Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mrs Dee's Corner - Addictions During Pregnancy

Friday, February 19, 2021

Mrs Dee's Corner - Addictions During Pregnancy

Everyone has a food or fruit that they are addicted to........

It was the eighth month of my first pregnancy, and almost time to pop my 'patters of tiny feet' and I couldn't wait to breathe easy and be free from the pain and discomfort of being heavy with twins.

I was lost in the world of eating African cherry(agbalumo) and no quantity was too much for me to consume in a day. At a point, hubby advised me to slow down on my intake, but I wasn't having any of it. It was in season and I promised I would eat all that i could..

I was at the stage where eating food was a chore because of the constant heart burn and it taking a long time to digest, so it was a nice shift to opt for cherries.

I was getting ready for antenatal visit to the hospital one morning after bouts of loose bowels and watery stool, I was weak, but I figured I could manage to go see the doctor.

At the hospital, the matron was giving a talk on how to care for a newborn, I was barely listening because I was struggling with dizziness and just waiting to rush back home and rest when I noticed I was on the floor and the nurses were calling for help to carry me to a bed.

I had fainted and the nurses and doctors were alarmed. My blood pressure was checked and it was very low. The stooling had taken its toll on me and I was too weak from the frequent visitations to the loo.

I was placed on bed rest and after the doctor asked me series of questions, he advised me to take a break from eating 'agbalumo' as too much of it had affected my system.

It's been years now, but my love for that fruit, even after pregnancy has not lessened. I bet everyone has something they are addicted to during pregnancy!

*I was addicted to eating only Okro soup when i was pregnant......

60 comments:

1. During my second pregnancy, all I wanted to eat was amala and ewedu all the way..lol

1. Whenever I'm pregnant food becomes my worst enemy. I hated fruits in all forms could not stand vegetables or food. All i could take was coke and boiled yam without anything just palm oil with pepper inside. Hubby was scared cos 1 crate of coke 1 week. But my gynaecologist said it was okay since i was not eating. My baby was 2.6 at birth.

2. My wife's cravings were strange. She loved the smell of beer and always asked me to buy for her no matter how late it was at night, if not, no peace in the home o. Between, my wife is a spirikoko and leader in church. This was what she hid to do

3. Mine was German Mango, Corn, Coffee but my second born made me request for Igbo soups like Oha, Okazi and Onugbu soup!

2. Rice Fanta. 30 days in a month. 31. Fanta Fanta Fanta

1. How do I stop taking 'NZU & ULO'? I am not pregnant but has serious addiction to this two evils!!!

2. You have an iron deficiency. That is one of the core symptoms

3. It was during pregnancy i started cooking with the pot open. I haven't stopped doing that till date.
    I'm an amazing cook by the way.

4. Women with wahala..when my elder sis was pretty, she became a culture, she can eat for Africa..every minute na food

5. Never had any addictions, never had any cravings. Very weird cos I was kinda waiting to see what I'd crave or be addicted to after the many stories of cravings.

1. The same with me, no addiction no cravings.

2. Me too. I'm 5 months gone and I'm not addicted or craving anything in particular

6. Cat fish stew and rice was my addiction. Every rice and stew and also pudding.

7. My wife's first pregnancy was a crazy cravings for Agoyin beans with fried plantain every morning. The second preg is yoghurt.

8. I was addicted to ice blocks in the second pregnancy.But the first i could not eat meat only intestines and shaki

9. From January till I gave birth in last year April, I took agbalumo in excess, as in too too much and nothing happened till I gave birth. It got to a stage I started reading about it online if too much of it could have any effect on a pregnant woman and I got no answer, na so I continue till I give birth o

10. Peppery food was all I wanted and my anus paid for it

11. Everything I put in my mouth gave me diarrhea..every freaking thing even water!
    So I guess I'm addicted to ORS cos it has been my saving grace. 😪

12. I had no addictions in my first which was even twins and my second too none....my pregnancies comes with no stress
    I think body differs

13. Amala and Ewedu, Fast food chicken, party jollof rice

14. For my son's pregnancy,i ate awara and chilled zobo in excess.

15. My first pregnancy was yoghurt, milk and date that is very chilled. For my second Eba and draw soup.

16. I was addicted to banga soup and rice, afang and cold eba, cold coke and agbalumo

17. First preggy Pineapple and ice block, second preggy, I couldn't stand pineapple.
    Third preggy: Cucumber morning, noon and night
    Last preggy: amala and ewedu every morning

18. I was addicted to cherry(agbalumo) and peppery okro with dawadawa

19. Lol I’m 6months gone chekwu/ awin and mango got me for now. It’s noon now but I have had since morning is chekwu. Will fry puff when I’m hungry.

