Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria Reportedly Generated $150 USD From Coconut Oil In 2020

Friday, April 09, 2021

Nigeria Reportedly Generated $150 USD From Coconut Oil In 2020

The Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Sabo Nanono, on Wednesday in Benin disclosed that Nigeria generated $150m from the export of coconut oil and its derivatives in 2020.

Speaking through his representative, Bernard Ukattah, a deputy director at the Federal Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development during a training for coconut farmers organised in collaboration with the Nigerian Institute for Oil Palm Research in Benin, Nanono said that coconut was a major non-oil export foreign exchange earner for Nigeria.

He explained that coconut provided livelihood for over 500, 000 families, noting that it accounted for 10 per cent of the nation’s agricultural exports. He said the produce is expected to generate about $250m this year.

He said, “As a result of the awareness of its value and degree of uses, Nigeria has in recent times increased the volume of production of coconut to average of 250,000 metric tons per annum.

“In 2016, Nigeria produced 283,774 metric tons and the demand for the crop has been on the increase growing upwards to over 500 per cent in the last decade.

“Available data shows that coconut is grown in 22 states of the country with Lagos being the largest producer.

“Other major producing states include Ogun, Ondo, Edo, Delta, Akwa-Ibom, Rivers, Cross Rivers, Imo and Benue among others,” he said.

From @punchnewspapers on Instagram

*No be him marry 18 years old wife? LOL

12 comments:

1. Stella me and you both 🀣🀣🀣🀣 I was reading and saying no him marry the 18yr old girl!

Due to this effect, coconut πŸ₯₯ is damn too expensive now! The oil sef,I don't know why some wicked people are mixing it with other substance! I'm waiting to hear carrots oil news too

1. Carrot doesn't produce oil.
      You use other oils like coconut oil, olive oil etc to make carrot oil

2. Wow. And i've been dashing all the coconuts falling from my tree away!

3. Stella you just took the word from my mouth πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚

4. Grand pa and his grand daughter wife
    Weldone

5. And where is the money?
    Was it what you carried and married that teenager?
    πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

6. Baby Malu Over9 April 2021 at 13:55

Why export it now because of that recently coconuts and the oil too are so expensive to buy...Nigeria smh

7. Nigeria export a lot of things quietly. They provide the materials to companies who sell it under their own brand name.

8. Hmmm. And these exports are from the south

9. Thank God we are exporting again