Nigeria may be different from the one here as there are very few Nigerian movies and they have Kenyan, South African, Asian movies as well. Subscription of $14.99 by one family member allows up to 4 people to login differently to the Netflix account. Where will they get money for mediocre movies? They pay royalty and I’m sure the payment depends on how many watch the movie. Nigerian actresses can lie and teach the devil how to lie! Piracy is a serious offense here so they pay for rights to list your movie but if your movie puts people to sleep and is badly rated, they are a business and do not cough out $millions like that here. It’s not Naija where everyone poses with $100 notes. Rich folks here rarely go about with $100 notes. Don’t get me wrong, some of the movies are well researched and are good. Oloture, October 1, Citation, Wedding Party 1, Your Excellency, Bling Lagosians are good but a lot of mediocrity is obvious in the others.

We are used to mediocrity, governed by mediocres and our governing pipeline is the ex governor’s Agbero who wrote a book about “his gift to humanity”? Too much delusion of grandeur. That one too may be installed govenor of the most sophisticated state in Nigeria. You don’t think the world knows his antecedents as we do? As an illiterate? We celebrate mediocrity too much. No abuse,ignore and move on.

13. Appreciate efforts don't criticize

14. Anony@18:52 is so right in all you wrote. Anony@18:55 criticizm is good if it forces a change to better scripts and storyline. I saw a part of the fate of Alakada, and I switched off after struggling to follow for 30mins. Wack script.