20. My first pregnancy I saw hell, as in I become a thin due to lack of appetite. The only thing a was addicted was Coke, gala and licking of sand. my second pregnancy was fanta and fresh pepper, and presently am addicted to roasted yam and cold water, God will see us through.

1. You say what???? licking of sand...

2. Sand keh?

You dey build foundation for belle?

3. Eating sand is called pica or something you were anemic

21. I was always sick during 1st trimester but craving would start after. First pregnancy craving was brown bread and second pregnancy I craved pizza. My hubby tried o. That pizza thing. I was in Uni in SA so I’d just get one slice at student rate and would be ok for the rest of the day

22. Anytime u see me eating Amala make u no say Belle don enter. ordinaryly I don't like Amala but whenever I'm pregnant,it becomes my cravings.
    I've a friend that always wants to stay in pit toilet whenever she's pregnant,as in she wants to be inhaling the smell of pit toilet.

23. My own na burnt rice,I will cook and delibrately leave it to get burnt,I'll remove the top and start eating the burnt part.my hubby tire for me.

24. My first pregnancy, it was kuli kuli and sugar cane.

Second pregnancy was water melon.

25. I just hate any food that comes from my kitchen. I crave buka food and any food cooked outside my home.

26. My first
    Ohwo soup and starch

My second

Noodles and ugu with plenty fresh pepper

My third

Agbalumo and I loved inhaling fuel.

27. I was addicted to all food. My appetite for food just increased,I wake up like twice in the middle of the night to eat. If I'm going to visit,I always ask ahead if they have food in their house.

When I went to visit my mum and sister for some days,I told them to please stock their house with food,they thought I was exaggerating, when the saw the display of God in my life they were in awe of Him.lol....

All thanks to God the pregnancy was complications free and I was so strong through out the course of the pregnancy. Just that the doctors were worried that my baby might be too big but his birth weight was 3.5kg.

And guess what the boy is a foodie.....He is 7years old now.
    All glory to God!

1. You are lucky, food doesn't stay down, i will be looking at food, no strength or appetite to eat, constant banging headache.

2. Hahahahaha, @ when they saw the display of God in your life, 😄😄😄😄

28. First preggy white ogi (it must be whiteooo)we plenty of sugar no milk put in the freezer after its very cold will eat like that
    Second preggy,okra soup no oil with shell perewinkle and fufu

29. I was not addicted to any food during all my pregnancies,I usually have hyper-emesis,Eating was a shore,would only force myself to eat something for the baby,I find it really hard to drink water,would only drink flavoured water or juice.I don't eat any seafood,once I notice I start feeling irritated and vomiting when I eat seafood,I know immediately I'm pregnant then I don't taste or view any seafood till I put to bed,even looking at fish,crayfish,shrimps etc will make me vomit

30. Anytime you see me eat agadi know say Belle don enter
    Pepper inside mortar with crayfish,I'll eat it with fofo

31. Anytime you see me eat agadi know say Belle don enter
    Pepper inside mortar with crayfish,I'll eat it with fofo.
    Long throat follow I'll prefer eating outside in the first trimester

32. I had no cravings for all my three pregnacies. All was smooth from begining till i gave birth.

33. I had no cravings. I just hated smoothies and cashew nuts which i used to love

34. Mine was yogurt and pineapple during my first pregnancy. I took it throughout that period.

35. Mine was ice block and chilled water. Mum bought 2big plastic cups which was always in the feeezer and additional ice trays as back up.
    Second preg I chop Isi ewu sotey goats Dey see me Dey run. I chop all dia head.
    Women lives na sacrifice

36. Mine was chilled Sugarcane 🙆🏽‍♀️😝😋, so tiee if i no see buy na cry be that 🤣. Second pregnancy was concoction rice with dried cat fish and stockfish with enough pepper and scent leaves 🍃 ♥️😝

37. I craved for sour,tongue slapping food.Cheese,agbalumo,sour cream.Also that Nzu and Nlo.Nobody told me to stop the Nzu as my nyash wan tear whenever i wanted to poo.I borrowed myself sense and ate more fruits.

38. I was addicted to beans and eva I ate beans so much that I purge at least 12times my doctor had to tell to stop eating beans

39. Any food not cooked by me was
    tastier during my first pregnancy and now second.