Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: The Adventures Of Oko Ashawo The Uber Driver -62

Saturday, February 06, 2021

The Adventures Of Oko Ashawo The Uber Driver -62

Have you ever been caught in a road rage?

Road rage is a sudden violent anger provoked in a motorist by the actions of another driver. We all get heated behind the wheels sometimes but some people have taken road rage to an unusual level. 

It's amazing how minor incidents can escalate quickly.

I still don’t know why some drivers start speeding up when you try to overtake them and this happens a lot. There was a time I was travelling and a driver blocked me from overtaking him as he kept on increasing his speed. Eventually, he lost control of his vehicle, rammed into an obstacle and the two front tyres burst.

On my way home recently after work, there was very heavy traffic and drivers were generally unruly and impatient. A particular driver left his lane and came on mine, expecting me to reverse for him to have his way. I simply put off the engine of my car, rolled down my windows and started pressing my phone. The driver tried all he could to persuade me to reverse a little for him but I told him to go back and do the right thing. When he saw that I was not budging, he went back all the way to join the right queue.

I had even forgotten about the incident only for this guy to bring out water from his car and splashed all over me as he drove by my car a few minutes later when the traffic had eased a bit. Hmmmm … Thank God say na ordinary water and not acid or something dangerous.

Another incident was when I refused to give a particular SUV the chance to overtake me. I blocked him each time because I felt his driving was too aggressive and I wanted to teach him a lesson that I am an expert driver. When we got to traffic in front, to my utmost surprise, two guys in Army uniform got down from the tinted SUV, walked up to me and asked me to come down to be dealt with. It took the intervention of some people who begged on my behalf before I was let go.

Thank God say dem no shoot me.

Whenever I am driving now, I always assume that I am the only rational driver on the roads and this has helped in keeping my sanity. Make dem no go cut short my life abeg. I still dey find wife and I wan enjoy life …

*Oko Ashawo, you need a slap?

If you drive, there is no way you wont be a partaker of this road rage ooooo..Sometimes eh,i curse and curse and often times i refuse to allow some people overtake me...As in where do you think you are running to when i am obeying the rues of driving?

When i see anyone whatsapping and driving, I let them quickly pass cos they can lose control of the car at anytime.....na wah!

26 comments:

1. If you drive anyhow close to me when I'm on the road with my 'leggedisbenze' my hand is always ready to say 'waka'πŸ–️

1. #EndSWAT #Endpolicebrutality Phoenix6 February 2021 at 13:31

Same here..Or i call the person "Aturu" πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

2. Me, i am the queen of gentle drivers. You overtake me 10 times, i don't even care.

2. One of my goals in 2021 is to learn how to drive.

3. Most times male drivers don't allow female drivers to overtake them.
    It's as if they feel intimidated or something.

1. That's very true. I showed 1 guy like that. He just assumed cos i am a woman,then i can't drive. I made sure this guy did not overtake me at all,till i got yo where i wanted to exit. He followed me,kept flashing his light and told me to clear,since the place was my area and my guys where hanging around i did. He came down and was hailing my driving asking who thought me. That no woman has ever done that to him. The guys around just told him ro forget,that i do long distance driving,that he should not just try me oh. That's how we gained a family friend.

4. Road rage is real. I was driving over day and an accident occurred right in front of me. As we managed to navigate through the side, another vehicle blocked it, the driver came down and started settling issues with the drivers that hit themselves. Meanwhile, he stopped only because he knew the people involved and he had the audacity to block everyone else.
    It took a lot of restraint not to react because I was really boiling inside

5. I remember when I was driving in traffic, descending the onikan bridge to go to VI. Then one guy tried to get in front of me without joining the queue. I did agidi and blocked him. The way he drove caused him to damage my left side mirror, asin knocked it off. We exchanged grammar and settled on me allowing him to get in front of me, then I follow him to somewhere we can repair the mirror.
    I was a baby driver, I lost him before we got to VI. Mstewww.

6. I'm a bad ass driver and i hate people cutting me off. One time, a guy was honking so loud and angrily at me to give way then he had the audacity to flip me off πŸ–•πŸ» after overtaking. I was so mad I chased after him, rolled down my window and throw a nail cutter at his window. Left a cute crack and sped away. 😊😊

1. Mad o 🀭

2. Una go just drop gist then expect us to swallow am like that. Your goons are coming to hail you for this gist don't worry inugo? Daalu.

3. 16:15 Anon, it's okay if you doubt. 😊

7. My own na curse oo so my nephew has joined me. He is 3 years ooo when there is any traffic, he will say oga go naaaaa ..... See ya head. The boy don follow me to abuse yeye driverd

8. Clean overtaking is a rule of driving. As long as the driver does not go above speed limit,
    there is no law against overtaking. No police will arrest a driver anywhere in the world for
    overtaking.
    And Oko Ashawo did to that Soldier what he was accusing another of doing to him.
    Is that not hypocrisy!πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

1. I think you should go back and re-read.

9. Oko ashawo na God save you from those army guys, i know say you don do small frog jump before help cameπŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹
    Next time give way, i heard of a man that was shot by arm robbers because he blocked them from passing

10. My pet peeve is when someone overtakes me and then slows me down. Like wtf??? I'm doing a steady 80kph, you overtake me. No problem. Then you start slowing down below my 80kph. You don dey mad abi? If the road is clear, I'll overtake you in a way that you will send a message. Then i hate when two or more vehicles roll along at the same pace side by side, even when the road is clear ahead of them. That one activates my bully mode. One day my friend and i were driving out of Lagos heading to Ibadan. A convoy of large buses, about 20 or so, were doing 60ish holding up traffic. My friend who was of like mind told me to harass them. So i turned on my full headlights and started tailgating them one after the other, blasting the horn. Don't try it, but i could because my vehicle had all the necessary advantages. Acceleration, braking and handling. It was a Honda Accord back then aka Bullet. I soon got them all over to one lane and all the vehicles behind me were giving me thumbs up as they finally passed.